We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Vacation ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria House to your Saves list
Victoria House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Manlius, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Beach Vacation ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

First time to Belize, great first impression. Staff was cheerful and friendly. Villa rooms very nice with AC and kitchenette. Tours at Dive shop (snorkeling and fishing) were great with very personable guides. Kitchen cooked our catch for lunch.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    127
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
96
482
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here for just one night before heading off to a more remote locale, but our time here was lovely. The food was by far the best we had in Belize, and the hammocks were the most comfortable. The grounds are largely covered in grass, which to me, felt a bit stuffy and out-of-place on a beachy island. Otherwise, everything was delightful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentKirkman, General Manager at Victoria House, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Enne12345

Thanks so much for choosing Victoria House, and for your kind words about your all-too-short stay with us. I’ll be sure to share your comments with our kitchen staff.

We started planting the lawn (it’s St. Augustine grass) for a very practical reason: to keep the sand from blowing into our casitas and it worked so well, we just carried on with the idea!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your adventures in Belize. We’ll have a hammock waiting for you next time you visit.

Best,

Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I had an excellent stay at Victoria House last week. While our room was beautiful, immaculate, and well-supplied (including gallon jugs of fresh water) and the pool and beach gorgeous, it was the PEOPLE at Victoria House that really made our stay exceptional. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Belize and recommend it to anyone who is going to Belize. Ask for Miguel ~ he will take great care of you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

From the entrance drive you know you are entering a vision of a bygone era a colonial but modern beach front resort a one of a kind in design and layout. Entering the registration area you are greeted with a refreshing freshly made lemon drink and ushered to your rooms by exceptionally attentive staff. The views are breathtaking. The experience of being treated like royalty during yourndining experience weather you eat in the palm restaurant or the admiral nelson beach front restaurant or the patio restaurant you will not be disappointed. The two pools face the Caribbean ocean and the array of water sports and tours will make your visit as relaxing as you want it to be we were taken very good care of hats off to all at Victoria house and heartfull thanks.

Room Tip: Book a masage on the beach you have the option of individual rooms or stand alone homes of varying r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The boutique hotel is exactly what our family needed to make our vacation a dream come true! We stayed in a large two bedroom casita. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the turn down service was great every single day! We were traveling with my 3 month old granddaughter, and the hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate us. This was our third visit to this hotel, and hopefully, we will be able to go again. The grounds are so beautiful here, that there is really no reason to ever leave the hotel. Food was delicious too! My only complaint was that the common room in our family suite needed a bigger and more comfortable couch!

Room Tip: The casitas are the way to go! They are private and extremely comfortable!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in Sept. 2013. We had a wonderful time and the grounds were beautiful. I spent many days relaxing by one of the two pools located on the property.

We stayed in a stateroom above the dining room. It was a little dark as it was in the corner, but we spent most of our time outside, even with it being rainy season(it only rained the first day or two). The other downside of this room type was that you have a shared porch.

Victoria House is located outside of town but it is not as far as it seems. They have on site bike that can be borrowed. We biked in to town a few times and it is a nice easy ride. The staff was very nice. The food was also good as they have an on site restaurant. But it is just as easy to try food in town or at a nearby property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

There is not one negative thing I would say about this stunning Hotel. We stayed in two different Plantation Rooms here and both were gorgeous. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are immaculate. The older plantation rooms in the original house are a bit more dated, but they have gorgeous views of the ocean, and they are cheaper as well. The Plantation Rooms with a garden view are newer and have private balconies.

The staff here are fantastic. It's not like your typical hotel/resort where the staff are friendly just because they have to be. Here, they are genuine, actually want to get to know you and will even ask you to join them for a night on the town! We had some great chats with the staff here.

The beach here is great for swimming and there's a long dock as well leading out to a roped off deeper swimming area. There are 2 large pools here and the use of kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel gear and bicycles are all free for guests!

The Bar and the restaurant both serve up delicious foods. If I had one thing to say it would be that there isn't much local food on the menu, it's catered to the western palate. However, there are lots of fresh seafood items on the menu, which are all fantastic! Prices range from $8 up to $30USD. The drinks here are nice and strong as well :)

We loved our stay at Victoria House and 100% recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and Trip Advisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.