We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria House

Save Saved
You added Victoria House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
6th Night Free
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in San Pedro
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon. We stayed at Victoria House for the first part of it (Southern Belize for the second part). I honestly have nothing bad to say about this resort. We LOVED it. All of the staff were extremely friendly - they all went above and beyond. Always had a smile on their face and wanted to make sure you were having the best experience possible. Our room was spacious and comfortable - we had a great view and I had the best sleep I have had in a long time (our bed was sooooo comfy). We did book a snorkeling trip and it was extremely easy to do. We also rented golf carts through the resort so we could tour San Pedro - such a great accommodation. We also thought the food was delicious - every meal we had was perfect. I wish we would have stayed at this resort the whole time. It was truly the best resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    125
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
94
467
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My fiance and I were doing our honeymoon on a budget so this was our end of trip "splurge." So so glad we did! The staff was beyond amazing and friendly and though I know they have a lot of honeymooners they made us feel like their first :) We were at the end of tourist season and the hotel was closing for a few weeks right after we left and we loved it! The hotel wasn't too full and the staff was accessable to ask questions about where to go on the island. The grounds are beyond amazing and we arranged all of our snorkeling and adventures through the hotel so it was worry free! The hotel isn't cheap but it's well worth it!

Room Tip: Even the lower priced rooms are amazing so no need to go too crazy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautiful grounds, great spot on the beach, great bar, restaurant and staff (albeit a bit expensive for the island). Disappointed that there is no TV in the room, would have loved to watch the olympics. We'll never come back because of the way the resort handled our trip being cut short by Hurricane Ernesto. We missed out on three days of our stay because of it, and the Victoria House gave us NOTHING. ZILCH. No refund. No "hey come back and spend your three days here another time". Nope. We're disgusted as they even left a note under the door that said you would get your stay free in the future if you left because of Hurricane Ernesto. I don't trust this place and don't like how they do business. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentKirkman, Manager at Victoria House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear SigmundBloom,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Victoria House. We regret that your experience wasn’t all you wanted it to be.

On August 5th, in response to your inquiries about the possible closure of Victoria House due to Ernesto, we advised that if you felt at all uncomfortable with coming to Belize at this time, your reservation could be rescheduled for any date within the next calendar year.

Your response was to thank our reservations manager and inquire about being picked up at the airport should you arrive earlier than scheduled.

The day of your arrival, August 6th, we informed our guests that a hurricane watch for Tropical Storm Ernesto was in effect for the coast of Belize. Tropical Storm Ernesto was forecast to make landfall well north of our location around 12 midnight the next day.

No evacuation orders were issued by local authorities. Our guests were informed of the current weather situation and given the options of remaining at the hotel, visiting a mainland resort for the duration of the event or departing early and that Victoria House would remain open, but excursions for the following day would be cancelled.

Based on the best information available, there was considerable confidence that this storm would have minimal impact on us. Nevertheless we couldn’t guarantee good weather during your stay. After much time at front desk and considerable consultation with your travel agent, you informed us you’d be leaving the next day for Florida.

Guests who book directly with our reservations office in Houston Texas are urged to purchase travel insurance and, though you didn’t book through us, you had the foresight to take out a travel insurance policy. You made it abundantly clear to us that you would be filing a claim immediately and had every reason to believe you’d be compensated in full. In the absence of any further communication from your insurance company, we assume that your claim was successful.

As you observed in your review we do offer credits on room nights under certain circumstances. This doesn’t apply when an insurance claim is being pursued. If this wasn’t made sufficiently clear to you at the time, I do apologize.

Subsequent to your departure, your agent contacted our reservations office concerning your stay and was advised that we would offer one complimentary night for a future 3 night booking.

We were pleased that you were able to arrange an early departure and hope your ultimate destination was all that you hoped for.

Sincerely,

Brent Kirkman GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are so many reviews on Tripadvisor that describe this beautiful resort that I will limit myself to a different aspect, although I agree completely that this is a stunning property. We arrived in the very late afternoon and there was a mix-up with our room. We had booked one with two beds and were shown to one with a king bed, then told there was no other room to be had. The story has a happy ending, because of the service-oriented Janet who rushed to solve a problem her staff couldn't handle. Our initial disappointment turned into sheer delight when we were offerred an ungrade to a 2-bedroom villa. The truth is, all the rooms seem lovely & quite similar, so a couple (we are not) would be very happy indeed in a "standard" room with comfy king bed. All rooms face the beach and have furnished exterior terraces. One of the best features of the property are the many mature palm trees that shade the beach, and especially the comfortable hammocks strung between them, providing hours of R&R with a view.

Another highlight for us was using the complimentary bikes to cycle into town. It felt weird at first to set off with no helmet, but this is a super-low-key island and even wearing shoes is a bit dressy. So we happily explored and shopped in town, an easy 20 minutes away, cycling in flip-flops and enjoying every minute. The town of San Pedro is full of character and very enjoyable to visit. Victoria House provides a great base for that, and is an easy, short boat ride to the extraordinary snorkelling on the reef.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at Victoria House for 3 nights at the end of October. I don't think there are any rooms or suites that are not nice. The resort closes every year beginning of October for a couple of weeks to do updates to the property. This is a luxury resort in San Pedro. It is 2 miles from the airport, I would recommend renting a golf cart. I rented one when I got off the tropic air flight in town and then drove to the resort. They do have transfers to the resort and then you can rent a golf cart from Victoria house. The food at the restaurants is really good. I would suggest trying the lobster ceviche if you like seafood.They include a continental breakfast with the room bookings.
The staff at the resort went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Don't look elsewhere while staying in the town of San Pedro. You may be lucky to get a room as they book up quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are like me and read lots of reviews on Tripadvisor before picking your hotel - I advise you that this is the place you want to stay. We have been to San Pedro five times in the last three years. We went for our honeymoon, trip with friends, babymoon, trip with family and after-babymoon. Every trip has been special because of our stay at the Victoria House.

The property is large enough that you can meet other guests or can escape for some solitary time. They have two large pools and an immense beach area. It is unbelievably beautiful. The grounds are well maintained with beautiful palm trees and flowers. There are lots of birds, hummingbirds and butterflies. As for bugs, I have never had any problems with them. It is the Caribbean so they do have the normal critters. I must confess that I am from Houston where we joke that our state bird isn't the mockingbird but rather the mosquito. But one thing I cannot stress enough is that if you ever have a concern while you are on the property - the staff immediately does anything they can to address it.

In addition to the beautiful property, the staff is great. We often find ourselves at the bar with a drink in one hand joking with the other patrons. The bar staff remembers your name and treats you like family. The drinks are fresh and the food is delicious. We love the ceviche, quesadillas and all of the entrees.

This property is also on the mainland and does not need a water taxi to get to it. That is a big plus for us - we like to be able to drive into town to go shopping or dinner. They have golf carts on property that you can rent for an hour or two. They also have the dive shop where Luis will help arrange any activities you desire. He also will help you to change them when you may have had too much to drink.

I hope this helps make your decision that much easier. I promise you will not regret your stay at Victoria House. We love it so much that we have sent many friends there (they are already planning their second stay at the Victoria House).

I hope you enjoy la Isla Bonita.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and face the ocean. Call the reservation office and speak with them to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the Plantation Room at the Victoria House this past weekend and it was an absolutely wonderful experience that exceeded our expectations. The resort grounds were well manicured, pools were strategically located so you could enjoy the view of the ocean from every spot, rooms were pristine and extremely comfortable and whether you laid in the hammocks or relaxed in the lounge chairs the views were incredible. The hard working resort staff from the initial check in to the restaurant and bar were amazing and always accommodating to whatever we needed. Lelo, Roxy, Tony and Julio were extremely polite and always made us feel at home. Food at the restaurant and bar was great and reasonable considering we were at a resort. The recommendations for food inside town which was a 10 minute walk away were great as well. Close to town but far enough away to avoid the crowd. We totally unplugged and most at the resort guests really looked for this as well which was a nice change to many resorts. They do have wireless which worked well everywhere and was a nice convenience for communicating back home as there are no phones in the rooms. Fantastic time and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and Trip Advisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.