We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria House to your Saves list
Victoria House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful sea-side room with everything we needed. Delicious and fresh breakfast and dinner is served at the hotel cafe and restaurant and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Also appreciated the location - it is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the island's central arrival port. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    127
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
97
482
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful experience here on our Honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for better service; it was easily the best lodging/restaurant on the entire island. I look forward to coming back on our anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've travelled to several places in Central America, the Caribbean, and Belize itself. Certainly I've enjoyed almost every adventure; but this was the best hotel experience by far.

The reservation office was easy to deal with. Then when we arrived at the hotel, all our requests were fulfilled and then some (special occasion). The rooms and all facilities were well tended to, clean, and tastefully decorated. The hotel staff were fantastic. Informative, helpful... Great service. Even the hotel managers went out of their way to greet us (and everyone else, I'm sure).

Comfy beds (not the usual in that part of the world). Nice pools, lovely grounds. Sure, there's sea grass off the beach and the beach is firm and packed; but that's the nature of that coast and the trade off for that magnificent barrier reef.

We did get some rain, but the bar staff kept us entertained with games and tasty blended concoctions.

The sun came out and Javier, the concierge, booked us on several trips over our remaking days. Again, I've travelled to Belize and San Pedro before. These were the best guides I'd ever gone with. Like the hotel staff, they seemed focused on good service, like an owner would, not the tips at the end of the day. He also booked massages. The woman came to the hotel and we had the choice of in room or on the beach. So relaxing!

We're planning to return before next summer. Well definitely stay at Victoria House when we do.

Side note:
We saw a wedding taking place on the property: gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel and good food, however be VERY careful after 5pm! This hotel does not have mosquito control nd you get eaten aline! I went to the hospital because of the intense number of bites!

Eat in doors in the evening.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrentKirkman, General Manager at Victoria House, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear CharlesTeckel,

Thank you for choosing the Palmilla Restaurant at Victoria House as one of your dining destinations in San Pedro. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner, and regret that your experience wasn’t flawless.

It’s true that Ambergris Caye experiences varying amounts of mosquitos during different times of the year, but we to have remarkably few this season.

Whether this is due to our well established mosquito and pest control program (which includes both manual application and computer-controlled daily applications of environmentally friendly yet effective products or simply a natural cycle) is difficult to say.

While our control program has produced very good results over the years, it’s important to view it as a control rather than an eradication program, which would be neither possible or, from an environmental point of view, desirable.

We regret that you were at all bothered by these pesky insects during your time in San Pedro and trust you’ll return soon.

Brent Kirkman GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have traveled to many 5* Resorts before, but this was one of my absolute favorites! I have NEVER met staff of this caliber. EVERYONE from the grounds keeper, to the waitresses, to the front desk staff were there to make your time enjoyable. They would stop whatever they were doing to help you. Everyone had been there for years, which tells me Victoria House treats their employees very well. They would talk to you about anything - so very friendly!

We stayed in the infinity suite with another couple and housekeeping came in everyday to keep it just as immaculate as when we entered it for the first day. The beds were comfy, everything was up-to-date, clean and enjoyable.

Then there was the food. There is only one restaurant; however, you can choose to eat in the nice restaurant atmosphere, the bar area, in your room, on the beach, at the pool - where ever you choose, they are there to serve you. And it was absolutely fabulous - LOVED the Lobster BLT, Lobster Tacos and of course the nicer entrees. VERY reasonably priced also.

I have NOTHING but fabulous things to say about our stay and I am rather hard to please. I also had a massage on the beach, I am very picky about my massages and it was one of the best.

We visited during the "off" season in September, just before they close for renovations - VERY relaxing, no crowds, low occupancy, not hot at all.....I'm not sure I would go any other time. Also, a MUST do while you are in San Pedro is visit Palapas - Great, fun bar over the water!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we put on a few pounds because the food was fabulous. lots of variety of things to do from energetic to downright slovenly. would love their chef to produce a more detailed menu so we can try to copy back in colder climate

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment we stepped onto the Victoria House property, we were treated with such kindness. The complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary was fabulous! The best word I could use to describe our stay was peaceful! We were in desperate need for some peace! During our relaxing week at Victoria House, we were rejuvenated individually and in our marriage! The staff was among some of the best I have ever encountered! They treated us like family and always made us feel special! We will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and Trip Advisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.