We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to Stay on Ambergris Caye!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria House to your Saves list
Victoria House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
6th Night Free
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
“Best place to Stay on Ambergris Caye!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment we stepped onto the Victoria House property, we were treated with such kindness. The complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary was fabulous! The best word I could use to describe our stay was peaceful! We were in desperate need for some peace! During our relaxing week at Victoria House, we were rejuvenated individually and in our marriage! The staff was among some of the best I have ever encountered! They treated us like family and always made us feel special! We will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    127
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
96
481
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the Victoria House! We couldn't have wished for more for our honeymoon, everything was just perfect. Great food, very friendly staff, beautiful rooms (we had a lovely Casita), the diving (which was booked through an external company but still everything was perfectly arranged - just the whole resort was/is amazing! It is a very romantic place to stay and a hidden treasure for 'honeymooners' if you come from where we come from:-) so we wouldn't recommend it for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The service and stay at Victoria House was ABSOLUTELY amazing, could not have asked for more. The resort was gorgeous, well maintained, and the staff was great! Excursions were easily booked through the front desk, and the tour guides were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My bf and I just got back from the most amazing stay at Victoria House. The staff was beyond friendly, the rooms were great and comfortable, and the food was amazing. We were immediatly greeted upon our arrival at the San Pedro airport and the help didnt stop there. They helped us with everythign from tours to finding local restaurants to eat at. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Who wouldn't want to wake up to a beatuful sunrise and a friendly smile. Coming home is hard from a great vacation but the hotel service made it even harder.

Oscar: Thank you to you and everyone for everything!!

Room Tip: The Plantation Suite was great and located in a perfect area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I went to Belize and stayed at Victoria House for our honeymoon from August 12, 2012 - August 18th, 2012. We have both traveled a lot and wanted to go somewhere niether of us had been. We were looking for a smaller resort with great food, and a quiet, yet romantic atmosphere so we searched reviews on various places for weeks before making a final decision. It's scary to plan your honeymoon because you hear so many disaster stories sometimes but you want it to be the most perfect vacation ever. Thankfully, we were so pleasantly surprised with San Pedro, Belize and even more so with Victoria House as it lived up to every wonderful expectation we had for our honeymoon. This place looks exactly like the pictures on the website, only 100 times better in person.

It was paradise from the minute we pulled up to the front of the resort. We were greeted by a friendly staff with tropical drinks in hand for us. Manuel showed us to our room, the Infinite Suite, which overlooked an Infinite Pool and a lush grass area that led out to the beach. Our room was gorgeous, it was two stories with front and back balconies, an outdoor shower, two bedrooms and a full kitchen. We spent everyday either by the various pools or on the lounge chairs on the sand. The water is the most beautiful teal blue and there was almost always a cool breeze blowing so it never felt extremely hot. The resort staff care for this property impeccably. They rake up footprints in the sand from people walking, and at some points we saw them out on the grass evening it out with scissors. There are very few people trying to sell you items on the beach since it is so private, which is really nice to not be pestered when you are trying to relax. As we laid on the beach or by the pool evertday, we ordered appetizers or lunch and drinks from one of the friendly wait staff - Sharon was our favorite, she was always so happy and sweet. She intorduced us to a frozen coconut Mohito and a frozen Dirty Banana which were two of our favorites. Also the manager, Brent Kirkman, was very helpful, kind and sincere when we met with him. He made sure our stay was everything we hoped it would be; we were very impressed with the service he provided us.

There is one restaurant and one bar that both serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and appetizers in between. I have never in my life had food as amazing as what we experienced in Belize and at this resort. You would think that without having many restaurants you would get tired of the food, but that is not the case at all. Their menu's are full of new items to try every day and not one of our meals disappointed. It was lobster season when we were there and we ate large lobster tails almost everyday. A continental breakfast of pastries and fruit is provided but the items on the breakfast menu were so good that we still ordered a full breakfast int he mornings. Also, room service is available, we didn't use it, but it's nice to have as an option. We only ventured to one other restaurant all week which was The Hidden Treasure, just a short walk or cab ride down the road. The food and atmosphere is great in this hidden gem of a restaurant. We visited twice, ask for Shannon as your server. They also have a free cab that will pick you up from the resort and take you back. The resort also has offers daily excursions such as: scuba diving, snorkeling on the barrier reef and with sharks and sting rays, cave tubing, a mayan tour, catamaran rides, fishing, etc. We did the shark and stingray snorkeling and it was truly a great experience.

One of the best things about San Pedro is that you can take the free bikes offered by the resort all around the little town area or you can rent a golf . It is extremely safe and people are generally very friendly and helpful. No one seems to be in a rush in San Pedro and it's nice to see that and enjoy that with them while on vacation.


All in all, Madonna's song, La Isla Bonita, that was written about this beautiful island of San Pedro is dead on accurate. It is the most beautiful island and we plan to come back and bring our family and friends for years to come.

Room Tip: The casitas are great and seem quaint but perfect for couples or solo trips. The Infinite Suite tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not very often do you stay at a hotel where the vibe is iconic and the service is really on point. After staying at so many disappointing hotels, Victoria House shows what it means to run an exceptional property.
The staff buying last minute (mini) plane tickets to make sure we made it off the island to make our flight home before the storm/hurricane came in August made it feel adventurous.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My bf and I just got back from Victoria House and absolutely loved our stay. The staff is friendly, efficient and polite.

We adored our accommodations. We stayed in Casa Azul. Our room felt like an apt. It was two floors, had 2 bathrooms, a large walk in closet and a private balcony. We had booked a plantation room, but to our enjoyment and surprise VH kindly upgraded us to the Tower Suite. We didnt ask, they just did it. I noticed that some of the other guest rooms where much smaller, so I feel that we would have a different impression of VH if we had stayed in one of the small rooms.

The staff's service was efficient. If we asked for a cab, they got one for us in 1 minute. If we asked for bikes, they got them for us in 30 seconds. Although I didnt ask for anything too outlandish, whatever I requested VH answered with a yes.

Unlike another resort we stayed- Las Terrezas- VH doesn't charge you for borrowing the bikes or bottled room water.

The VH continental breakfast for free, but I know from past experience that I dont like continental breakfast (lots of carbs) so I just ordered my own breakfast each morning.

The resort is located within a 15 minute bike ride into town. You can take a cab or golf cart, but we rode bikes most of the time.

In terms of minor improvements, I would suggest the front desk having disposable razors and toothbrushes on hand for forgetful guests.Other than that everything was lovely.
My bf and I truly loved this resort. We were able to relax and rest from our busy lives in NYC.
Thank you Victoria House!

Room Tip: to get whatever room you want, you need to book early (at least 2 months in advance) because this re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and Trip Advisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.