We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SunBreeze Hotel to your Saves list
SunBreeze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Coconut Dr | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
US$131.00 mimimum 3nights
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great hotel choice if you care about location and being close to everything! It was clean, spacious and a good value for the money. Keep in mind this is not a 5 star resort. It is a nice, clean, well maintained resort with a great, convenient location! We didn't eat in their restaurant, so can't give a review on that. We checked their prices, and decided we preferred to eat in the more local traditional spots in town. We could not hear the planes, even though the airport is across the street. The only complaint we had during our stay was about the front desk. We asked them for assistance several times, and they were completely un-helpful. Once was for directions to a restaurant, and it required a phone call on their part that they wanted to charge to our room. Other than that, it was a great experience. We would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    179
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
87
170
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We absolutely loved our week long stay at the Sunbreeze. The bar and restauaunt area were great. The staff was very helpful. We never had to wait for anything we requested. The close proximity to the airport was a huge plus. It was within walking distance of all the action San Pedro town has to offer. Another plus was the fact that the front desk would call around and set up our excursions while we sat by the pool relaxing. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've been staying at the Sunbreeze Hotel for the past week. Checking out today. It starts with being directly across from the san pedro airport. Literally a several minute walk to the hotel. From the moment we arrived, until departure day, the staff was kind, courteous, friendly, and always smiling. I came here to dive and snorkel and having the dive shop right on our beach was oh so convenient. The Blue Water Grill and bar is right next to the pool and you can charge to your room which was very convenient. I slept very well and so did my wife. The beds are very comfortable. We stayed in a deluxe suite #223 on the second floor. Safety is always a concern when I travel out of the states and there was no perceived safety issues here. I simply loved it. You can book excursions directly from the hotel front desk. You can walk everywhere you would need to go on the island. No golf cart needed at all. What else nice can I say about this hotel..... It was just simply perfect from check in to check out. If you have a concern, they will fix it right away!
They sweep and mop the hallways and keep this property in ship shape every single day. They smile when they are doing it.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room. You will have a view of the courtyard which is nice. Downstairs also, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Clean spacious quiet rooms though could be darker at night. Staff excellent over course of 6 night stay, always friendly and helpful.. Good pool, bar, mojitos, restaurant fine too. Good location, despite being right by tropic air arrivals plane noise was not noticed. Happy to use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Sunbreeze Hotel is a GREAT place to stay if you want to be in San Pedro. Walking distance to ANY and ALL restaurants/bars/shops/tour offices. The location in that aspect in unbeatable for the value. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the property (Blue Water Grill) has a BEAUTIFUL view and generally good service, with food that is very much underwhelming for the price. There are better places elsewhere on the island. But if you want something extremely convenient with a nice view, it's just fine.
If you want to lounge on a beach all day this really isn't the place for you. The places for you would be to the south of north of San Pedro, where the beaches are larger and less developed. Belizean Shores has a nice one with a GOREGEOUS pool for the price, but the negatives there are that it would REALLY REALLY be a pain to eat/do anything in the town because the traveling is a bit of a long winded issue. So if you will be off on tours all day and only back at the hotel to eat and sleep, Sunbreeze is perfect. If you want to lunge on a beautiful beach, think elsewhere.

Must do eating spots:
- Palapa Bar -- BBQ sandwhich, Fresh fish pf the day blackened, and ANY of the drinks are AWESOME.
- Elsa's Kitchen -- really nice breakfasts on the beach, not far from Sunbreeze
- El Fogon - Great Belizean food

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel has everything to offer and very little to disappoint. Its location is ideal: mere steps from the airport, right on the beautiful beach, and an easy stroll to all the shops and businesses on "main street". The staff is gracious, helpful and efficient - clearly customer-focused and ready to provide the best experience possible to their guests. The food at the restaurant is excellent (the shrimp and calamari salad is delicious!) and the prices are fairly reasonable when compared with those of similar restaurants in the area. The rooms are clean, quite well maintained and all overlook the central courtyard and pool area. Original paintings by local artists add to he room's ambiance.

Room Tip: The property is horseshoe-shaped so ask for a room at the end and on the 2nd (top) floor. That will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The mantra of realtors everywhere, location is truly the attraction with the Sunbreeze. On the beach, across from the airport (no, you don't hear any planes) and right downtown where the action is. A true calm and peaceful oasis in the bustling town. Great staff, great food at the Bluewater Grill (try the Dallas roll on sushi nights), and did I mention the awesome staff? My only implant, and it is minor, is that one of the beds creaked so much that it would wake me up when I rolled over at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Address: 7 Coconut Dr | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavors of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary early bird coffee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunBreeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.