We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value for money, excellent customer service!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SunBreeze Hotel to your Saves list
SunBreeze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
1 review
“Great location, great value for money, excellent customer service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Sun Breeze in April. It was well reviewed on trip advisor and was what we had hoped for based on the reviews. The hotel is across the street from the airport, less than a 5 min walk, which was very convenient. There aren't flights at night so noise wasn't an issue. Ryan from SunBreeze was great, he met us at the airport and walked us to the hotel, then to our rooms. He knew a lot about different day trip options and recommended a local restaurant near the hotel that had amazing local food and very friendly staff, best meal of our trip. The room was perfect for us, nothing fancy, a clean, comfortable place to crash after a day is diving. The other guests seemed to be in and out a lot as well, not too many people hanging out. The hotel also had a great restaurant and really friendly staff. They served us breakfast in under 10 min the last morning when we were in a rush to catch our flight - very accommodating and easy going.
I absolutely recommend this hotel. It's great value for money and had better customer service than most 5 stars I've been to.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    237
    44
    14
    11
See reviews for
112
220
52
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked the Sunbreeze on a friends recommendation and were not disappointed. Our 18 night stay at the Sunbreeze hotel was very comfortable. It is located directly across the road from the small airstrip servicing the island. There is very little noise from the airport as the planes generally take off in a direction away from the hotel. We booked a "Premium" room at off season rates. The room was clean with a large king bed and included a safe and small bar fridge. Beach towels are supplied and you can exchange them at any time. They have an excellent cablevison connection with a huge selection of channels, although I must say we spent very little time in our 18 days watching tv. Our room (#120) looked out onto the beach, the courtyard and the pool.The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and trustworthy. We used the safe for passports, wallets and purses etc, but we did not feel we had to secure our laptops or other electronic devices before having room service. We did eat a couple of times at the Blue Water grill located on the property and found the food to be very good. Having said that, this hotel is centrally located in San Pedro town and there are just so many other eateries to try out. Of note is Carolines Cooking conveniently located right beside the hotel. We had intended to use the onsite dive shop but changed our minds when we found out they could not take us to the famous Blue Hole divesite. ( 2 hr+ boatride) They only book you with another company. So we used the Amigos del Mar shop just down the beach which goes out to every dive site. We did talk to other guests that used the onsite shop and they all said they had a great time on the local reef dives and snorkeling. We would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach have a better view, more sun and are closer to the pool and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We so enjoyed our time at the SunBreeze. It is just across the street from the airport which makes it really convenient. The staff is terrific and the Blue Water Grill is one of our favorite places to eat especially after being on the water all day. Very laid bad and good food and drinks. The pool is a nice place to relax and chill out after a long day, as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We enjoyed a five-night stay at SunBreeze Hotel and were very pleased. The hotel is literally just steps away from the airstrip for Tropic Air which made it very convenient. In all the time we were there, we only heard one morning flight depart so it is not a noisy location at all. The lobby staff were very nice and willing to check out a hairdryer to me for the duration of the trip since these do not come standard in the rooms.

The room was spacious with a separate workspace for our laptops and the wifi was consistently strong. The location is perfect for walking around San Pedro. We did not use the onsite dive shop due to scheduling constraints, but would still recommend them because they were very professional and knowledgeable. The pool area was clean and the restaurant made a fresh healthy breakfast for me a la carte (eggs, tomato, avocado).

It was nice to have the in-room safe to be able to lock up passports, etc. when we were away diving. The only downside is that we were told by the housekeeping staff that they are required to enter each room to clean at minimum every other day. Because we were traveling with so much expensive equipment and computers, that was not something we preferred because it was a hassle for us to secure everything. Otherwise, I would have rated the hotel a "5" based on it's amenities/comfort/cleanliness/location for the price point.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so older adults may want a ground floor to avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I visited Belize and SunBreeze Hotel for the first time in 2003 on a friend's recommendation. I enjoyed it then and returned this year to find that things are the same or better. Great location, all the amenities you need, friendly and helpful staff and wonderful food and drinks. The ceviche and Belizean breakfast can't be missed. Staff is quite capable of taking care of arranging all of your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Went to Belize for our Honeymoon. Wanted something different that offers both relaxation and adventure. Stayed in Sunbreeze as it is in the center of everything. We came to San Pedro already expecting not to see anything grand or fancy like the hotels you would see in cancun or cabo. Isla Bonita is a very simple town. They do not have any luxurious resorts over there. I think they do but it's all the way down at the other end of the island and from what I heard, you'd be pretty much stuck there and are limited... You'll have to ride them golf carts to get around.... and it'll be a rough ride cuz it's all dirt road!
Sunbreeze hotel is in the heart of their "downtown" if you will.
You literally would just cross the street from the air strip.
The hotel is BASIC but very very comfortable and clean! Room is a good size as well.
Everyone who works there are very nice and helpful. They keep the grounds clean as well.
Got everything we need in the room but only thing I wish they have is a coffee maker...
They offer free continental breakfast if I'm not mistaken but it ends too early and we like to sleep in. So we had to get our coffee at a nearby bakery...
Their pool is also basic. Nothing fancy. They do have that "veranda" area on top of their restaurant. A cool little spot to hang out in especially if you have it to yourselves. We just hang out there and watch ppl walk by along the beach and watch the sunset to the side...
Their restaurant is pretty good. We ate there 3x i think..
If you are a seafood fanatic, well san pedro offers the BEST AND FRESHEST seafood there is. BETTER than Belize City (we spent some days in belize city as well) All of their fish is "THE CATCH OF THE DAY"
Be prepared to spend $ cuz it ain't all that cheap out there... at all. Our dollar is = 2 BZE. It doesn't matter. If you convert it you are still looking at paying around at least 19.99 USD for a meal.
Sunbreeze hotel is also super close to one of our favorite spot to hang out in. It's called Hurricane. That'll be another review I have to write. And also close to El Fogon - this little hole in the wall spot nearby that I think was the cheapest meal we ever paid but the food is GOOOOOD!!! If you want Belizean food, check this place out.
There's a Dive store on their property as well. Makes it sooo convenient for you divers out there. If you want to rent a kayak (or other adventure), they are just a few steps away from the hotel as well. We rented a kayak for just $10/hr i think and we kayak'd our way to the reef one afternoon and snorkeled by ourselves. we also booked our trip to Hol chan marine reserve and shark alley trip to one of the spots there near our hotel. If you want to do the land adventures, I highly recommend to stay in belize city towards the end of your trip. don't book it in san pedro. You will be spending more since you'll have to pay $ for the boat ride each time.
Anyways, you can't go wrong with sunbreeze. Everything is so accessible from here. Everything is just a walk away.... No need to rent them annoying golf carts. You'd get there faster if you walk!

Room Tip: well, you want to be upstairs that's for sure. I feel like it's safer than being downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our 5th visit to the SunBreeze and, once again, we enjoyed every moment there! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, as always. During our visit we booked a trip to the mainland to go to the zoo and rented a golf cart for the afternoon. It was fantastic the way the staff was able to help book the trips and make changes to the reservations as necessary. The new mattresses were a big hit with us...so comfortable. We had a great night sleep each night we were there. Upon leaving, we were discussing when we'd be back in 2014.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
9.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#33 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunBreeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.