We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SunBreeze Hotel to your Saves list
SunBreeze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
257 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“OK place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice tidy little place. Nice pool. Espensive bar. Breakfast OK but a little skimpy. Felt safe and quiet there. Close to town. Dive place out front was VERY helpful with my problem mask. We were there during the Christmas parade time. Very neat. Missed the boat parade by one day!

Room Tip: 1st floor if you like to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    234
    44
    14
    11
See reviews for
108
217
51
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We just got back from San Pedro having spent a week during New Years on the island. The Sunbreeze Hotel is a nice basic place. We stayed in one of their premier rooms (120). The lodgings are are fairly basic. No huge spaces or opulent furnishings here. That said big comfortable bed, decent tv (that didn't get used much!), good ac, cold fridge and a bathroom that everything worked properly in. In my world what more do you need. Our room was as close you could get to both the ocean and the pool. Being a small hotel every room fits this description. The pool area had plenty of chairs for all that needed them with plenty of sun and shady areas depending on peoples' tastes. The staff here is first rate. Every need is attended to whether it is the restaurant, lobby or maintenance staff. They take pride in their hotel and it shows with the way they go about their jobs. Did any one person make our stay special? No. They all did. Can't say that too often and happy to say it now. We never used the restaurant much as there are so many choices for food on the island. What we ate there was good. By amenities one could call this place a solid 3 1/2 rated hotel.

It isn't! The Sunbreeze Hotel is right in the heart of San Pedro. It is right across the street from the airport. Strangely enough no one really noticed the buzzing of the little planes. If you want to get onto the street to check out the many bars, restaurants and shops go out the main doors and you are there. If you want to walk down the beach and check out the dive outfits and beach bars and grills simply go to the beach and walk. You are there! If you want to have a quiet day simply hang at the pool and the hustle of the town will not exist. Long story short, San Pedro and all it has to offer is right at the hotel's doorstep. This to us is priceless. There some very plush places to stay here but they are all far removed from the heartbeat of the town.

This ease of enjoying the town makes this hotel a gem. For anyone that likes a good home base to get out and enjoy a town this hotel is it.

Room Tip: There is a group of five rooms called their premier rooms. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We returned to the SunBreeze Hotel for the 5th time. We were there for 7 nights during the New Year's holidays. We have stayed at other resorts before but for us we found the SunBreeze works great and that's way we keep returning. The convenience of being close to the airport, walking to downtown, having a pool, and on-site restaurant (one of the best in San Pedro) is important to both of us. The whole staff was always attentive and very courteous to us. We have thought enough to have brought my kids and grandkids here.

Room Tip: We prefer the lower level with no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Great location, excellent restaurant, good wifi and a/c. Next to airport but not noisy. Easy walk to restaurants, massage, tours and golf cart rentals. Pool was lovely and not crowded. Our room was near the pool but there was no noise problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It is right across the street from the airstrip, they will meet you and help you across the street with bags. Very friendly and helpful staff. Large, modern rooms. Nice pool area, not large, but never seemed crowded, and is right next to bar and the Blue Water Grille. Hotel is on the beach, although the beach area is no for swimming, as it has docks and boats and the water is not pristine, especially at the beach. The hotel has a dive/snorkel operation right next to and on the hotel dock. We booked our dive and snorkel trips right there. The hotel restaurant is the Blue Water Grille, one of the top restaurants in San Pedro. Hotel staff is very helpful and can book a golf cart or a tour that will deliver right to your room. Nice courtyard area for card games outside at night. And I think it is all very moderately priced. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked for 5 nights and we were totally upset and unhappy.
We asked for ocean view room, we did not get it. We required king size bed , did not get it. Beddings were old, lumpy and uncomfortable. Fitted sheets torn and not fitting and comming out at night.
Pillows old and lumpy. Towels torn, thin like tissue papers.
It is worse than Motel 6 in US. Rusty windowes on the ouside.
Torn and sheredded mats all over.
Manangement and staff lies and not accomodating.
we were very diappointed and they ruiened our vacations

Room Tip: Do not go by the pictures of the hotel . This hotel is no good , it is no more than 1-1.5 star ratin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBsuites, General Manager at SunBreeze Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and living up to your promise. I regret how you feel about staying with us. Room 201 is our most popular repeat guest sought of deluxe room for the view offered at the end of the second floor of the U shape property. It offers a great view and no other guests passing by. The only room category that comes with a king bed is our premier room. I am sorry that your choice of accommodation did not meet your requirements. Our goal is to always meet and exceed our customer expectation and is sorry yours were not met.
Sincerely,
Julia Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel rooms are in urgent need of an upgrade and the towels needed replacement. The restaurant was excellent. The greatest letdown was the front desk. We asked them to make a booking for us on our last night which they did not do because the Restaurant did not collect us so our evening was ruined with no apology whatsoever.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBsuites, General Manager at SunBreeze Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your vacation with us. Your comments regarding the condition of the towels are well taken because our replacement stock was delayed in getting to us due to the back log of shipment to Belize. We are pleased to advise that we have replenished our linen and towel inventory and all rooms now have Flat screen TV’s along with the installation of in room safes. We are glad that you enjoyed the restaurant since it has a great reputation as one of the best in San Pedro.
The duty clerk that was to make the reservation for you had indeed had not done so and though the restaurant was able to accommodate you, understandably you were upset as a result of the delay. Once this matter was brought to my attention, you had already checked out the following day. Be assured that appropriate training resolutions was applied and corrective procedures implemented to ensure that we never disappoint another guest. I am sorry that we did not get an opportunity to make up for this but be assured if ever in San Pedro, your first dinner will be on us. If given the chance and you decide to return and stay with us, let us know so that we can guarantee you a memorable stay with us at Sunbreeze Hotel.

Your Sincerely,

Julia Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Address: Beach Front, # 7 Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavours of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas to keep you connected with your loved ones, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary fresh brewed coffee available daily at the lobby from 6:00am to 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunBreeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.