We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishermans paradise and something for the family too.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SunBreeze Hotel

Save Saved
You added SunBreeze Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunBreeze Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Coconut Dr | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Barrie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fishermans paradise and something for the family too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a 20 suite hotel on the island of Ambergris Caye about 20 minutes by island hopper plane from the Belize City airport on the mainland. We flew nonstop from Toronto, Canada to Belize City and took a small plane over to the island.(also accessible by ferry if you prefer). This was our first trip that was not all inclusive so we did not know what to expect for costs. Sunwing flight , 2 suites and island hopper flight totalled $4400. for 3 people. Food and drinks and nightlife and golf cart rental ( thats how you get around the island as there is no need for a car) totalled about $500.00 / person. We hired a boat and guide four times and had a great time fishing and seeing this very unique island skirted by the second longest barrier reef in the world. If you lookup this hotel on trip advisor you will find plenty of photos which depict exactly as you will find the hotel and rooms. People are great , sevice was great, hotel was very clean and pest free. Beaches in general are small here but the flavor of San Pedro makes up for it. Glad I went.

Room Tip: no bad rooms in this hotel, we had two beach front rooms, ground floor on the right side of this hor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    165
    34
    11
    10
See reviews for
79
162
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went for a weeklong dive trip in November and stayed here. It's a small (2 floors), cozy hotel. It's clean. It's conveniently located, right in town, across the street from the airstrip. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Any time we asked for something, they were right on it. Their pool is nice, clean and refreshing. Their restaurant is tasty. Everything you need is within walking distance. Can't think of a single reason not to stay here:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for a week, didn't want to leave. The hotel was great, the food was excellent, The staff both at the hotel and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. The on-site dive operator Hugh Parkey Dive Connection was the best ever. All we had to do was walk to the boat which was right there and sit down. The crew did everything else for you. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, no complaints at all!! Clean well kept room and grounds, attentive staff just an overall excellent place to spend a vacation!!
I would highly recommend Sunbreeze if you are looking for a vacation spot in Belize.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just back from a week's diving vacation. The Sunbreeze Hotel has a perfect location; on-site dive operator (also Excellent), right on the south edge of San Pedro (easy walking along the beach or sidewalk anywhere in town), ocean view rooms, and right across from the airport (you won't hear a thing until after 7 am, and you're up for diving anyways). The rooms are big (spend a little extra for a Premium room with fridge for your Beliken beers), clean and the staff are super friendly. Nice bar and attached restaurant (you can always walk to Ruby's, about 5 minutes away, for a quick breakfast burrito or piece of banana bread?. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are larger, have a refrigerator and a nice hanging space in the shower for dive gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We liked the closeness to everything. We flew in to the municipal airport which is basically across the street from the Tropic Air terminal. The staff was so friendly. We had the choice of rooms because it was low season We were in Room 216. The room was very clean. The air conditioning worked really well which was much appreciated. There was also an overhead fan in the room. The shower was as really large. I liked that they had small cement water basins as you go from the sandy beach to the hotel. The foliage and trees created a calm courtyard. The pool was great and so close to the Blue Water Grill. You can get drinks and charge them to your room right there by showing your room key. The pool decking had a few nails sticking up, which my husband noticed. He told one of the staff and a maintenance man came a fixed right away. We went there in low season and got a deal on the room - no hassles. We went to the Spa in the hotel. The young woman was an exceptionally good masseuse. They had a special on spa services because of low season. The rooms have nice big windows. Security is very good at this hotel. They provide a bank bag to put valuables which is then locked up behind the desk in their safe. They have complementary coffee from 5 am to 7am available in the Lobby. A pitcher of water was supplied to the room and you could put it in the mini fridge or cool it down with ice from the ice machine. The hotel gave the guest the option to help save water by how often you wanted to get your sheets & towels changed. Although they would automatically change the sheets every three days.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up stairs the rooms with the best views (beach) are on the 2nd floor n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Well, Sunbreeze did it again! This was our fourth visit and if anything, the best yet. The room was ready and clean for us. We opted for the Deluxe room and it really was beautifully furnished and presented. The staff were warm, courteous and friendly, often asking us about our diving experiences, which were great. When we had a problem with the air conditioning one day, the staff were there in minutes to sort it out, which they did. Honestly, the place feels like home. The location is perfect...walking distance to the airport and the sea is even closer..Belize Dive Connection is the onsite dive shop. Kevin Hayden is the amiable British Manager, 'Cap' Avi was our friendly boat captain and our Divemasters, Patrick and Jerome were so kind and low key, not to mention knowledgeable of their sites. I can't say enough good things about the dive shop, coupled with the warm atmosphere of our favorite hotel. Can't wait to come back again ( hey Kevin, can we have your job if you ever decide to leave) Next time we think we will try the Sunbreeze Villas..but whenever we come back, it will surely feel like home. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a better view of the ocean...especially for viewing dive conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunBreeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Hotel

Address: 7 Coconut Dr | P.O. Box 14, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SunBreeze Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Hotel is located on Ambergris Caye, Belize, in a U Shaped Spanish Architectural design, full service Belize resort with flavors of the Caribbean surrounded by tropical gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea, centrally located at the immediate south side of the heart of San Pedro Town with easy access to every means of entertainment and water sport activity; yet out of the hustle of the town. A seafront property protected by a seawall boasting 43 spacious air conditioned rooms of three categories, an onsite open air seafront restaurant & bar adjacent to the freshwater pool surrounded by a 10ft of wooden deck, sun beds, chairs, massage studio, spa services, sauna, art gallery with Caribbean Paintings, a 1500 sq ft multi purpose meeting room, sea-front hammock gazebo and Highly Professional PADI dive operator, tours and concierge services, wedding and event coordination services. All rooms are non-smoking and offers handicap accessible bathrooms, accessible paths of travel, in room accessibility. Some connecting rooms available. Complimentary WiFi in-rooms and most common areas, complimentary luggage assistance from San Pedro Airstrip, and complimentary early bird coffee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SunBreeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze San Pedro
SunBreeze Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunBreeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.