We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of nicest hotels in San Pedro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
Save
You added El Pescador Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of nicest hotels in San Pedro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

My husband and I went to San Pedro after buying a flight+hotel package on the web. When we got to the hotel, we were both amazed: it was even better then what the photos show. The place is intimate, beautiful (both the buildings and the grounds), romantic, and we have never seen a staff that helpful, and full of knowledge (especially Judy). We walked a lot on the beach and saw all resorts from Banana hotel (south of town), to Capitain Morgan's. This hotel is one of the nicests for sure. These are our tips:
-hotels outside of town are much nicer (like El Pescador), and the beachfront also is nicer. Don't stay in town
-but the further away from town, the more complicated it gets to get to and from town (El pescador is 5km or 3 miles from town: 1 hour walk or 7$ boat one way, leaves every hour or use the loaned bikes from the hotel 15minutes one way, nice ride)
-supper at el pescador: expensive (35$USD for a 4 course meal + 10%taxes + gratuities) and the menu not always convincing
-restaurants/hotels around El Pescador are just as expensive or more.
-Very nice meals in town (ex: grilled fish) for about 10$USD
-but we had breakfast (8$) and lunch (12$) at the hotel: plenty was served, great bread and pastries made there. Service is also quick and extremely friendly.
-Snorkeling is the best we ever had anywhere. At Hole Chan and sharks alley snorkeling tour, we were able to see nursing sharks, sea turtles, snappers, trumpet fish, eagle rays, etc... We have done diving in mexico and europe and most times don't see as much!
-Lamanai tour with SEArious was also GREAT (booked through the hotel). the guides welcomed and answered all questions about the tour and about Belize. This is an opportunity to see the jungle and some animals, as well as learn about the Maya civilization.
-Loved the hammocks and our one bedroom villa with sea view. The bathroom with a huge Jungle shower was great, we had a king bed, and a tv with cable and a DVD.
Great vacation, need to return to do some diving. We would definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    33
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
154
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

Ya know how the SECOND time you go someplace, you tend to be slightly disappointed? NOT ON AMBERGRIS CAYE! We just returned from a week there...one year after our first visit. We absolutely love El Pescador, a small intimate and very hospitable inn right on the water just 2 miles north of San Pedro. The inn saw to EVERY detail: A rep met us at the air strip, took us to the inn by boat and from there everything was FANTASTIC. The place is owned by a family and by the time we left, we felt like we were members of the family. The BIG attraction for us was the superb diving on the reefs. We bought the diving package at El Pescador and had 10 amazing dives, never in the same place twice. The dive master, Alonzo, is an expert at spotting the marine life such as huge turtles, dolphins, etc. Unlike our experience at other dive shops, we were 2 or 4 with Alonzo instead of the 7-10 "busloads" of divers one usually finds through tourist center dive shops. It is the finest diving we have ever done. Go there...you will not be sorry.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

We just returned from a 7 day honeymoon stay in one of the villas and found everything to be perfect. We arrived famished mid-afternoon and were brought lunch and snacks without asking! Our sunblock lotion got confiscated in airport security and we were supplied with new, without asking! The entire staff was friendly, cheerful and accommodating. The set menu dinners were tasty and creative with a different theme every night...including all you could eat lobster tails and strip steak, all perfectly prepared. The hosts dine with you and make a point of facilitating introductions and keeping conversation lively as dining is communal, a real treat as the clientel are international and well-traveled. We fished 5 days with a spectacular guide who patiently taught us to cast into the wind and providing us with fine opportunities to catch bonefish. Our accommodations were a 1 bedroom villa, spacious and well-appointed with all amenities. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained and all of our transfers and transportation arranged by the resort were perfectly and punctually planned. An outstanding place!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2005

A perfect vacation spot on an undiscovered gem of an island. If you scuba dive or fish, this is the place for you. El Pescador is a fantastic lodge/villas on an undeveloped caye approximately 20 minutes by plane from Belize City.

The hosts are generous and accomodating. The dive master Alonzo Flota is amazing. The food (served family style at dinner and prepared by an American chef) is so much better than I could have imagined. The staff is young and eager to please. The villas are beautiful with gorgeous mexican tiled bathrooms and large living rooms and bedrooms. Also have fully operational kitchens.

If you don't dive or fish and if lounging by the pool is a hardship for you, there is not much for you to do on this island. There are few if any cars, all transport is by boat or golf cart. Not much in town, but a few surprisngly great restaurants. El Pesacdor offers all meals and has a great little bar, so not much reason to leave there actually.

The resort has 3 pools and offers many hammocks for afternoon naps by the sea. Not really a place to bring kids only b/c there is not much to do other then swim, snorkel, dive or fish i.e., no "artificial" entertainment. Families looking for that outlet should stick to Cancun or Florida.

All in all an excellent place to vacation with good company, good food, awesome weather, fantastic diving and top nothch resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

This is more like Martha Stewart's beach house. The property is small and exceptionally maintained. There is a warm and welcoming family who own it and their only goal is to assure the guests enjoy their stay. Mr. Steve, one of the proprietors said to us when we arrived, "We never say no." The women of the family carefully oversee lovely flowers, gardens, room details and magnificent food. The guys manage the fishing trips, diving excursions and transportation. We bought the "inclusive" with three meals and scuba included. Not a single disappointment. Our large airy room overlooked the sea and the pool. Many of the guests are there for sport fishing so the place is very quiet and relaxing for those who stay behind during the day. There are three pools and during the fishing trips, they are all for the folks back on shore. Alonzo Flota is the dive master and he and his staff made this the most rewarding and exciting diving we've ever done. We saw dolphins, sea tortoises, a school of sharks up to 7 feet long (which he fed from his hand!) Guide/diver ratios are low so you're always safe and secure and in no danger of getting lost or separated from the guide. We've never enjoyed a trip as much as this one....all due to the incredible commitment of the staff. Guest while we were there included folks from London, Hong Kong, Indianapolis, Washington DC, lots of Texans, some from Guatamala and one from Argentina. Apparently the reputation is world-wide. They have a website if you want more info.
Unique Qualities:
All ocean front rooms. Some multi-room "villas". Three pools. Easy access to San Pedro via water taxis

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2005

I stayed with El Pescador in Feb. with my husband and child. The place was nice. The people who worked at the resort was very nice. My prob. was that the food was so over priced and not very good and the owners were not friendly at all! I watch them choose guests they liked and how well they treat them compared to others guests. It is not a resort thats for sure. It is a place with nice buildings and a pool. If you are going to fish then it is the place for you but if you are having your family join you, find somewhere else to stay. I think Belize is wonderful and I can not wait to return but this is not the place I am going to spend a lot of $.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2005

My husband and I travelled to Belize with a VMI classmate ('61) and his wife. The guys liked to fly fish and we spent the days on walks along the beaches and reading around the pool..We all went for an eco tour that cruised the mango jungle, toured a native (really native...take your own toilet paper) village that survived from wood carvings and jewelry for the tourists..next it was on to Altan Ha.. a mayan ruin.. I think they are all pretty much the same..but one must go..this was an amazing culture and the remains of community are very interesting..then it was on to a Jungle Spa..this is a must..a delicious lunch, the guys road horses and we enjoyed a seaweed wrap and a mood, mud massage by a medicine man with volcanic ash....the hut was awesome..clean..professional..and a real "eco/native" experience..The guide.. as I understand they all are...was fabulous..We stayed in the fishing lodge El Pescador (The Fisherman) We stayed in a villa with all the amenities..staff service..pools..kitchen..view etc..This is in an area that is about to or already is "happening"..The breakfasts/lunches and dinners were included and were above average..eating at huge long wooden table..good native food..good wine..The bar is open from 2pm on..This is not a flashy resort..just very nice accomodations and good helpful staff..The people that come here are first rate with wonderful stories to tell. We hit winter break so we experienced lots of families with teenagers..The fishing was so.. so..I was told you never book a fishing trip on three days on either side of the full moon..the fish can see at night and do not bite during the day.But the fishing guides were excellent and tried so hard!!.all reports of other side trips..such as snorkeling, scuba, sailing, kayaking seemed to be well organized and enjoyed..we went into town on bikes across a hand pulled ferry to San Pedro for a half day..it is native..but trying hard to please the tourist..At El Pescador we could drink the water, but was not sure of it in town..These people speak very good English..and they have wonderful dialects..The only downer was the trash on the untended beaches..you do not see this in the beautiful brochures, but I understand the cruise ships from everywhere dump outside the three mile limit and it is gross..this will be an issue soon..Lots of Americans are buying and building on Ambrigis Caye..Also the food was outstanding at the Capricorn next to our lodge and we enjoyed the small bar and wonderful bartender full of great personal stories of this island..On this trip I think the people get the highest award and the scenery and food next!!.Do not plan to dress up..I took way to many clothes..it is very casualThat is all I know!!Blair Bickford

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.0 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.