We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, even if you don't fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Pescador Resort to your Saves list
El Pescador Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, even if you don't fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I just finished our 3rd stay at El Pescador, and 7th trip to Ambergris. We will keep coming to the island, and can't imagine staying anywhere else on it. Over the years we've done the trip by ourselves, with friends, with family and also with our two little kids (3 and 5). Each trip has been successful, and the most recent adventure (June 2013) was with our kids and another couple, who brought their 1 yr old. We don't fish, and instead filled the week with diving, snorkeling and relaxing at the pool. Family Style dining each night allowed for us to enjoy the fishing stories, without having to actually do the fishing! The resort was extremely accommodative to our children, and the best example is perhaps that my daughter's pancakes were always made in the shape of hearts ... which started every day with a smile! When you travel with small kids, few things are as important as that! The owners put their heart and soul into this resort and we leave it each time thankful that there is a dedicated family protecting this special place. We'll be back, my 5 yr old has already begun negotiating.

Room Tip: Bedrooms on the lower floors of the villas seemed to stay cooler and had HUGE showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    31
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
67
132
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orono, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

El Pescador sets the standard by which other fishing resorts are measured. Recently named one of the "Top 10 Luxury Eco-Resorts" by Forbes Traveler, El Pescador's well trained and exceedingly friendly and attentive staff make staying there...easy. Their salt water flats fly fishing guides are all locals and some are second generation guides who apprenticed long before they were allowed to guide.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just returned from El Pescador. It was an outstanding vacation for the entire family. (Parents in their 40's, kids 12 and 8). Two things really stand out. First, item is the service. A couple of other reviews noted that the staff remembered their names consistently. True, but it's more than that. They remember you name, what you like to eat/drink, and work tirelessly, but unobtrusively to get you whatever you want. It's a friendly atmosphere that's kind of like going to your grandmother's house when you were a kid. We were on a meals included plan and would recommend it. The food is very good and had a surprising amount of variety and options. Meals are served family style and allow everyone to get to know fellow guests. I was unsure how that would work out with the family, but all of us really enjoyed getting to know a number of folks at dinner.

The second thing that stood out was the fishing program. It was great (more on that to follow). However, going in, we were apprehensive that it would be too much of a fishing lodge for my wife and daughter who weren't really interested in fishing. Not a problem at all! The snorkeling and beach activities were fun for them and this is an excellent place for a beach vacation. The folks at El Pescador arranged about any trip or excursion you could think of and all of our experiences were good. The snorkeling/beach picnic is also highly recommended! (Again about the service). It's tempting to think of them as a fishing place, but the truth is they do the beach/tubing/Mayan ruins tours as well as anyone.

While they do a great job with everything, the fishing program is over the top. This is NOT a just hotel that knows a couple of fishing guides and will give them a call if you ask. Want to practice your fly casting? They have a separate area on the boat dock for that. Did the practice not go as well as you'd hoped? No problem, they have free lessons for anyone every afternoon. (This included my wife and daughter who had no interest in actually fishing but thought the casting looked kind of fun. Look up the bio for Lori Ann Murphy on the website. This is kind of like having someone from the MLB all star game come and help you at the batting cage.) Worried about where you guide will take you and what kind of fishing you'll do? Because they use their guides all the time, we were able to discuss this with him the night before. What about lunch on the water? El Pescador staff will find you the night before, provide you a lunch menu and have your requested lunch on the boat for you in the morning. Get back from a day of fishing and want to get the salt off your rods? They keep a 10' tank of fresh water for just than purpose. Catch something that looks tasty? The kitchen will gladly prepare your catch for the evening meal.

Our experiences are confirmed by the awards they've received. The trip advisor outstanding service award is well deserved as is the Orvis International Fishing Lodge of the Year.

We're already looking to find a time to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from 8 nights at the El Pescador fishing resort and have had one of our best holidays yet ! The outstanding feature of our holiday was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff - nothing was too much trouble for them. From the moment we landed at San Pedro Airport we were met by a member of the hotel staff who looked after our luggage and escorted us to the Lodge via boat (our thirst wetted by a nice cold beer from the icebox during the trip). We were met at the jetty by one of the Reception staff and given a tour of the resort and shown our Room. Later in the day our Fishing Director (Lori-Ann) gave a Fishing Induction for those wishing to pursue the saltwater game fish available from the Resort. In addition, free Casting Tuition is provided 4:30pm every day at the hotel jetty - a real must if you are a bit "rusty" & want to maximise the opportunity for catching a fish to remember ! I spent 5 days pursuing Bonefish, Permit & Tarpon and enjoyed every day (7am - 3pm) although the Permit and Tarpon proved elusive ! We also enjoyed the snorkelling at the Reef and my non-fishing partner visited the Mayan ruins during a day-trip and explored the retail opportunities provided by San Pedro ! The food was excellent and the bar service generous ! Everyday in the afternoon guests gather around the pool to share fishing stories. After a short rest and dressing for dinner guests return to the bar for a drink and more stories as they wait for the dinner bell. We met so many new friends!! As mentioned elsewhere the beaches are not really conducive to sun-bathing/swimming due to the quantities of turtle grass found along the water's edge but the Resort has 3 Pools to choose from and my partner found them a more than acceptable alternative ! Rooms were spacious and clean with easily adjustable Air Conditioning and Ceiling Fans. In summary, we enjoyed every minute and can't wait to return to El Pescador.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Everyone knows how hard it is finding the perfect place for family trips. Well we included 3 generations and a mix of non fishers and fishers and just didn't know how things would turn out. Not only did the 14 of us make it there and back without killing each other this trip will go down and one of the best ever. Thanks to the staff at El Pescador and the friendly welcome and easy registration process, it took all of about 10 minutes to sign in, have the bags delivered to the room, change cloths and hit the pool. By the time dinner was served we had all experienced some of Belize. Kayaks, bikes, canoe, snorkels, and fishing polls had all been brought out of storage and used.

By the end of the trip 8 of us had caught our fill of bone fish even though 7 of us had never done any ocean fly fishing. We had either gone diving or Snorkeled the barrier reef, we hiked the Mayan ruins, explored the town of San Pedro, hiked the wilderness of Belize, and enjoyed one of the best family vacations ever. It was a wonderful trip for everyone from 70's to teens.

The staff really knows how to show all ages a great time. The Guides are awesome at finding fish, giving casting tips, and hiding their laughter. Although none of us were able to pull in the grand slam we all did have opportunities at Bone Fish, Tarpon, and Permits and everyone that put a rod in their hand caught enough fish to put a smile on their face.

All 14 of us have said that they would do it again. We will be back to El Pescador in Belize.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just returned from six days at the El Pescador on Ambergris Caye and we will be returning! In fact, my husband and father-in-law are in the process of booking a return trip this June.

My husband and I took our three children, ages 14, 9 and 2, for our second Ambergris Caye vacation. While we loved the resort we stayed at last time it was simply too far north. So on a friends' recommendation we booked our stay at the El Pescador in a two bedroom villa.

From the moment we were greeted at the San Pedro airport to the minute we left the San Pedro airport, we felt a part of the El Pescador family. Literallly. Ali, Alonzo, Chris and Steve make sure that all guests feel a part of their family. They are always available and accessible and truly care if you are enjoying their piece of heaven.

Every staff member remembered our name and preferences. It would be so difficult to single out one for kudos; Mariano the bartender, Susanna the waitress, Mari at the front desk, Judy in guest services, director of fishing Ed, they were all wonderful!!!

The food was amazing. The chartered fishing trip well exceeded our expectations; Luis made sure that my sons had an amazing day on the water! And was genuinely excited when my 9 year old landed a 36 inch barracuda.

A chartered excursion with Alonzo and his mate, Manuel, was also above all expectations. My children are so far apart in age that it is not always easy to find experiences they all enjoy, but Alonzo made sure that all three had an amazing experience snorkeling and visiting Caye Caulker.

I could go on and on...but my favorite part of El Pescador? The true fishing/hunting lodge feeling of a family.

Everyday in the afternoon guests gather around the pool to share fishing stories. After a short rest and dressing for dinner guests return to the bar for a drink and more stories as they wait for the dinner bell. We met so many new friends!!

Warning, do not travel to Ambergris Caye in the hopes of being entertained. You are on island time. It's your job to relax and enjoy the beautiful fishing, sun and nearby sights. Yes,, you can book excursions that are wonderful but do not expect nightclubs or hokey luaus.

Last but certainly not least...the villa. The villa truly had everything you could need at home. I cooked several meals and had every utensil/etc. that I could need. Beautiful furnishings and very comfortable beds!! And maybe my favorite spot, the hammock on the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We took a work retreat down to El Pescador for 6 nights in April. 4 guys with a wide range of fishing abilities.

We split a three bedroom villa on property and fished 4 of the 6 days we were there. From the moment you step off the little prop plane on San Pedro until the moment you leave the island, the staff at El Pescador handles everything. Beer on the boat on the way to the resort, baggage, the works.

Food. Every meal we had at the resort was fantastic. Family style, hardy and portioned perfectly. We had blackened grouper, stone crab claws, fajitas, steak and wonderful house made desserts. All made on site, all made with care and skill. For breakfast, the have a full menu - pancakes, omelettes, eggs, bacon, etc. For lunch when you're fishing, they'll pack almost anything. I suggest the shrimp wrap, fresh pineapple, chips and conch ceviche.

Room. Our villa was very clean, livable and spacious. It is not the Four Seasons, so don't expect marble, granite, etc. Plenty of hot water, a huge kitchen, deck and hammock are all there waiting. The floors were spotless and the daily room cleanings were timely and done right. We never locked it and had no trouble at all. The lodge rooms are closer to the bar/restaurant but the noise was never an issue. When you're waking up at 5 to fish, no one stays up late drinking.

Fishing. All four of us caught beautiful permits and dozens of bonefish while there. The guides are absolute professionals. They know the fish and they find them. We had really windy weather several days, and the guides patiently took us to the best spots. We were out 8 hours each day and had a blast. You will not see prettier water any where else on earth. That island is surrounded by mile upon mile of 4 foot deep, crystal clear water.

Family. The best part about the trip for me was the staff and other guests. Everyone knows your first name, everyone is friendly and you get a chance to brag about big fish, knock back a few beers and really relax. The staff takes care of everything with a smile.

The only thing this place DOES NOT have is a beach worth using. The sand is there and the palm trees are perfect, but the water at the shore is pretty grassy. If your spouse or girlfriend wants to "sit on the beach" while you fish, this isn't the place. I suppose you could take a chair down there, but swimming would be best in the pool. It is excellent. Also, if you stay for the day and use the pool instead of fish, the lunch on property is out of this world.

Say hello to Mariano in the bar for me if you go. It was a perfect week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.