We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Pescador Resort to your Saves list
El Pescador Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
corpus christi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fishing Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just returned from six days at the El Pescador on Ambergris Caye and we will be returning! In fact, my husband and father-in-law are in the process of booking a return trip this June.

My husband and I took our three children, ages 14, 9 and 2, for our second Ambergris Caye vacation. While we loved the resort we stayed at last time it was simply too far north. So on a friends' recommendation we booked our stay at the El Pescador in a two bedroom villa.

From the moment we were greeted at the San Pedro airport to the minute we left the San Pedro airport, we felt a part of the El Pescador family. Literallly. Ali, Alonzo, Chris and Steve make sure that all guests feel a part of their family. They are always available and accessible and truly care if you are enjoying their piece of heaven.

Every staff member remembered our name and preferences. It would be so difficult to single out one for kudos; Mariano the bartender, Susanna the waitress, Mari at the front desk, Judy in guest services, director of fishing Ed, they were all wonderful!!!

The food was amazing. The chartered fishing trip well exceeded our expectations; Luis made sure that my sons had an amazing day on the water! And was genuinely excited when my 9 year old landed a 36 inch barracuda.

A chartered excursion with Alonzo and his mate, Manuel, was also above all expectations. My children are so far apart in age that it is not always easy to find experiences they all enjoy, but Alonzo made sure that all three had an amazing experience snorkeling and visiting Caye Caulker.

I could go on and on...but my favorite part of El Pescador? The true fishing/hunting lodge feeling of a family.

Everyday in the afternoon guests gather around the pool to share fishing stories. After a short rest and dressing for dinner guests return to the bar for a drink and more stories as they wait for the dinner bell. We met so many new friends!!

Warning, do not travel to Ambergris Caye in the hopes of being entertained. You are on island time. It's your job to relax and enjoy the beautiful fishing, sun and nearby sights. Yes,, you can book excursions that are wonderful but do not expect nightclubs or hokey luaus.

Last but certainly not least...the villa. The villa truly had everything you could need at home. I cooked several meals and had every utensil/etc. that I could need. Beautiful furnishings and very comfortable beds!! And maybe my favorite spot, the hammock on the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    31
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
70
136
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We took a work retreat down to El Pescador for 6 nights in April. 4 guys with a wide range of fishing abilities.

We split a three bedroom villa on property and fished 4 of the 6 days we were there. From the moment you step off the little prop plane on San Pedro until the moment you leave the island, the staff at El Pescador handles everything. Beer on the boat on the way to the resort, baggage, the works.

Food. Every meal we had at the resort was fantastic. Family style, hardy and portioned perfectly. We had blackened grouper, stone crab claws, fajitas, steak and wonderful house made desserts. All made on site, all made with care and skill. For breakfast, the have a full menu - pancakes, omelettes, eggs, bacon, etc. For lunch when you're fishing, they'll pack almost anything. I suggest the shrimp wrap, fresh pineapple, chips and conch ceviche.

Room. Our villa was very clean, livable and spacious. It is not the Four Seasons, so don't expect marble, granite, etc. Plenty of hot water, a huge kitchen, deck and hammock are all there waiting. The floors were spotless and the daily room cleanings were timely and done right. We never locked it and had no trouble at all. The lodge rooms are closer to the bar/restaurant but the noise was never an issue. When you're waking up at 5 to fish, no one stays up late drinking.

Fishing. All four of us caught beautiful permits and dozens of bonefish while there. The guides are absolute professionals. They know the fish and they find them. We had really windy weather several days, and the guides patiently took us to the best spots. We were out 8 hours each day and had a blast. You will not see prettier water any where else on earth. That island is surrounded by mile upon mile of 4 foot deep, crystal clear water.

Family. The best part about the trip for me was the staff and other guests. Everyone knows your first name, everyone is friendly and you get a chance to brag about big fish, knock back a few beers and really relax. The staff takes care of everything with a smile.

The only thing this place DOES NOT have is a beach worth using. The sand is there and the palm trees are perfect, but the water at the shore is pretty grassy. If your spouse or girlfriend wants to "sit on the beach" while you fish, this isn't the place. I suppose you could take a chair down there, but swimming would be best in the pool. It is excellent. Also, if you stay for the day and use the pool instead of fish, the lunch on property is out of this world.

Say hello to Mariano in the bar for me if you go. It was a perfect week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

El Pescador Resort provided a flawless experience for me and my friends. Everything you could ask for in a vacation was provided by the El Pescador family of owners and employees. Great accommodations, great food, helpful and friendly staff, wonderful excursions including the best flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit you could imagine. If you travel to the caribbean for fun and or fishing don't miss this experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the airport in San Pedro, we were welcomed into the El Pescador family. Rare to find the level of service provided anywhere in the world and in such an unobtrusive way. Everyone remembered our names! The accommodations were very comfortable with each villa offering a view of the sea; the food amazing and the fishing was outstanding. Our guide, Erlindo, continually had us on fish. And don't pass on the shore lunch; a highlight of the trip! We also took advantage of Searious Adventures full day catamaran trip to Caye Caulker which included snorkling at Hol Chan and at Shark Ray Alley along the way. Not to be missed! I will definitely return to Belize and El Pescador.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent five days there...three of which involved fishing. This is the kind of rare experience where the angling, non-angling, or eco- traveler gets the finest levels of Swiss watch efficiency sweetened by endless courtesy. That quality is enriched by the presence of so many other assets like haute cuisine, dreamy Mayan-style accomodations, and a real family atmosphere !
I also caught all the bonefish, permit, and giant jacks i needed to satisfy that endless thirst. The fishing guides are efficient, superb, and very patient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, ID
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from a seven day fishing trip. I will be returning...food, service, accommodations, guides all outstanding. I've never been to a place where all employees remember your name (Mariano in the bar remembered our names after being on holiday for five days!). El Pescador is outstanding.

Room Tip: A/C in all rooms; all with view of reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and 24-year-old son just returned from El Pescador on Ambergris Caye in Belize, where they spent a blissful week fishing every day from the crack of dawn until sunset before returning to the hotel for a fantastic meal served family-style with the 60 or so other guests. There also seems to be an equal number of super-friendly staff in this family-owned resort.

Family is an operative word along with bonefish, tarpon and permit. Three generations of the hosts' family live on the property and so the feeling of a warm, extended family permeates El Pescador. While my husband and son were there, they met another father-son pair as well as vacationing brothers and a few families (the moms and daughters mainly shopped and took excursions to the Mayan ruins, etc). There is also excellent snorkeling and scuba diving.

There are 13 rooms in the main lodge and then eight, two-story, 3-bedroom, 3-bath villas that can be rented as 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. The villas have cathedral ceilings of Belizean hardwood and coral stone floors. The views are drop-dead spectacular.

Only two slight downsides to this particular trip: Neither male in my family got the Grand Slam of fishing (bonefish, permit and tarpon). They didn't even see any permit and my son let his lone tarpon torpedo away but they had great fun catching, shall we say, a boatload of bonefish? The only person to walk away with the Grand Slam last week was a professional fisherman so we can assume that says more about skill than the paucity of tarpon and permit around Ambergris Caye.

The other downside (again, slight) was the Internet service was spotty so it was several days before the guys got a chance to bike about 5 miles to an Internet bar on the beach where they (finally) let me know they arrived safely -- while downing conch fritters and Cervezas.

They take care of EVERYTHING at El Pescador from the moment you arrive in Belize City to the short flight to San Pedro and the water taxi to El Pescador. Excellent lunches are provided for the fishing days.

Room Tip: This is a great place to rent 3-bedroom, 3-bath villas for the whole family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.