We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly first-class island getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly first-class island getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff at El Pescador treat you like old friends the minute you arrive, even if it is your first visit. The location is beautiful and the fishing is outstanding. The service and food are great and our every need was anticipated and met with a smile. The accommodations are comfortable and there is so much to do in the area that we will certainly be back. The family-style dinners provide a casual atmosphere where you can meet some really interesting people from all over the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    31
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
123
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at El Pescador and are looking forward to our third! Day trips and other reservations are handled and executed effortlessly by staff who know your name. Family style meals are delicious (always 2 meat options at dinner and desserts to die for) and a great time to share experiences with other guests. The resort is quiet during the day as many are out fishing, with 3 pools at the resort we had one to ourselves! Happy hour is festive and the margaritas are the best on the island. Our villa had an ocean view, great beds, furnished deck with a hammock, a pitcher of water in the fridge and a 5 gallon dispenser as well. See you at El Pescador!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Coming from France after a very long trip, it was all worth it. We had an unforgettable stay at the El Pescador thanks to the owners, the staff and the fishing guides who have been extremely friendly and always eager to accommodate all our needs at any time . A very unusual and amazing high standard of service during the whole week. We travelled to many places in the world, but this one is very special and unique. This was my first trip accompanying my husband to a fly fishing place. As a fly fishing beginner, the Director of fishing, Lorri Ann Murphy largely contributed to make this stay a very memorable experience. I cannot say enough about her patience and precious advices during fly casting lessons. It was a real privilege to get to know this great and exceptional woman. Many, thanks to her. For those not interested in fly fishing, there are plenty of other activities to be enjoyed like bicycling, canoeing and diving.. . Last, the food was very good and served family style everyday allowing people to share their experiences of the day in a very convivial atmosphere. We will definitively plan another trip in the future to have the pleasure to see again all the wonderful El Pescador family! Marie A

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent a week at this lovely resort to celebrate my son's wedding to his wonderful bride. I cannot express enough gratitude to the facility and staff for making this an exceptional event.
From the arrival time of silly behavior to the formality of the beach-side wedding, El Pescador staff handled the diversity of our party with courteous finesse. Though I was not always party to the details, none of the guests mentioned any difficulties. Our primary reason for our trip was to celebrate a wedding. However, the fishing was spectacular.

Much of the credit is due to expert fly casting instruction of L.A. and our fishing Sensei Sinoe the Fish Whisperer. WIndy conditions proved to be a task to which our guide adapted our novice experience. I believe on our first day, we boated 21 bone after casting to......well, so many. "tck, tck tck". He even was able to put a bone fish on the fly to Laura who has only fly fished for trout, bass or pan fish on calm days. Reports around Mariano's Bar at El Pescador (excellent barkeep) showed that each guide was as adept to our ineptness.
The facillities are superb. The cuisine was unexpectedly wonderful, The dinning staff quite accommondating. How they remember each one's name and preferences is truly remarkable.
I am also an outfitter who runs a destination lodge. I highly recommend El Pescador as a destination for anyone who wishes to have a wonderful tropical fishing experience at a quality facility with phenomenal staff.

Thank you Chis and your Staff.

See you soon,
Tom and Laura

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have to say that the staff at El Pescador were absolutely amazing!! . They were able to accommodate almost 30 guests with ease. The food is top notch as well as the everyday experience of the lodge. We had a mixed group of anglers and non anglers and no one ever said that they felt like they had nothing to do. The extra trips that El Pescador arranged for us were just as great as the lodge( Zip lining and cave tubing). My wedding day was relaxed and stress free!! They made sure that everything was set up and ready, all i did was show up in a dress! We plan in coming back in the future knowing that they exceeded our expectations in every way!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I will definitely be planning another trip to visit El Pescador fishing lodge in the future! The staff was amazing and the lodge was perfect there is not one thing I would change! It was great while the boys would be out fishing there was plenty for the women to do!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at El Pescador for 5 days and would have stayed longer if we could have. First off the staff or "family" as they are referred are absolutely wonderful. Nothing can't be taken care of, any question can be asked. Judy and Marlin were so sweet and helpful and the owners and fishing staff were knowledgeable and always accessible.

The resort, while not glamourous, was very clean comfortable and beautiful. My husband and i used the complimentary bikes daily and rode up and down the beach and really did not see a resort that had all el pescador has to offer. Close enough to town (20 min bike ride) but private and secluded. The 3 pools are large and very nice and never crowded. We also took the complimentary kayaks out for a couples hours and got to weave in and out of the reef and observe a dolphin family.

Our room was in the main lodge, was clean and very comfortable. Again this isnt a high luxury hotel its about being outside doing things but regardless our rooms were great.

The FOOD!! We opted to go all inclusive and i would highly recommend it, the food is great. some of the other guests choose not to thinking they would go into town and then ended up eating all there meals at the resort. The breakfast menu and lunch menu were great, had everything you could want and they will cater to requests. Dinner, while it is set, changes every night and is amazing! You do eat dinner family style at a set time, but it was great to meet all the other guests (one night there were 50ppl and other nights 10) and make new friends. Knowing how accommodating the resort is im sure if you wanted to do a romantic thing im sure they'd help you work it out. The bar has everything, and while the inclusive package only includes local rums and beer, they bartenders have a fun cocktail menu and we were never tempted to get anything not on it. Green Caribbeans and Pain Killers!

My husband loved the fishing (bonefish), and while im not great at it, belize is so beautiful and they really cater to your level so we had a great time and spent the entire day out! Snorkeling was so much fun, the wildlife is really the highlight.

We were never bored, this place is great for families, couples or friend groups. You are so comfortable and feel at home, we never wanted to leave! We will be framing the fantastic painting we were given as a wedding present!

Room Tip: we were just 2 and got a rather large suite (2 bedrooms) so call and clarify. the villas are more se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Pescador Resort to your Saves list