We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property and warm, professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Pescador Resort to your Saves list
El Pescador Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great property and warm, professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family of 5 (3 sons aged 21,19, 15) spent the week of XMAS 2012 at El Pescador. We originally had planned to spend time in the jungle too but bug bites would have almost certainly been a problem for 2 of us - and we are so glad we relaxed at a single resort for 7 days. El Pescador was a perfect place for us - we were just the right level of "busy" but without the irritations that often come with trying to do things in touristy spots. The location and the setting of the property is something to behold - the water color, palm trees, walkable sandy beach and bike trails felt like paradise. We had a full moon while there and the night walks were wonderful. All the water-related activities take off from the El Pescador dock and were hassle free. We worked with the dive master, Alonzo, and spent three days getting scuba certified. Although we have nothing to compare it to directly, we are pretty sure it was the most pleasant way and location to run through the drills and skills that are required to get certified. We had an eel as our audience for the last round of skills - it tested our (well at least my!) ability to focus. Getting certified together was a great family experience. The resort is populated with a nice mix of interesting people who were for the most part participating in the many activities - there wasn't a 7am rush to put a towel on a pool chair to claim it for the day. That made the "off activity" days very pleasant as well. Our youngest son is a budding fly fisherman and had a great day learning tons from Emir in both the mangroves and the open water. And last but not least, the hotel staff is very warm, helpful and professional. They want you to have a nice visit and are actively engaged in making it happen. We like to continually hit new places in our adventures, but El Pescador will likely get a return visit from us!

Room Tip: We are used to putting our 3 teen boys in one room. They usually find ways to make it work fine. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    31
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
70
136
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We recently returned from an amazing stay at El Pescador. The people, the property, the food, the guides, the accommodations, the fishing, the other guests, the professionals, the owners, the dogs the commaraderie, all exceeded our expectations. From Ricardo who ferried us to the resort, to our greeting on the dock by Marlin, Judy and Marisette in the front office, Mariano in the bar/lounge, Raina in the dining room, Rosario in the massage room, Luis, Bud's fishing guide, Laurie Ann and Ed the most wonderful and accessible fishing professionals, Ali and Alonzo owners, Max & Nala happy dogs, and all the other family of employees who took care of us, cooked for us, waited on us, served us, brought us bikes or kayaks, made a repair, raked the beach, smiled and greeted us, it was a first class experience. If you are an angler, know an angler, love an angler or just like to hang out with anglers, this is the place to be. We couldn't be happier to have vacationed here. Even though I did not fish, from start to finish this was one of our best trips EVER! Thank you for creating such a wonderful and memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are comfortable, quiet and more than adequate, but if villa rooms are available t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a great time and the service was outstanding. Very nice facilities, great fishing - but without question the most personal staff. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were truly committed to our having a great time - which we did!

The Trash Barge 5

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great Fishing, excellent TOP notch staff and service, great food, overall excellent time. Great time, can't wait to go back, hopefully in May. We spent thanksgiving there and it was truly incredible.

Also, the fishing guides are amazing, and highly recommended! Go with Cesear, Tomas, or Emir! They know the water and know the fish!

Room Tip: Stay in the villa's! Great stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just home from 8th annual visit to Belize. El Pescador Resort on Ambergris Caye is an exceptional property. 1. It's all inclusive....or not. We opted for the full meal plan which also includes most bar items except Top Shelf brands imported from USA. 2. The food is fresh and fantastic. The grocery boat shows up every couple of days and the menus we enjoyed included: Fajitas, stone crab, filet mignon, BBQ ribs and, of course, locally caught fish and shrimp. This is what city folk call a "boutique" property: about a dozen rooms in the main lodge and six ocean front villas. We really enjoy the wonderful people we met here, while retaining a quiet, cozy atmosphere. No loud music! No drunken mobs of tourists! Like having your OWN beachfront hideaway......with three pools and a staff that WANTS to take GOOD care of you!
Most people go for the internationally famous sport fishing which is organized by a celebrated fishing expert who guides both in Wyoming and Belize. We go for the scuba operation which is equally as remarkable: maximum of 6 people per dive trip. The dive guide is a life-long pro and knows most of the fish by their first names. Thanks to his expertise, we've seen sharks, turtles, rays and every colorful fish imaginable. We've never found a more satisfying vacation experience.

Room Tip: Villas can be ONE three bed unit OR THREE individual units. UPPER VILLA has huge living room, fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I normally fish with my buddies but this time I decided to bring my wife instead. I was a little apprehensive since I had not been here before and most of my international fishing destinations were not really what my wife would enjoy. However, El pescador came through with flying colors and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was as good or better than any 5 star hotel we have stayed in. The food was much better than we expected and the room was plenty good and had a great a/c. (Something we were worried about). We also had good wifi access.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge and found the room to be all we needed. The villas are a little nicer bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I don't think I could possibly put in words what a GREAT place this is! Though their main attraction is the fly fishing it is an amazing place no matter what your aquatic interests are. We were there for a week and stayed in one of the villas. The nice thing about the villa is they are spacious, have a wonderful private balcony and have a full eat-in kitchen.
The staff is just amazing as well. They are so friendly! They know everyone by name! They are a wealth of knowledge as well and are always more than happy to answer questions or give suggestions about things to see and do in Belize. Marlin and Judy in the main office are just the sweetest ladies I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and set a very high standard for customer service. Raquel gives an amazing massage that will put anyone in the right frame of mind for their vacation...she also does wonderful pedicures in your room-what a treat!
The location of El Pescador is also perfect. (I swear I am not just an overly enthusiastic person-this place really is this good!). The resort is located in a nice quiet section of the island which allows for complete peace and serenity but is still close enough to town so that you may get there easily if desired.
We had a great time and I would recommend El Pescador to anyone who is looking for a peaceful Caribbean vacation in an environment that feels warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Villas are private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Pescador Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.