We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible property and an incredible value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
El Pescador Resort
Save Saved
You added El Pescador Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Incredible property and an incredible value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just home from 8th annual visit to Belize. El Pescador Resort on Ambergris Caye is an exceptional property. 1. It's all inclusive....or not. We opted for the full meal plan which also includes most bar items except Top Shelf brands imported from USA. 2. The food is fresh and fantastic. The grocery boat shows up every couple of days and the menus we enjoyed included: Fajitas, stone crab, filet mignon, BBQ ribs and, of course, locally caught fish and shrimp. This is what city folk call a "boutique" property: about a dozen rooms in the main lodge and six ocean front villas. We really enjoy the wonderful people we met here, while retaining a quiet, cozy atmosphere. No loud music! No drunken mobs of tourists! Like having your OWN beachfront hideaway......with three pools and a staff that WANTS to take GOOD care of you!
Most people go for the internationally famous sport fishing which is organized by a celebrated fishing expert who guides both in Wyoming and Belize. We go for the scuba operation which is equally as remarkable: maximum of 6 people per dive trip. The dive guide is a life-long pro and knows most of the fish by their first names. Thanks to his expertise, we've seen sharks, turtles, rays and every colorful fish imaginable. We've never found a more satisfying vacation experience.

Room Tip: Villas can be ONE three bed unit OR THREE individual units. UPPER VILLA has huge living room, fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    31
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
129
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I normally fish with my buddies but this time I decided to bring my wife instead. I was a little apprehensive since I had not been here before and most of my international fishing destinations were not really what my wife would enjoy. However, El pescador came through with flying colors and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was as good or better than any 5 star hotel we have stayed in. The food was much better than we expected and the room was plenty good and had a great a/c. (Something we were worried about). We also had good wifi access.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge and found the room to be all we needed. The villas are a little nicer bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I don't think I could possibly put in words what a GREAT place this is! Though their main attraction is the fly fishing it is an amazing place no matter what your aquatic interests are. We were there for a week and stayed in one of the villas. The nice thing about the villa is they are spacious, have a wonderful private balcony and have a full eat-in kitchen.
The staff is just amazing as well. They are so friendly! They know everyone by name! They are a wealth of knowledge as well and are always more than happy to answer questions or give suggestions about things to see and do in Belize. Marlin and Judy in the main office are just the sweetest ladies I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and set a very high standard for customer service. Raquel gives an amazing massage that will put anyone in the right frame of mind for their vacation...she also does wonderful pedicures in your room-what a treat!
The location of El Pescador is also perfect. (I swear I am not just an overly enthusiastic person-this place really is this good!). The resort is located in a nice quiet section of the island which allows for complete peace and serenity but is still close enough to town so that you may get there easily if desired.
We had a great time and I would recommend El Pescador to anyone who is looking for a peaceful Caribbean vacation in an environment that feels warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Villas are private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is not your typical fishing camp. The accommodations are much better. If your significant other is not a fisher-person but enjoys sunning and snorkeling they would be very happy here. They have a fresh and a saltwater pool.

If you are looking for a grand slam you have a good shot at it here. We caught plenty of Bonefish and tried for many Tarpon. Some other guests also went out for Permit and saw quite a few, but were not lucky enough to hook one.

My stay was all inclusive and the food was excellent, well prepared and local. It was a great treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent accommodations and food. Absolutely outstanding staff. I had four wonderful days of guided fishing, and my wife and I kayaked, canoed, and hiked. The guides were patient and helpful and put us on many fish, and the fishing director gave outstanding casting sessions. All of the staff knew our names and likes and accommodated all our needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weeki wachee fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Want to be treated like long-time friends, catch fish every day and enjoy fine food and tropical cocktails visit El Pescador. From the airport pickup to the front desk and the dining room staff everyone is dialed into your needs.

Enjoy a bottle of Belikan on the quick water taxi to the dock where Judy or Marlin will greet you like they have known you forever.

The bonefish are plentiful, tarpon evasive and the permit elusive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My Bride and I wanted a fishing/tropical vacation. Ok, I wanted the fishing part but having done the reserach knew that El Pescador and it's location on Ambergris Caye would fit the bill. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Ricardo the wonderful airport shuttle guy who immediately makes you feel very welcome. We were also greeted by some windy conditions. For a fly fisherman, wind is not so good. I can honestly say that everyone from the owner to the staff/guides/maintenance people is welcoming, sharp and very accommodating. The fishing was tough but my guide, Alex did a fantastic job of working tirelessly to get me shots. The litmus test was my wife but even as a non fisher-person she loved the resort and also wants to return. Many thanks to everyone at El Pescador for helping create great memories for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beachfront Villa and loved it. Checked out the rooms in the lodge and liked those as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.