We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pescador Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pescador Resort
Save
You added El Pescador Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fishing Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I were greeted at the San Pedro airport by a member of the El Pescador staff who transferred our bags to a boat at a nearby dock. After providing us with a couple "cold ones", he took us on a 10 minute boat ride up the coast to the lodge where other staff members took our bags to our room. We booked this trip through Orvis so I knew our accomodations would be great and we weren't disappointed. The private villa we stayed in was huge! It had a large balcony that overlooked one of 3 pools and the beach. The villa had a huge kitchen and living room area which was nice to mix cocktails and lounge around in after a long day on the flats fishing. That evening Steve, the manager, who happened to be a former resident of Pittsburgh, explained the fishing itinerary as well as dinnig and other information. Dinner is served family style which is nice as long as the guests you end up sitting with have similar interests. We eneded up getting stuck with a group the first evening that were there on vacation to scuba and unfortunately lost our interests. The dinner meals were ok but on 2 of the 3 nights we stayed they had Mexican buffet which isn't our favorite. The beef fillets the last night were more to our liking. Breakfast at El Pescador is wonderful. The kitchen staff are very accomodating and will fix you a great breakfast. The first day I fished alone so I could see whether my wife, who has only fly fished once before, would get along. My guide was Tomas, a long time native and guide of the area. The first day's fishing was great from the standpoint of seeing and getting shots at fish. Tomas provided me with lots of shots at Bonefish, which I managed to land 10 - 12. I also got a few shots at Permit which I blew because of my inaccurate casts. Tomas was teasing me that I casted like a "Gringo". It was a long day because I was the only fisherman in the boat. I was glad to get back to the lodge and rest my weary arm. My wife had a wonderful time lounging around the pool, taking walks on the beach, and receiving casting lessons from Lori-Ann. The second day was special. My wife caught her first Bonefish and I got to rest my sore arm. Tomas put plenty of beer in the cooler and took us on a beautiful ride through a winding canal that separates mexico and Belize and was hand cut by the Mayans hundreds of years ago. Our last dinner evening was more enjoyable as we sat with a couple of real fly fishing characters who provided us with some great stories. My wife got her Bonefishing pin which was also a treat. The fly shop and the outdoor bar are also very nice. If you like to have cocktails early in the day, make sure you have some in your room because the bar doesn't open till 2:00 PM. The gift shop has a great selection of shirts, caps, and other apparel. In summation, the staff was very accomodating and friendly; the accomodations were wonderful although the bathrooms (2 in the villas) were a little small; The dinners were ok but I would rather have more selection; The numbers of fish, including Permit are great; the size of the Bonefish are grenerally smaller than the Bahamas; I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    33
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
84
154
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, England.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was my second visit to El Pescador, I went with a friend the first time and it was so good that I have just taken my wife and 15yr old daughter Georgina. We had the most amazing time, the staff were great, very friendly and welcoming. We normally holiday in Mallorca and this is so different, the resort, the fishing, the wildlife were all fantastic, it really is paradise, have a watch of my preview film at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_5HF2pRjUA to give you a flavour of the place. We are already booking for next year, love it and lovely people. It you want to experience something a little different but still in comfort and be taken well care of......book it......NOW

Room Tip: We stayed in a private villa this time on the beach that sleeps 6 in three double bedrooms, rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The major focus of El Pescador's activities revolve around fishing, predominantly fly fishing. That being said, this is no 'fish camp'. I found the staff to be exceptional, the food outstanding, the general environs very pleasant, and the facility to be very clean. The only thing I would advise prospective guests is that the villas at El Pescador are superior to the lodge rooms, especially the lodge rooms on the first floor. There, you tend to pickup noises from upstairs. But, that is the only negative consideration that we encountered on our trip. Our guide, Emir, was outstanding and able to put us on fish during a few days of difficult fishing conditions. Lori-Ann, El Pescador's Director of Fishing, brings great value to the equation by offering helpful assistance to anglers and generally makes you feel at home. Mariano makes the best mango coladas in the Carribean.
Steve is always there to offer assistance with whatever you need. Jim always made us comfortable at dinner. Hmmmm....get the picture? We came to know many members of the staff who were all outstanding. We did not participate in any underwater activities, but after visiting with Alonzo we are confident that there are plenty of opportunities for excellent snorkeling or diving. A nice pool overlooks the beachfront. The whole experience made us feel 'special' during our stay. Accordingly, we're looking at a return trip next year.

Room Tip: Stay away from 1st floor lodge rooms. Go for the villas first and second floor lodge rooms second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my experiences at El Pescador. Staff were professional, friendly and ever willing to go the extra mile. Fishing guides were outstanding. Access to Mayan ruins, the reef and other adventures was easy. Food was outstanding. Rates very reasonable. All in all, I will be back.

Room Tip: All of them are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Everyone at El Pescador was helpful and friendly. I was unsure of fishing for 4 days but it was such a wonderful experience I would go back again. The food was excellent and the entire staff went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed

Room Tip: We chose a villa that had an ocean view. It was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Although primarily a fishing lodge, the resort was an incredibly wonderful choice for our family's spring break. We were traveling with a 10 and 13 year old and found the staff attentive, helpful and very accomodating. We did not use the lodge's meal plan but joined in for 2 of the night's and several breakfasts- we all enjoyed our meal as well as meeting other traveler's during the family style dining. My son and I do not eat seafood and were still very satisfied with meals. The breakfasts were my kids' favorite meals - I've never seen them eat so much. For a family visiting there were many fun activities. The hotel recommended a fisherman Captain Jerry who took us out for a full day of fishing, snorkeling, and a meal on the beach ( our earlier catch!). Definitely look him up if traveling here. Other activities included biking to San Pedro ( kid size bikes were made available), kayaking to the reef and swimming off of the pier. The kids also enjoyed the salt water pools. For any supplies, a short walk to a nearby resort sundries store made everything available from soda to Kraft Mac and cheese.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a very well run lodge that makes sure guests are comfortable and having a good time. It's not just for fishermen! They offer access to diving, snorkeling , sailing, kayaking, biking etc. Best of all, they have these delicious family style dinners where guests can dine together if they choose! They are tons of fun! The staff here is over the top friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.5 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.0 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
0.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador Resort

Address: PO Box 17 | 2.6 miles north, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pescador Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pescador’s beachfront lodge and villas are situated on over 45 private acres with ambiance, specializing in fishing, diving and eco-adventures. We are family-owned and operated with emphasis on creating camaraderie and an authentic Belizean experience. El Pescador is proud of our philosophy to protect and nurture friendship, adventure and the environment. El Pescador has long been known as a world-class fishing destination offering outstanding flats fishing for bonefish, tarpon and permit. El Pescador has been the only resort on Ambergris Caye specializing in saltwater flats fishing since 1974. Since coming under new ownership in 1997, the resort has established itself as an eco-friendly tropical getaway, including a commitment to offset all carbon emissions generated by its guests flying to Belize. Donations are made on behalf of guests to a local Belizean non-profit organization, Green Reef Environmental Educational and Coastal Research Institute, to offset the carbon emissions used to travel to Belize. El Pescador was also among the key organizations to implement the new Law protecting bonefish, tarpon and permit as catch and release species. This is the most all encompassing legislation of its kind worldwide. It is great news for Belizeans, anglers, tourists and conservationists alike. El Pescador is a serene and gracious establishment on the doorstep of the world’s largest living Barrier Reef. El Pescador offers accommodations in guest rooms within its colonial style, mahogany main lodge, as well as in 1, 2, and 3 bedroom luxury beachfront villas. The villas are perfect accommodations for couples seeking romance and privacy, and for families and small groups traveling together. All rooms and villas are beachfront and have unobstructed views of the Caribbean blue waters. In addition to unequaled fishing, this first-rate resort offers all the eco-adventures which take full advantage of Belize’s exotic flora and fauna. Scuba diving, snorkeling, manatee watching, cave-tubing and zip-lining, and Maya archaeological explorations are just a small assortment of the activities available while staying at El Pescador. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pescador Hotel San Pedro
El Pescador San Pedro
El Pescador Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pescador Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.