We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL REEF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hol Chan Marine Reserve

Hol Chan Marine Reserve
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
634-6731
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Belize Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray...
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful nature reserve is in an area world famous for its excellent diving.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL REEF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I didn't like that we had to "stick with" the guides, but I suppose that is what keeps the reef so pretty! So we chose to go out by ourselves with a guide (not a group) before the crowds and THAT WAS AMAZING!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,406
    470
    123
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snorkelling at HolChan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Snorkelling trip with friends. They dive so we were above them snorkelling. The water was warm and clear, lots of marine life, from nurse sharks, turtles, rays and many fish. Even say some lobsters.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Saw Sea Turtles, Moray eels, Nurse sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, grouper, snapper, countless coral and reef fish species. Swimming with the sharks was amazing. I would totally visit Hol Chan again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

There were more people than we expected at the site, but it was the best snorkeling ever! Variety of marine life was amazing. It is also a great spot for all skill levels.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A true snorkeling must while visiting San Pedro. Hol Chan holds many visual treasures including sea turtles, sharks, huge spotted rays and an abundance of other marine life!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hol Chan Marine Reserve also viewed

 
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hol Chan Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hol Chan Marine Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.