We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swam with turtles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hol Chan Marine Reserve

Hol Chan Marine Reserve
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Belize Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray...
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in San Pedro
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful nature reserve is in an area world famous for its excellent diving.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Swam with turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My first experience scuba diving, and I got to swim with turtles! It doesn't get better than that. Lots of gorgeous fish and colorful coral to round out the dive. Decided to do continue on and get my Padi after such an amazing dive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,839
    365
    97
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved the snorkeling. My only "complaint" would be that you had to stay with a guide the entire time snorkeling which meant staying with a group the whole time. Guide was able to point things out but difficult to have a group stay together and all try to see the same thing...different levels of swimmers too which plays a part.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing amount of fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you're a snorkeler, or a diver who wants to snorkel the day before your flight, this is a great spot to see a wide variety or fish, along with turtles and eagle rays. There is a strong current though, so be careful, and try to be with a smaller group.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sea turtles, green moray eels and parrot fish at your fingertips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went on guided snorkle tour with Suya Tours and the guide was wonderful at finding the animals and describing them to the group.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Snorkle trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went with Tuff Enuff tours and James and Ashton were awesome guides. James made sure my wife was comfortable in the water and made sure to make it both educational and fun for both of us. I loved seeing the eight sea turtles, the grey spotted ray, and all the fish, we then went to Shark Ray Alley and swam with Nurse Sharks and Sting Rays, which was by far the best snorkleing trip I have done.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hol Chan Marine Reserve also viewed

 
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Hol Chan Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hol Chan Marine Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.