We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Snorkelling Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hol Chan Marine Reserve

Hol Chan Marine Reserve
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
634-6731
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Belize Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray...
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful nature reserve is in an area world famous for its excellent diving.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Snorkelling Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were a group of 4 adults ages 52 - 67 on a snorkelling tour of Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley. We used Nano Guerrero, Tour Guide, for our outing. He has a glass bottom boat which allowed us to view fish and other sea creatures as we cruised along in the water. Awesome!

Nano was informative and charismatic, making sure we had a splendid snorkelling adventure. This was by far the best one I ever had. The snorkelling equipment seemed new and was very clean. Nano made sure we were wearing the masks appropriately for optimum viewing.

I would definately recommend doing this tour. We saw hundreds of fish, many sharks, sting rays, and even a few turtles. Whenever I go back to San Pedro, this tour is definately a must for me to do again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,406
    470
    123
    26
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful protected place to scuba dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went diving here with a small group of people several years ago. It is a great place to go diving - lots of fish and sea life to see. I will say that the cruise ships bring TONS of people here to go snorkeling. I would NOT want to be in the water snorkeling with all of those bodies! They dumped off a bunch while we were there. I looked up from the bottom and it looked like a sea of boiling bodies above us! That is NOT my idea of fun! Crowded and bumping into each other?! No way! I prefer to stay under the water and avoid all that! Highly recommend this dive site. It is worth a visit - UNDER the water! ;-)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“#1 place to snorkel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great snorkeling with the nurse sharks! Can be a bit scary at first with a big shark coming at you, but once you realize there is no danger it's a great experience! You can go with a group from one of the scuba places or hire a local with their own boat to snorkel and then do other things.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tours here by Suya Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fantastic sea life, playing manta rays, nurse sharks, multitudes of fish in larger than life color... A great experience, several times. We snorkeled and scuba -dived. Our guides were fantastic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Sharks, rays, turtles, plenty of fish. Great snorkelling trip! Definitely worth it. Most operators do the same thing at the same place so it doesn't matter who you go with.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hol Chan Marine Reserve also viewed

 
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hol Chan Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hol Chan Marine Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.