We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hol Chan Marine Reserve

Hol Chan Marine Reserve
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
634-6731
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Belize Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray...
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful nature reserve is in an area world famous for its excellent diving.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Diving or snorkeling on the Belizian Reef is fantastic. The Hol Chan snorkeling trips are to one crowded spot, though. It's better to go to one of the dozens of other sites that are just a beautiful and not overrun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,397
    469
    123
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snorkling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautifull but a bit crowded..Snorkling is the best, to my point of view. Diving is worse it if you go to the blue hole

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful snorkelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Busy day when we visited - lots of different tourist boats moored in the area. However, it was the first time I've ever swam with turtles - great!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great trip with Alfonso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wonderful swimming with rays and sharks! Alfonso ensured we had a safe and fun trip, particularly looking after our 6 year old.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We scuba dived this sight and loved it. It is an exceptionally easy dive and close to Ambergris Caye. The sea life was outstanding and easily my favorite dive off that Caye. My favorite sightings were the sea turtle, parrot fish, conches, and the rays. It was beautiful. Take advantage of it while you can.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hol Chan Marine Reserve also viewed

 
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hol Chan Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hol Chan Marine Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.