We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snorkeling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hol Chan Marine Reserve

Hol Chan Marine Reserve
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
634-6731
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hol Chan Marine Reserve like an insider
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Belize Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray...
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful nature reserve is in an area world famous for its excellent diving.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“snorkeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was nice snorkeling, but Hol Chan can be pretty crowded. Might be less crowded earlier in the day? We had a great time though. Went with Romon's, where we were staying. Other outfits might be less expensive.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,187
    435
    116
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The reserve was so nice was so much marine life right there in front of your eye's, also saw dolphins playing with their young was an awesome experience first time snorkeling.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aweed125
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lil' alfonse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went with Lil' Alfonse to Hol Chan and Shark and Ray Alley. Excellent guide and small group (only six in our boat, compared with other crowded guide boats that we saw). We learned a ton and had a great time!! I highly recommend booking with him.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Snorkel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We snorkeled here as part of a tour with SEArious Adventures. There's lots of beautiful marine life to see. If you have a guided tour, you will learn all about the different types of fish, coral, etc in.

Make sure you bring an underwater camera so you don't miss out on some great photo ops here!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Most awesome snorkeling in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This water is so clear and there are so many fish it is almost impossible to take it all in. Immediately upon entering the water I saw a moray ell. In all my snorkeling adventures I have never seen one before...even in Hawaii! The corral is amazing. Make sure you take a water proof camera.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hol Chan Marine Reserve also viewed

Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Hol Chan Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hol Chan Marine Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.