We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Palm Villas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Inn to your Saves list
Royal Palm Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Palm Inn
South Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Royal Palm Villas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We just returned from our trip to Belize and had a wonderful time.
M&M Rentals helped us coordinate our vacation and everything
went perfectly. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
We are already looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

PROS: We had just spent a month in Mexico (medium quality accomodations) prior to Royal Palms and we were very pleased with the condo and grounds. The gardener for the grounds has done a superb job. Such that I commended him every time I saw him! The pool is GREAT! Condo had most everything we needed. We had wifi available which was nice. Great snorkeling and fishing "IF" you hire a boat to take you there.
.
CONS:There were no smoking signs in the condo ( we do not smoke anyhow) but the place reeked of smoke and we found well used ashtrays under the sink. Our clothes even smelled of cigarretes from being in the dresser drawers. We spent a week at 3c (ground floor unit) and met the next door neighbors who were great and from Canada. We spent $150 a night for ours and these people paid $900 for a month for an identical place! I believe they had to pat utilities as well but still they paid for a month about what we paid for a week. There was 1 roll of TP and 1 (small) bar of soap in the shower, no dish soap, and the water cooler was empty. We called Paul (rental manger) and was told we needed to purchase that stuff on our own. We have stayed at probably over 20 different condos in the past and those items were always provided. Oh well, just a few more $'s. Beds were OK comfort. 2 full size beds, We prefer to sleep together. KInd of a bummer.

ALL IN ALL: The place was very comfortable and we had a great time, we were both disapointed in the ocean and beaches as the water was very muddy and weedy. We never did ger to swim in the carribean from shore. We did a snorkle trip to Mexico rocks that was outsatnding! Did a fishing trip and caught some nice bone fish and a few BIG baracudda. Had a good time! If we ever went back I would attempt to negotiate a better price next time or we will stay some where else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Just returned from a week at the Royal Palm. It was a great facility. This facility is managed by the Belize Yacht Club, which was not so nice, nor did they seem to care about any of our problems at this property. It took us 24 hours to get in! When you check in late on a Saturday and things weren't too organized.

Our accommodations were very nice, however, some of our neighbors didn't have such a good experience. The condo was very spacious and nicely furnished. Spent a lot of time at the pool. Very nice, large with comfortable cushy chairs. Unfortunately, it was extremely windy the week we were there so we spent a lot of time at the pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at the Royal Palm Beach Club in Belize which we booked through our timeshare exchange company. Although the people of San Pedro may bring us back to Belize we will not be staying at the Royal Palm again. It was obvious that the focus of attention was on the property occupied by permanent residents and the timeshare properties were an afterthought. The furnishings in our unit were adequate but dirty. A fully equipped kitchen is not a necessity during a vacation stay, however what was available was sparse, dirty and some items were obviously beyond their usable life. One of our first trips was to the store to buy cleaning supplies for the bathroom, won't even venture to quess at when the last time it had really been cleaned. The information provided by Royal Palm to our timeshare exchange company indicated that the resort had water skiiing, wind surfing, scuba diving, fishing, telephone and a restaurant, we did not see any of the activities at the resort, there is no restaurant on site and there are no telephones in the rooms, there may be a telephone in the office, however the office is frequently closed. In fact during our stay the office on site was permantly closed a few days after we checked in, there was no posting at the office to indicate it was closed or where (place / phone number) someone could be reached. My husband and I continued to persevere, take in what Belize and the people of Belize had to offer when the Royal Palm had one more surprise for us. We were required to pay a utilities surcharge upon arrival, however the electric service was shut off the later half of our stay, only to find out the resort did not pay the electric bill. We may be back to Belize but we won't be back to the Royal Palm.

  • Liked — Quiet Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed at the Royal Palm Club with some friends who own a time share there, we were also there in 1998 and it was quite a different experience. There is not a restaurant or bar as before. They seem to be catering to the permanent resident condo folks. There are no phones in the rooms, dishes are sparse. The front desk is sometimes occupied, sometimes not and closes at 5:00. There are no onsite facilities for Diving etc.The property is kept up and the pool is nice as well. If you want a quiet place to stay and nothing else, this would be Ok.

  • Liked — Quiet no crowds
  • Disliked — No onsite amenities
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Royal Palms is a no-frills resort but don't take that as a negative - it just depends on what you are looking for. We wanted to sample all the restaurants and bars in town so the lack of a restaurant and bar on-site was not a bad thing. We bought fresh fruit and food in town to have for breakfast (there is a kitchen in each unit). Hands-down the best swimming pool on Ambergris Caye and the grounds are very well maintained, the staff was always friendly (Jennifer is wonderful) and beyond helpful (our travel plans put us there a few hours after the check-in time expired and they had someone there to meet us), we always felt very safe in the room and on the grounds and had no theft issues at all, the housekeeping was great - she came every other day and did a great job. The pool-front rooms seem more nice than the rooms on the outsides but many owners live there for several week at a time and personalize those condos. The rooms aren't lavish, plumbing a bit questionable, rooms could severely use an update but were very clean. It all depends on what you are looking for. Good location (get a golf cart if you don't want to walk the 2 miles into town), great view of the water, short 25 steps to the beach and we even saw rays swim under the dock. I would definitely return.

  • Liked — The pool, the staff, the grounds, the location
  • Disliked — Outdated rooms, questionable plumbing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendora, nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Do not go to the Royal Palm Beach Club, San Pedro, Belize.

We booked thru our time share - unfortunately for us it had yet to be rated.

The resort was a total abomintion. The room was filthy, bathroom filthy, smelled so bad of mildew that we smelled that way the next morning. Utelsils, (actually there were plastic forks in the drawer ??) pots and pans and dishes would have to be washed before you could use them. The sponge that was left for us to use was old and filthy. There is no in room safe or hotel safe - the security is a board in the sliding glass door. If this resort were in the US it would be closed by the board of health. It had not one redeeming factor.

We moved out the very next morning.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Inn

Address: South Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Specialty lodging in San Pedro
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel San Pedro
Royal Palm Inn Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.