We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definately be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas At Banyan Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villas At Banyan Bay to your Saves list
Villas At Banyan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We will definately be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed at Banyan Bay with our two boys (12 & 9) for a week. We are all in agreement that this was our best vacation ever. Banyan Bay was perfect. We stayed in an beachfront unit. The property was very clean, units were spacious and everyone was very helpful and kind. We ate at Rico's quite a bit and really enjoyed it. The employees there was also qreat. I cannot think of anything that I would change. I am trying to figure out how soon we can get back to San Pedro and Banyan Bay!

  • Liked — The staff, location, and cleanliness.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    90
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
116
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

This is a great resort for those scuba diving fanatics such as I am. Located on the beach along the second largest barrier reef in the world, the local reefs are as little as five minutes boat ride from the resort's dock. The resort's concessionaire dive shop, Bottom Time, is highly accommodating. The staff could conveniently arrange your dive trips - from local reefs to Blue Hole. The shop also offers topside activities from ziplining to trips to Lamanai or Altun Ha ruins.

The Villas at Banyan Bay's staff is friendly, accommodating, and easily makes you feel at home and welcome. The 2-bedroom unit has a full kitchen and a jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. Daily maid service is always available. The two-level pool, although not very big, is a nice feature. The staff grooms the beach every morning.

Whether you're a diver(s) or vacationing with the family, this resort is simply among the very best in Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I had our wedding at The Villas at Banyan Bay last month, and it was fabulous! The property is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and attentive. We had a large group and everyone raved about the vacation! Banyan Bay is unique in that the property consists of condos, rather than hotel rooms, so you have the added convenience of having a kitchen to prepare meals and snacks, and there is a grocery store less than 5 minutes from the property. Also, there is a dive shop on site that is very accommodating, and the snorkeling and SCUBA diving is excellent! I would recommend The Villas at Banyan Bay and Ambergris Caye to anyone looking for a quaint and relaxing beach vacation away from the highly commercialized resorts of Mexico.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

We have just spent the most wonderful seven days at The Banya Bay Resort. This is our second visit to the Resort. The management and staff gave the best service I have ever experience in my travels.

We were in San Pedro for my nephew's wedding. The wedding planners were exceptional and everything went off smoothly even when we started the ceremony before the wedding planners were ready. The beach area was a spetacular turquoise with guests being bathed by the lovely carribean breeze!

The resort went to great lenghts to accomodate our every wish. I bet we were a royal pain. They never let on if we were. Our 2 bedroom suite, with a view of the sea was nicely appointed and very clean. The staff came daily to spruce-up and leave as many towels as we needed. Beach Towels were fluffy and nice.

Rico's Grill. Good food, great view and the best staff in town. Wait staff was friendly and accomodating. Fresh Orange juice was not always available but when it was, I was the first to know.
There Rice and Beans with Stew Chicken was one of the best on the Island. So was their grilled snapper. By the way, the fried beans and fried jacks (Sopapillas) were the best at breakfast.

Even when all the Golf Carts were being rented on the Island we could always get one from the front desK.

I wanted to sent out a special thanks to one of the Housekeeping staff, a charming, lovely ,black woman who hailed from Honduras. She first caught my attention when I was scaring my wife and mother-in-law with an Iguana in a Tree, (an inhabitant who roamed around the complex freely, sometimes surprising the guest). The Housekeeper quickly told us that they were good eating and then rattled off a rice and coconut recipe to cook the ugly iguana with. She made our day.

This same staff member was responsible for cleaning the room my niece's Family had rented. On their final day, they checked out about 11:00Am for a water taxi trip back to Belize City. Fortunately they stuck around for brunch and a last dip in the water. Our new found friend came looking for us all over the complex. She had been cleaning the room and found my nieces wedding rings on the bed. My niece is still in shock and we are grateful.

Some key personel we want to thank. Cynthia Rabateau for her charm and attentive demeanor. Sharon Boyd for being our special English host with a no-hassel sales tacticsand Manuel at Rico's Bar and Grill. To the owners of Banyan Bay, thaks for creating a marvelous experience. This place is tops!!

Jay H Cruz

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Whether you're a diver or not, this is one of the best places in the world to relax and enjoy the hospitality of San Pedro and the phenomenon know as 'Island time.' Banyan Bay has the best beach on the island and, when you're finished with the beach, the pool is just steps away. The rooms are very clean and extremely comfortable - plenty of space for a family to relax and not be constantly on top of each other. We really enjoy having a full kitchen in the unit - that allows us more options for dining at a smaller expense. There are a couple of grocery shops within a block of the resort so picking up snacks or something to cook for breakfast is easy, easy, easy. The staff at the resort is the friendliest we've found anywhere - from the front desk to the landscaping crew to the sales team - once you've checked in, you're like family. Everyone is checking to make sure your stay on their island is fantastic - and no one makes you feel unwelcome. We stay at Banyan Bay every year and if we could figure out a way, we'd move there!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Banyanbay is a beautiful resort close to San Pedro in Belize. On an island just off the Barrier Reef, it's a wonderful place for relaxation, great food, and outstanding scuba diving and snorkeling.
The quaint town has a cheerful ambiance, friendly people and helpful hints from the home folk.
The resort is located on a white sand beach with loungers set along the shore for your afternoon siesta, or a quiet place to sit and wile away the time with a good book, or quiet talk with your love.
The two story complex comes with fully equipped condos, large carved wooden beds and air conditioning to make you comfortable.
A beautiful pool is in the centre of the buildings, with different water
depths to suit all ages.
The staff take a special interest in your well being and will help with any requests that you may have, including stocking your fridge before you arrive, so you can fully enjoy your time there.
The scuba diving is second to none, with a dive shop on the premises to help equip you, or arrange for lessons with a top rated dive master.
I could go on and on about this wonderful resort - I've been back three times, with intensions of going back many more. It just keeps getting better and better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

My wife and I picked this hotel for our destination wedding. On the beach, an aisle of flowers laid on the sand for her to walk down, we said our vows inches from the tide.

Banyan Bay is a fine place to stay. The villas are large 2 or 3 bedroom suites with fully modern appliances, very clean, and with well-maintained and attractive decor. The small dive shop is expertly run by a woman (her name escapes me) who knows numerous tour guides on the mainland and will set you up with a nice custom trip with a few phone calls. The restaurant has fine lunch and dinner fare. The property itself has a sizeable amount of beachfront, in contrast to most other Caribbean-fronted hotels south of the San Pedro River, and is within walking distance of the charming San Pedro town.

We've stayed here twice and would do so again on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas At Banyan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas At Banyan Bay

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas At Banyan Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villas At Banyan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Villas At Banyan Bay Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas At Banyan Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.