We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another trip to Belize” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas At Banyan Bay

Save Saved
You added Villas At Banyan Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas At Banyan Bay
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
granbur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another trip to Belize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed at Banyon Bay 5 times in the last 11 years. We've travel to almost the full lenghth of Ambergise Caye. From almost any point of view, Banyon Bay is the most convenient to town, to restaurants, stores and shops, it is not overly priced and you get a great place for your vacation and for what you will spend. You are close to a nice restaurant [Ricos]. Convenient to the airport. A few steps to the pool and a few more to the ocean and Ricos. You don't need a golf cart unless you really want to explore the island. For a few bucks, there are 'taxis' that will take you almost every where. If you want to meet the locals, start walking into town. Really quickly, a passing golf cart will offer you a ride. Have a nice chat with a local and they tell you who to go fishing with, etc

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    85
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
106
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Cape May, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just got back from two weeks at Bayan Bay. I don't know how the trip could have been any better. Rooms where very clean nice job Juanita .Lee and all the people at the front desk where very helpful as well. We walked most places fresh fruit stand right out the front door was real nice
and the new bakery that just opened right around the corner was hard to beat. Walking into town
if you keep the gas station on your right and continue straight up that street there is a little place called J&A's that had great food at a great price they also have a papaya milkshake that will curl your toes. Now to the meat and potatoes of the trip my son and I landed over 200 fish in two weeks.27 Tarpon to 90lbs 17 Snook to 25lbs Bonefish stopped counting after 20 biggest 4lbs most much smaller. My boy did get his first on the fly. The bulk of the fish came from our half day reef trip with Ramon Guenerro .Non stop drop and reel. We kept a few of the larger snappers. Just enough for a barbeque back at Banyan Bay on a grill that the office supplied. Talk about fresh. Multiple jacks, ladyfish and barracuda, rounded out the total. So if your looking for a place where your wife can sit by the pool and you can take a short walk and catch Tarpon from shore may I suggest Villas at Banyan Bay you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The entire staff from the front desk to the grounds crew are top notch and very friendly. Our room was cleaned everyday and well maintained. The resort is old and the rooms are not real modern, some caulking in the bathroom could use some attention, just small things like that. The pool area is not very large but lots of loungers with shade and clean. We used the pool everyday and had a great time. The swim up bar was not open as I think it was the slow season. We used the kitchen each day and it was well stocked with utensils and a blender, toaster, coffee machine and microwave. Air conditioning worked well and the only day it broke the maintainance people fixed it very quickly. The cab to town was convenient, it is to far to walk to town but there are a couple of small grocery stores very close and a bakery.

We were there on a time share exchange and the only complaint was they charged us $300.00 US Dollars for electricity, it was called utility fee. I don't see that mentioned in any of the other reviews so maybe they just saw us coming and took advantage of us.

There is no fitness center. The beach area is good and well kept.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view on the lower level. Nice sitting area. The pool view rooms would be nice also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. For our family they have everything we wanted. Nice rooms, nice pool which was not crowded, very friendly staff and good location. It was a easy golf cart ride into town or anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at Banyon Bay for 4 nights. The first morning we woke to water dripping from the ceiling of our upstairs unit. Turns out the air conditioning unit located in the attic was leaking. The staff immediately came and took care of the problem and moved us to another unit when we asked. The property could benefit from a little more maintenance and updating. It is a time share property versus a full service hotel so there are few amenities. Our unit had a nice view of the pool & an impaired view of the water, but backed up to the road.

One the positive side, the staff was friendly and responsive to all our needs. The pool is very nice and there is a dock out to the water. It is close to town. The Rio Grill, their restaurant/bar on the beach, is quiet. Even though there were few people in the restaurant, service was on Belize time, as in slow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

To me the biggest compliment I can give a hotel is if I'd stay again. And in this case I would definitely return. We just returned from a week at Banyan Bay (my wife and kids ages 10, 8 and 5). The pool and villas are very kid friendly and that is what makes this a better resort for us than the others we visited. Its close enough to town that its an easy golf cart trip in for dinner but far enough away from any of the noise and music that is often heard late night downtown (Sad. At one time in my life that would have been a negative.) FYI be careful with some of the other resorts listed here as far as where they are. Some of these are a long way from the downtown area. Not a huge deal but going out for dinner means a 1/2 hour golf cart ride or more for some of them.
The staff were very helpful and the restaurant was very good though 20% more expensive than anywhere else. We ended up eating breakfast in our suites most days and dinners out every night with lunches kind of a mix. Rooms aren't luxurious but they aren't dumpy either and were more than adequate for my family. The complaints in other reviews about the beach being grassy are true. But get used it--the whole island is fronted with turtle grass right off the beach. Thats the ecology of the place--not the resort's fault. There really isn't much snorkelling off the beach. You can swim but you have to get over the grass. If thats a problem you might want to look somewhere other than San Pedro. The resorts do have people rake the beach each day for any grass or anything else that washes up and Banyan Bay was no different. We didn't have any problems with it. One more note, we never had a single problem with bugs. The breeze keeps them down, even the sand flies which can be a problem in Belize after the sun goes down in other places.
Overall, great place and great trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Returned from vacation Feb. 16 2013 from a week stay here.The grounds are wonderful , the staff is great . Franco who did our reservation was outstanding at taking care of everthing we needed before we arrived including filling the fridg with cold beer , juice , milk and soda. Our two bedroom was right on the sea great views and a great spot for coffee everymorning. Deep part of the pool is kind of small but they have two other areas in the pool for small kids. Out of the seven trips we have made to San Pedro we have always stayed some where different and I would stay here again in a moment. Its not the cheapest place to stay but if its in your budget its great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas At Banyan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas At Banyan Bay

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas At Banyan Bay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villas At Banyan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Villas At Banyan Bay Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas At Banyan Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.