We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas At Banyan Bay

Save Saved
You added Villas At Banyan Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villas At Banyan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in San Pedro
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Well worth the little extra for the location and standard of accomodation. Friendly staff , nicely tended grounds and right on the beach. Reception staff only to happy with help and advice and pointed us in the right direction. Close by to some shops and the on site restuarant was great for daytime snacks. We were out at night partying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    88
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
111
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was out first trip to Belize and we exchanged into Banyan Bay with no knowledge of it or the Caye. We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the unit, the housekeeping (daily - almost unheard of for timeshare weeks), the grounds crew, and maintenance. Everyone here was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment is that there are only two buildings that are beachfront - despite the photos and narrative leading you to believe the entire property is beachfront. We were a ways back from the beach and even the pool - would have much preferred to be on the beach. But overall, this was a pleasant introduction to Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Banyan Bay and enjoyed our stay very much. We had a 2 bedroom with 2 baths. The master bathroom had 2 sinks which made it nice for both of us to get ready at the same time. The kitchen could have been stocked a little better than it was and 2 of the burners on the stove did not work; however, we made do with the limited amount of cooking we were going to do. The grounds were very well kept, the pool was very nice and having daily maid service was also very nice. Our housekeeping person, Juanita, was very good and very friendly. She would do anything in the world for you. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. We spent a lot of time on our balcony which was in the shade most of the time but was very refreshing to just sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. We did rent a golf cart once but most of the time we just walked (which we enjoy doing anyway). Marina's store is very close and has everything you could possibly need for snacks, meals, etc. At one time they must have had a washer/dryer in the unit as the hookups were there but no washer/dryer. It would have been nice to have had that in the unit. Very nice resort and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a 3+bedroom condo ON the ocean. From our balcony, we could throw a coconut into the water! It is laid out well (the upstairs is HUGE) and very spacious. The staff was great.

Our only problem was that the tours we booked through the hotel (Discovery Tours) were not well organized and didn't give us what we were told. The trip to Lamanai, where we were supposed to have our own guide (for 8 people) had 18 people, and gave short shrift to the site. The snorkeling trip, which was supposed to be for 3 hours, arrived an hour late and had us back in under 2 hours.

So....stay in the Villas, but find your adventures elsewhere.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and an ocean view. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a pool front villa for 1 week in January. We anticipated a villa facing the car park but were pleasantly surprised by actual beach/water glimpses from our front porch as well as garden and pool views.

The villas are large enough for travellers and the grounds and pool area are immaculate.

Staff are helpful, not just recommending their restaurant Rico's, and happy to book dinners for you.

We did book a cart externally as it was cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved Banyan Resort. No high rise building. Very layed back. Staff was wonderful. Mode of transportation are golf carts. We hitched a ride twice into town within a minute of sticking out our thumbs. Anyone looking for a true relaxing vacation, this is it. If you're looking to shop or party all night long....look elsewhere. Accommodations were actually very nice considering that this island is very poor. Our unit was beach front. We stayed here 1st week of December and it literally was empty. We did 2 excursions (arranged by Brian from Capt Morgan kiosk in town) 1 st was a visit to Belice Zoo then cave tubbing on mainland. Here too, our guide was Captain Sanchez, ( our private tour guide) he usually has a group of 6 but it was just us. Same with cave tubbing just us 2 instead of 8. 2nd was an all day sailboat cruise in which we snorkeled with sharks and string rays. Boat was large enough for 12 but there were only 5 of us. Both excursions were great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The grounds were immaculate, and the pool area beautiful (could use a few more beach lounges). The villa was nice, but we had no washer/dryer. Everything was clean, but worn. Loved the front porch area! Easy access to town and to park the golf cart (which we rented somewhere else.)

Room Tip: Definitely on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas At Banyan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas At Banyan Bay

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas At Banyan Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villas At Banyan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Villas At Banyan Bay Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas At Banyan Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.