We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas At Banyan Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villas At Banyan Bay to your Saves list
Villas At Banyan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Twin Lakes, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Banyan Bay and enjoyed our stay very much. We had a 2 bedroom with 2 baths. The master bathroom had 2 sinks which made it nice for both of us to get ready at the same time. The kitchen could have been stocked a little better than it was and 2 of the burners on the stove did not work; however, we made do with the limited amount of cooking we were going to do. The grounds were very well kept, the pool was very nice and having daily maid service was also very nice. Our housekeeping person, Juanita, was very good and very friendly. She would do anything in the world for you. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. We spent a lot of time on our balcony which was in the shade most of the time but was very refreshing to just sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. We did rent a golf cart once but most of the time we just walked (which we enjoy doing anyway). Marina's store is very close and has everything you could possibly need for snacks, meals, etc. At one time they must have had a washer/dryer in the unit as the hookups were there but no washer/dryer. It would have been nice to have had that in the unit. Very nice resort and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank queen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a 3+bedroom condo ON the ocean. From our balcony, we could throw a coconut into the water! It is laid out well (the upstairs is HUGE) and very spacious. The staff was great.

Our only problem was that the tours we booked through the hotel (Discovery Tours) were not well organized and didn't give us what we were told. The trip to Lamanai, where we were supposed to have our own guide (for 8 people) had 18 people, and gave short shrift to the site. The snorkeling trip, which was supposed to be for 3 hours, arrived an hour late and had us back in under 2 hours.

So....stay in the Villas, but find your adventures elsewhere.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and an ocean view. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a pool front villa for 1 week in January. We anticipated a villa facing the car park but were pleasantly surprised by actual beach/water glimpses from our front porch as well as garden and pool views.

The villas are large enough for travellers and the grounds and pool area are immaculate.

Staff are helpful, not just recommending their restaurant Rico's, and happy to book dinners for you.

We did book a cart externally as it was cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved Banyan Resort. No high rise building. Very layed back. Staff was wonderful. Mode of transportation are golf carts. We hitched a ride twice into town within a minute of sticking out our thumbs. Anyone looking for a true relaxing vacation, this is it. If you're looking to shop or party all night long....look elsewhere. Accommodations were actually very nice considering that this island is very poor. Our unit was beach front. We stayed here 1st week of December and it literally was empty. We did 2 excursions (arranged by Brian from Capt Morgan kiosk in town) 1 st was a visit to Belice Zoo then cave tubbing on mainland. Here too, our guide was Captain Sanchez, ( our private tour guide) he usually has a group of 6 but it was just us. Same with cave tubbing just us 2 instead of 8. 2nd was an all day sailboat cruise in which we snorkeled with sharks and string rays. Boat was large enough for 12 but there were only 5 of us. Both excursions were great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burbm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The grounds were immaculate, and the pool area beautiful (could use a few more beach lounges). The villa was nice, but we had no washer/dryer. Everything was clean, but worn. Loved the front porch area! Easy access to town and to park the golf cart (which we rented somewhere else.)

Room Tip: Definitely on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for our vacation in August 2012 and found it to be very clean and the staff to be extremely friendly and accomidation. the 2 bedroom, 2 bath was completely furnished and comfortable. They even stocked the fridge with belekin for my husband :) Rico's had good food and great staff as well. after strolling the island and looking at some of the other place to stay i dont think id go anyplace else....wifi isnt great, but we werent there to surf the net. we were there to relax and enjoy the island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumnsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My daughter and I recently met in Ambergris Caye for a vacation at the Villas at Banyan Bay. We had a fabulous time there...the accomodations were terrific. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a kitchen, dining area and living room, all fully furnished and equipped...The ONLY tiny complaint I have is that the wi-fi was not completely reliable, although a quick call to the front desk sent an employee to my room with the new password for the day...The service was terrific. We also enjoyed a few meals at Rico's and also by the pool. I'd go back in a NY second!

Room Tip: Every room's a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cygnet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#25 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#23 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 55 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
8.5 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#18 of 55 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas At Banyan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas At Banyan Bay

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#28 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas At Banyan Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villas At Banyan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Villas At Banyan Bay Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing