We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, a bit tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas At Banyan Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villas At Banyan Bay to your Saves list
Villas At Banyan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, a bit tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The grounds were immaculate, and the pool area beautiful (could use a few more beach lounges). The villa was nice, but we had no washer/dryer. Everything was clean, but worn. Loved the front porch area! Easy access to town and to park the golf cart (which we rented somewhere else.)

Room Tip: Definitely on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    90
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
116
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for our vacation in August 2012 and found it to be very clean and the staff to be extremely friendly and accomidation. the 2 bedroom, 2 bath was completely furnished and comfortable. They even stocked the fridge with belekin for my husband :) Rico's had good food and great staff as well. after strolling the island and looking at some of the other place to stay i dont think id go anyplace else....wifi isnt great, but we werent there to surf the net. we were there to relax and enjoy the island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My daughter and I recently met in Ambergris Caye for a vacation at the Villas at Banyan Bay. We had a fabulous time there...the accomodations were terrific. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a kitchen, dining area and living room, all fully furnished and equipped...The ONLY tiny complaint I have is that the wi-fi was not completely reliable, although a quick call to the front desk sent an employee to my room with the new password for the day...The service was terrific. We also enjoyed a few meals at Rico's and also by the pool. I'd go back in a NY second!

Room Tip: Every room's a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our trip for 4 nights. The staff went out of there way to make you feel welcomed. The rooms were always clean and comfortable. The view was remarkable. Rent a golf cart or take there free bikes to travel the mile into town

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Banyan bay villas are quite large. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with a full kitchen, dining room and living room along with a porch. They are very comfortable, and the maid service is thorough and friendly. The people at Banyan Bay are very lovely people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. In addition to booking the room, they booked our flights from Belize City and the golf cart rental (a must if you decide to stay here). The location is a bit removed from the active area of the island, which is great for peace and quiet. A bit removed is relative as it is only a 30 minute walk up the beach to be in the center of things.

We had 2 main issues with the hotel though. The A/C stopped working on the weekend, and it wasn't resolved by the time we left. In addition, the WiFi is horrible. It would barely work. We would go to internet cafes or to Mata Rocks to use their WiFi.

Overall, a great place to stay, esp. if you are a family. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 6 days at banyan bay and would do it again in a heart beat! The staff were very friendly and helpful. They are a joy to meet and get to know. We felt like family. Please book trips with Jacky, see Robin at the front desk, visit Meme and Cindy at Rico's restaurant, talk to Jerry for the best info and ask for Ana to help you with anything else! We loved it!

Room Tip: Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Banyan Bay is a tropical oasis just south of San Pedro. It has the prettiest setting of any of the hotels we observed on our walks on the beach. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We we in an ocean front 2 BR villa (A4) and the place was immaculate. Clean and full of enough kitchen gear to make small meals. So great to watch sunrises by stepping out onto the balcony. Complimentary bikes are a convenient 15 minute ride into town. Many small grocery stores and restaurants along the way had good local fare to enjoy. We did not have a bad meal ....Antojito's, Caroline's, and the hotel restaurant Rico's all provided breakfast, lunch or dinners that added to our Belizean experience. It was also nice that it was low season which gave us space and no crowds. I highly recommend Banyan Bay if your are looking to stay in San Pedro.

Room Tip: A4 is oceanfront and convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas At Banyan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas At Banyan Bay

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas At Banyan Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villas At Banyan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Villas At Banyan Bay Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas At Banyan Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.