We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean friendly and reasonable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas At Banyan Bay

Save Saved
You added Villas At Banyan Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas At Banyan Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean friendly and reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our trip for 4 nights. The staff went out of there way to make you feel welcomed. The rooms were always clean and comfortable. The view was remarkable. Rent a golf cart or take there free bikes to travel the mile into town

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    87
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
109
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Banyan bay villas are quite large. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with a full kitchen, dining room and living room along with a porch. They are very comfortable, and the maid service is thorough and friendly. The people at Banyan Bay are very lovely people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. In addition to booking the room, they booked our flights from Belize City and the golf cart rental (a must if you decide to stay here). The location is a bit removed from the active area of the island, which is great for peace and quiet. A bit removed is relative as it is only a 30 minute walk up the beach to be in the center of things.

We had 2 main issues with the hotel though. The A/C stopped working on the weekend, and it wasn't resolved by the time we left. In addition, the WiFi is horrible. It would barely work. We would go to internet cafes or to Mata Rocks to use their WiFi.

Overall, a great place to stay, esp. if you are a family. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 6 days at banyan bay and would do it again in a heart beat! The staff were very friendly and helpful. They are a joy to meet and get to know. We felt like family. Please book trips with Jacky, see Robin at the front desk, visit Meme and Cindy at Rico's restaurant, talk to Jerry for the best info and ask for Ana to help you with anything else! We loved it!

Room Tip: Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Banyan Bay is a tropical oasis just south of San Pedro. It has the prettiest setting of any of the hotels we observed on our walks on the beach. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We we in an ocean front 2 BR villa (A4) and the place was immaculate. Clean and full of enough kitchen gear to make small meals. So great to watch sunrises by stepping out onto the balcony. Complimentary bikes are a convenient 15 minute ride into town. Many small grocery stores and restaurants along the way had good local fare to enjoy. We did not have a bad meal ....Antojito's, Caroline's, and the hotel restaurant Rico's all provided breakfast, lunch or dinners that added to our Belizean experience. It was also nice that it was low season which gave us space and no crowds. I highly recommend Banyan Bay if your are looking to stay in San Pedro.

Room Tip: A4 is oceanfront and convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We just returned from a week at Banyan Bay with our family. We had a wonderful stay...the staff there were all so friendly and helpful. We were close enough to town to walk, but far away enough for a peaceful setting. I was traveling with my three adult age sons who had a blast and met so many great local people. The room was great - we were in a beachfront 3 br unit and it had everything we needed. The first night the ac was not working very well and we called in the morning to report it. They had someone immediately there to check it out and had it fixed right away. There was no laundry facility, but they did our laundry and returned it clean and folded within a couple hours! The restaurant was great! They have happy hour every day from 4-7 with 3 beers(belikin of course!) for 5$ us and two for one local rum drinks! We will definitely come back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 1 week at Banyan Bay Villas, Belize first week of July 2012. While having dinner at the resort's restaurant, our room was burglarized of 2 I-Pads, 1 cell phone, and 1 digital camera. Total value was $2,400.00. The thefts took place through the front door while 2 security guards patrolled the area. The front door lock had evidence of recent trauma to the lock area. The 2 security guards denied there was scratches to the front door lock when I pointed out the lock damage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Elena, Cayo, Belize
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Living in the foothills of Belize, in the Cayo District, means the tropical islands are less than 3 hours away any day of the week. By water taxi or small plane, getting to Banyan Bay on Ambergris Caye is easy and convenient. It's a great treat to go from regular life in Belize to an upscale lifestyle even for a weekend.

The Villas at Banyan Bay are well designed and built, laid out with a nice pool between the condos and the sea. The landscaping shows off the variety and quality of flowers and decorative plants native to Belize. The location of the community allows for quick walks to grocery stores, shops and bakeries. There's a good restaurant on site, on the water. Or rent a golf cart and head out to the myriad of choices for dining.

The condo I've stayed in is a two bedroom two bath open floor plan with a covered porch overlooking the pool and inner court. The owners have decorated the space to accommodate comforit and convenience. The kitchen has new granite countertops, tile flooring throughout the condo, thick mahogany doors and a powerful air conditioning system. The master bath has a shower and a jet tub (a true luxury in this country) with plenty of storage and closet space in both bedrooms.

The Villas at Banyan Bay are what North Americans would expect from a high end resort in Belize. For those of living in the western hills of the country is a luxurious getaway place for solitude or for meeting friends who want the tropical sea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas At Banyan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas At Banyan Bay

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas At Banyan Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Villas At Banyan Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Banyan Bay Hotel San Pedro
Hotel At Banyan Bay
Resort At Banyan Bay
Villas At Banyan Bay Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas At Banyan Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.