We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Journey's End Resort

Journey's End Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Journey's End Resort
Save Saved
You added Journey's End Resort to your Saves list
Beachfront | Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Gaithersburg, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a great time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Our honeymoon to at Journey's End was more about the & activities than the hotel. There was a lot of construction and clean up from a hurricane the previous year when we visited. Also going in October we thought we were being smart going off peak. But it was kind of deserted. The inidividual cabin room was nice and beautifully decorated with flowers upon our arrival. We had the all inclusive meal plan and the food was great! But we kind of felt obligated to eat at the resort. There were so many other places to eat that we probably wouldn't do that. The snorkeling was AWESOME. Just grab some gear and a kayak and paddle out from the beach!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
7
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We chose this resort based on their website and reading a few other positive reviews and we were still happily surprised. We loved that it was far enough away from the main town on Ambergris to warrant a half-hour or so golf cart ride, which was an adventure in itself. My husband, being a Traffic Engineer, got a kick out of their (Ambergris Caye, not Journey's End) use of heavy-duty ship anchor line as speedbumps. The flights were quick and painless, especially considering we had to go Los Angeles-Houston-Belize City, but the prop plane ride to Ambergris from Belize City was so beautiful that we were just speechless.
Our transportation to the resort from the airport was painless as well; we were welcomed by everyone, even the airport staff, and our bags were handled with care by the cheerful water taxi driver. A quick golf-cart ride to the dock and off to the resort, where we were greeted by several charming, funny guys who got our bags and by Bill, who became a fixture over the following week. He has the best job in the world. Bill makes things happen.
We arrived with no plans booked in advance, just a few ideas of what we'd like to see and do in the area and Bill had us set up in no time. We've been scuba diving for 10 years, so the Blue Hole was a given (amazing, by the way, just unreal) but he booked us on a cave tour that was unlike anything I've ever done and a zip-line and river tubing jaunt that was so much more than what you'd expect given the glut of zip-line/river-tubing trips you read about these days.
The room was charming, elegant and looked just like the website. The giant bed was romantic with its draped, though unnecessary mosquito nets, fluffy pillows and the tiled, sunken shower gave us plenty of room to share. No hot water shortage whatsoever.
The food was great. Lots of freshly caught fish and simply prepared dishes using the best of what was locally available. The servers were friendly and attentive and always willing to accommodate special requests. One night, my husband arranged for us to have dinner all by ourselves on the beach. They moved a table and set it in the sand, far from the other diners. My husband gave me a second ring, arranged by Bill, who came to our table and gave us a quick, beautiful speech and presented it, (much to the delight of the staff and other guests, many of whom subsequently emailed me photos) and the service never faltered. Three years later and I'm still in contact with another family we met on this trip.
The only inconvenience we experienced during the entire trip was that the drain was a bit slow in the shower and the water tended to pool up about our feet...eeek. The moment we mentioned it, someone came out and took care of it. Just the usual hairy drain.
It was an amazing adventure for us. Go!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband and I went to Journey's End for our honeymoon in October 2008. We arrived on a Saturday and the front desk let us know the pool would be open Sunday, however when Monday arrived, it still was not open. We asked the front desk when it would open , they said in a couple of days. It didn't open the whole week we were there, so we had to walk down the beach and go to another resort's pool where the staff was much more friendly. We ended up buying a timeshare at another resort and staying there the rest of the week.

There were a couple of positives about the resort. The cabana was nice and private and we liked watching the sunset from the dock. Luna, the resort's restaurant was very good, yet pricey.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iraq
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Belize and stayed at Journey's End Resort for 2 1/2 weeks (Jan 09). We were extremely happy with every aspect of the resort and are now planning on returning next year!!!

Journey's End Resort is truly a hidden treasure...located on the northern end of Ambergris Caye where space and privacy is a guarantee. My husband and I walked to San Pedro a few times and quickly realized that Journey's End provided more beach-front property filled with hammocks and private bungalows than any of the resorts located closer to San Pedro. Close enough to San Pedro to ensure quick access to all that San Pedro has to offer to include the many restaurants located by the water. Although walking to San Pedro took about an hour, the weather was great and the path along the beach was beautiful and easy to follow. On days we wanted to travel faster we took the public water taxi and were in town within 10 minutes. The staff was amazing...I've never met a friendlier staff ever and I've traveled all around the world with the military and can honestly say we continued to eat Journey's Restaurant not just for the blueberry pancakes made with coconut milk, or the endless amount of coffee, or the fresh seafood every night but mostly for the staff as they were truly a pleasure to be around. The private bungalows were fabulous...just what we expected and also wanted for an island excursion. Newly renovated with daily room service, the bungalows added to our positive experience.

There's so much to do in Ambergris Caye...yet our favorite activity was certainly made possible thanks to the amazing White Sands Dive Shop. My husband and I both completed the PADI Open Water certification course and thanks to the White Sands Dive Shop we enjoyed every minute in the water. The White Sands Dive Shop crew was truly amazing ... friendly, professional and very very good at provided excellent customer service!! Although my husband completed the course without an issue, I have always been somewhat skittish in the water and the thought of being submerged in it never really appealed to me....however.....the White Sand Dive Shop was able to help me overcome my fears and introduced me to a new world that has left me fascinated with the ocean and diving to see more. A personal revelation that would have never happened without the help of the White Sands Dive Shop. The previous dive shop was less than marginal from what we have heard and we wish this new White Sands Dive Shop all the best...as they truly are an amazing crew and can certainly provide anyone interested in diving...regardless of previous experience....the opportunity to explore all that Ambergris Caye and Belize have to offer !!!

Having traveled around the world as a military couple...we can honestly say this was the best vacation ever!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana,California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

The staff at journeys end are all wonderful. We especially enjoyed talking to Kenny(The Bartender). Chef at J.E.R. is exceptional in all his food, and his smile and hello makes him even more enjoyable. Leonie is the mesuse on the property and is a terrific lady, recommend her message.ysendro is on the waiter staff and has a terrific atittude, and finally Manuel is at the front desk with Karashina :) Manuel will take care of you from begining to the end of your trip with a smile and making sure our vacation was great.
Thank you J.E.R. Sincerly, The Rojas Family

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Journey's End Resort in early February. We had a beachfront cabana - our deck was maybe 30' from the water - delightful! (note that the beachfront cabanas are in a horseshoe arrangement, with some a bit closer to the water than others). The resort was low-key and quiet - a huge plus for us! It was a bit breezy when we were there, so we also enjoyed reading for hours by the very nice pool, sheltered from the ocean breeze. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I went sailing each day on the complimentary catamaran, we took out the two person kayaks, went snorkeling (take the tour with White Sands Dive Shop - well worth it and a great staff under new ownership - January 2009), biked into San Pedro (picked up some groceries and a gallon of water - they do charge for water at the resort. The bike had a basket to transport groceries back to the resort).

As others have noted, the restaurant is a bit pricey for dinner. Good, but expensive. We ate breakfast there each day - excellent and more reasonably priced. But there are other dinner options within walking distance on the beach, if you want to look around a bit.

Overall, a very nice place and special setting!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick,maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Wonderful. Our seventh visit. We always stay in a room with a balcony on the second of a building overlooking a beautiful lagoon. This year we relaxed, read, swam, had our dinner drinks overlooking the lagoon, toured the bird sanctuary, and enjoyed delicious meals prepared by the Resort's excellent new chef. Tour the relatively nearby Mayan ruins Try it. You'll love it.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Journey's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey's End Resort

Address: Beachfront | Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#43 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Journey`s End Hotel San Pedro
Journeys End Hotel
Journeys End San Pedro
Journeys End Resort Belize
Journey's End Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journey's End Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.