We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayo Espanto

Save Saved
You added Cayo Espanto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayo Espanto
Cayo Espanto Island, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
LA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best stay ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not much to say that hasn't already been said by other reviewers. My husband and I spent the last half of our honeymoon in Casa Manana on this beautiful island. It's as close to perfect as you can get. The food was impeccable, the service great and the view unparalleled. The attention to detail at Cayo Espanto was amazing.
Before traveling they sent a relatively in depth questionnaire so that they could provide the best experience (and food) possible. And they did.

We'll definitely be back here for an anniversary!

Room Tip: Casa Olita, Casa Manana and Casa Estrella probably have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
111
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After reading all of the reviews about Cayo Espanto, we had VERY high expectations...these were easily met and far surpassed. All of the reviews touch on the exquisite beauty of the island, the incredible food, the exemplary service, etc. What can I add so that readers understand how special Cayo Espanto is??? For the entire six nights that we spent at Cayo, we felt like we were the most important people in the world. We have never felt so pampered in our lives. If everyone in the world could spend just one day at Cayo...tranquility would prevail! There's such a beautiful harmony on the island, everything is in sync....from our "Day at Sea" , our spa day and our helicopter departure over the Blue Hole...nothing was missed! A very special thank you to Obed and Antonio...our romantic stay at Casa Olita was unforgettable. We have always said that we would not visit the same place twice - because there is so much to see in the world - but we are already counting the days until we return to Cayo next year!

Room Tip: Casa Olita had the most privacy...but all of the casa's looked gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I cannot begin to tell you how much we enjoyed our 25th anniversary trip to Cayo Espanto. From the moment we arrived at the airport, we were taken care of. I had very high expectations for this trip and they were far exceeded. It is nothing short of paradise! We have been many places, and as our time is winding down I am always ready to get back home. I did NOT want to leave this place! The entire staff was amazing, the food was awesome and the service was impeccable! Thank you so much for everything...and for sharing a little slice of heaven with us! We cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Cayo Espanto, Belize is pure pleasure and indulgence. We made this a family vacation and it was perfect, as there was something for all of us. The staff was impeccable. They handle your every need and want with pleasure and ease. They also allow you to cater the trip to meet your wishes. It can be simple and quiet, or full of wonderful activities. It is clear that they wanted our trip to be perfect. What a treat for my kids to enjoy their summer vacation time, away from TV and videos, taking in the natural beauty of Belize and all the activities that this part of the world has to offer. We all enjoyed the amazing scenery, the pool, fishing, kayaking, sailing, reading, watching the sunsets and the wonderful food. This vacation allowed us unique family time to absorb and appreciate the simple things in life, in a truly beautiful and luxurious setting. We have travelled to some incredible places, but we have never stay anywhere that compares to Cayo Espanto. It is a once in a lifetime experience that you will remember always.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We could not even begin to come up with a negative about Cayo Espanto. It is simply perfection in every way. We continue to choose to return because no other island in our extensive travels can come close to comparison.

The service at Cayo Espanto was again... impeccable!! The staff always seemed to know just what we needed (wanted!) without our even asking. We can honestly say that there is a true difference between the service here vs any other. Always smiling, energetic, respectful, and creative.

Chef Patrick and Chef Richard are simply amazing. Everything we were served was absolutely delicious, and the presentation was always beautiful. I cannot say enough about the food! It was always over the top perfect!

Traveling to Cayo Espanto is so easy. From the northeast, one is able to leave in the morning and arrive by lunchtime which gives you another full day. The staff is there to help you from your arrival at the Belize airport all the way to the island which makes it so simple and problem free. We loved our private boat ride with German, the fantastic island boat captain, from the San Pedro airport directly to the island. It's a short ride, but just long enough (I believe 7 minutes) to make your arrival so exciting. The entire staff lines up to welcome you with your favorite frozen beverages. (They are actually there to greet you each time German brings you back from any boating excursion!)

Our trips to Cayo Espanto are always worth the money. Whether you are searching for a tropical paradise for pure romance, for peace and privacy, or for a magical bonding experience for your family, there is truly no other island like it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just booked a return visit to Cayo Espanto after spending a most glorious and perfect week there last summer. As avid travelors, I must say that nothing has come close to compare to the experience we had at Cayo Espanto; actually, I'm not sure any other vacation resort will be able to rival the beautiful accomodations and impeccable and sweetly-personable service. For a week, we had nothing to worry about. For a week, we were able to relax in our beautiful villa and choose to do nothing but be pampered or spend a day snorkling or shopping at another nearby island. The island allowed our privacy and was a paradise from shore to shore. The food was 5-Star and we were spoiled by the chef's personal service and fresh-from-the-sea offerings. Perhaps what we fell in love with at Cayo Espanto was that we felt cared for and cherished by a staff that outdid itself to give us the most perfect, beautiful, and glorious vacation we have ever had. We have decided we do not want to go anywhere else this year except back to the Island. Every penny spent is worth this experience and just know, you will not want to leave.

Room Tip: We were able to tour 3 other villas and found them each equally luxurious while distinctly personal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the moment you arrive until the (sad) moment you leave, you are taken care of by the most well trained staff I have ever experienced. I would say that the primary differences between this resort and other 5 star (luxury) properties, is the unique private and intimate setting and the consistency of the courteous and caring staff.

Our villa was lovely! It was impeccably clean and perfectly appointed. The 2 housemen were terrific - we never waited for anything, especially the cocktails :) I found it especially cool that the chef came to visit us personally and prepared a menu designed to meet our personal preferences and food issues and everything was delicious! The resort offers off-island excursions – we loved the snorkeling and the bone fishing (see my husband’s “catch”!). Oh my --- and those sunsets were spectacular!

My husband and I fell in love with this resort because it took us away from everything stressful in our lives and provided us time to relax and enjoy one another in comfort and style.

We are planning a return trip later this year, so stay tuned!

Room Tip: We really liked our villa, Casa Solana ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayo Espanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo Espanto

Address: Cayo Espanto Island, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cayo Espanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayo Espanto San Pedro
Cayo Espanto Resort San Pedro
Cayo Espanto Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayo Espanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.