We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayo Espanto

Save Saved
You added Cayo Espanto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cayo Espanto
Cayo Espanto Island, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

The most amazing vacation for relaxation and service that goes above and beyond , we stayed in casa ventanas on the water and wow it was amazing the service was the best we have ever experienced anywhere in the world, food was outstanding in every way , the staff and facility's are world class and this place is definitely a must stay if there's anywhere you must go this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
109
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is an amazing place for a vacation. If you want rest and relaxation this is the best place I can think of to spend your time. You will be pampered and waited on and their is no request to small or insignifcant for the staff to fulfill. We went kayacking, snorkeling, fishing and had in room massages. This is truly a great vacation and we will return. Everything is provided except sun screen so that is all you really need to pack along with some beach clothes. You can actually stay in the robe that is provided if that is what you want. They have an IPAD in every room that you can use and wi-fi if you need to keep in touch (we work so we need access to the internet). The food is wonderful and they cooked the fish we caught and served it to us for lunch. It was delicious. Is it costly - you get what you pay for. We will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Brisas and we loved the room but you cannot pick a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, MN
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second time staying at Cayo Espanto. This time we had our 20-month old son and 6-year old daughter with. We stayed in Casa Aurora, which had a fantastic layout for our family. The kids had their own bedroom off the living area, which helped create space, and the pool was huge! We were so impressed with how willing the staff was to help with our kids. We really enjoyed the private beach movie theater the staff set up for us to watch while eating our dinner (the kids picked the little mermaid!). Guest services even took care of our children while we had a much needed couples massage! The food, atmosphere and staff are out of this world! We couldn't have asked for a better vacation, and can't wait to come back. Thank you Eddie, Edwardo, Erika, Ester, Chef Richard and Felix for making our vacation truly magical!

Room Tip: Casa Aurora, a two-bed, two-bath villa, has the largest pool on the island! Great for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Total luxury at it's finest. Be prepared to be totally pampered from the moment you arrive until your departure The food is outstanding and prepared to your taste by Executice Chef Patrick and Chef Richard. The service is world class. Worth every dollar.

We were able to totally relax. The staff handled everything and even anticipated our desires. Thank you Obed, Jesus, Ester and staff.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Breathtaking is the best way to describe Cayo Espanto. From the moment we were greeted at the airport by Emilio and taken by boat to the island, we felt like royalty. We stayed in the smallest villa- Casa Solana. It was perfect, every Angle of the villa is surrounded by water. There is a plunge pool which was welcomed during the heat of the day. If you are looking for a secluded island with nothing to do but relax and be pampered, this is the place for you. We would rise at 7 am every morning and open every side of the villa and have the breeze blow through. Breakfast was served at a time suggested by us, you can order anything you like, whether it's on the menu or not! The rest of the day we lay in the sun, soaked in the pool and ate great food. There were times when we felt like we could not eat another meal. It seemed like as soon as you had finished a meal, your chef stopped by to discuss your menu for the remainder of the day. You have your own houseman, we had Emilio and Eduardo. Eduardo was in training and very nice, but Emilio was outstanding. If you need anything you radio him and he will assist you with anything you need. They work 13 hour days but you would never know it as they are always professional, have a smile on their face and go above and beyond. A four course dinner was served every night. Emilio and Eduardo would set up the table at a different location of our villa. Candles, lanterns and flowers were used to create a romantic setting as well as drawing flowers and and hearts in the sand. It seemed like just as you thought it couldn't get any better they would do something to amaze us again!

We couldn't imagine anything topping this resort and are planning our return later in the year. Truly an experience we will never forget!

Room Tip: Casa Solana is the smallest villa. Surrounded by water with a plunge pool. Located on the west sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

After marrying in Sydney, we went to Cayo Epanto for our honeymoon on the way back to the Uk. We chose Casa Brisa and it was amazing! The food was out of this world, the service from our houseman and all the staff was second to none and we could not have wished for more! The whole experience from arrival to departure made us feel thoroughly spoilt! A perfect honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Cayo Espanto is a wondrous place to relax, unwind, feel totally pampered, and just spoilt. Glenda and in particular Eddie and Jesus, as well as the rest of the team looked after all of our requests and made us feel like rock stars (without the need to smash up the villa). Idilic ! Value for money.... You bet ! Our wedding was stunning and totally individual to us..... Where else do you get a menu choice ade for you, and a separate one for your other half too? Great

Room Tip: Mañana was fab but all the villas seem to be unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cayo Espanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo Espanto

Also Known As:
Cayo Espanto San Pedro
Cayo Espanto Resort San Pedro
Cayo Espanto Belize/San Pedro
Address: Cayo Espanto Island, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cayo Espanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayo Espanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.