We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Morgan's Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain Morgan's Retreat to your Saves list
Captain Morgan's Retreat
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 1/2 Miles from San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had done tons of research about the property and area (never been here before) but never felt like I got a "good feel" for what it would offer; so was a little anxious if it would meet our expectations. We are Marriott owners and made a trade via II. Well, we were very pleased. The staff is tops! They're very friendly and accommodating. After a long day of travel we were met with offers of Rum Punch drinks and a 5 minute boat trip from San Pedro to the resort. Didn't have to lift a finger...they took care of all our belongings and delivered to our room (and the same when we left). There were some very minor maintenance issues in our room that were corrected immediately. I would rate the dinners at the restaurant as average; but can't beat the service and the view! There are several beach-side restaurants within a short walk along the beach; may fish that can be viewed from shore or off of many of the boat docks. Sea shells and iguanas litter the beach. Tropical breezes, but watch out for the mosquitos at dusk. We weren't certain how or if we would travel from the resort to town (3 miles). Found that it's quite simple and several options; from commercial water taxi services (can purchase per trip or a pass for a week), resort will allow you to ride their 'employee shuttle boat' if there's room, bikes, golf carts and walking. I encourage everyone at work to visit San Pedro, Belize.

Room Tip: The rooms are located in buildings that surround 2 of the 3 pools. The buildings are located throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    135
    63
    37
    47
See reviews for
119
264
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This retreat is very nicely appointed, the sand is beautiful, the three pools lovely for view. We were just there as the season had just ended and many rooms and area's were under construction/revamping, while we understand this has to be completed at some time, I was later advised that the resort closes for the entire month of September for just this purpose, it would have been nice to not have had the smell of varnish and noise at 2 out of the 3 pools during our stay.
The pools were cleaned in the morning as I would see the staff cleeaning them but by mid morning the pools looked dirty, makes you wonder if the filters were working well. The maintenance and housekeeping team are working very hard to make sure this resort keeps it's level of service and status up. We thank Marshay in maintenance for his diliglence in fixing our air conditioning and always stopping us to make sure everything was going well during our stay.
Enjoy the north end of the island it is growing and becoming a beautiful location to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Was here in April with my husband. I really disliked this place: 1. Staff is unfriendly and unhelpful, 2. The chaise lounges were all uncomfortable. Very few options for those of us who like the shade. 3. Pools were dirty. 4. Had welcome party, owners' party, with very sparse food offerings. 5. Room was not well maintained; I never felt clean. The shower head was totally unacceptable, the bath drains were rusty, totally disgusting. 6. The whole resort was run-down. There were visible nails popping out from wood on stairs, lighting that was not functional, broken chairs. 7. Food was ok, nothing special. 8. Internet function in room was spotty. 9. Owners on property, but they seemed distant and disinterested.
Overall, was a major disappointment!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Some people may say ,Belize is a 3rd world country, that may or may not be true. What is definitely true, is that Captain Morgans is a 1st class resort. We were there from 4-20-13 to 4-27-13 and here are some examples of why this is a 1st class resort. When we would leave our room (which was more like a one bedroom apartment than a room) it would be a mess. When we would return, after a day of fun in the sun, it would be cleaned spotless. That was all due a lady in housekeeping named Shirely. On our 1st day there we talked to an extremely helpful man named Felix. Felix set us up with some truely amazing excursions, we had a BLAST. Almost all of our excursions involved an excellent boat captain named Chuck. Not only would he take us to some really neat places, but he would also go along with us at each place (it was like having your own personal guide). There was also a bartender, that went out of his way to make sure our stay was top notch. That bartender was Danny, the music at the bar was good (whether it was live or not). There was a specific song, which was sail by awolnation, I wanted to hear and he made sure that song got played. You can also expect to see Mike everytime you turn around everywhere you go. Ernie is also very helpful and approachable, if you need a pair of scissors he can make it happen, he did for me. My review is not really fair, because everyone at the resort made sure our stay was the best ever. From the people in the casino, to the ladys that gave our massages, even the overnight guys that made sure you were safe did not get lost. Everyone done an outstanding job, not just the people I called out. If I ever go back to San Pedro, Belize I will definitely stay at Captain Morgans. It was, in a word, awesome.

Room Tip: I do not believe Captain Morgans has a bad room on the premisses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

we heard about the gambling at this place in san pedro... they have a booth on the street. we decided to go and it was great fun. the pool bar had great bartender that we chatted up until it was time to go lose some money$$ once inside, and this place is professional and secure, it was like a mini vegas casino:) and the live tables were a blast. worth the drive or water taxi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I always wonder what the outcome will be when we do a time share exchange. Once again, pleasantly suprised.

We had not been to San Pedro for almost 12 years, and WOW, had it changed. Those of you familiar - The Sunbreeze had nothing next to it until you got to Ramons. Now, probably about 20 places in between. It has become one busy little island.

Our villa was adorable, having everything we could need. The housekeeping was a bit tricky, as they would come take all our towels, but not replace them. We would come back from diving, want to take a shower and there were no towels. Oh well, I guess there are worse things.

The resort had a fun weekly "Manager's party" where they provided appetizers and drinks to all the guests - that was a lot of Belikins and Rum Punches being served that night! They offer a Belizian night; buffet, music and a beach filled with local vendors selling their goods.

There is a Casino, a little market store, and Golf Carts available to rent. Very expensive, but sure fun to have to travel back and forth into town.

In our villa was a kitchenette, mini bar size fridge, cooktop, oven and dishes. A sign was sitting behind the sink, "$75 dollar charge if dishes are not washed prior to checkout". This is a callout, make sure you check all your dishes, and better yet, wash them first. Several times we would pull out a stack of plates, only to find them all dirty.

It took a day or so to get used to only using the water dispenser, as they tell you not to drink the water out of the tap. However, no one got the "revenge" so that is always a good thing!

We ate a few times at the restaurant, including the Belizian Buffet, and every meal was enjoyable. Most nights however; we chose to go into town and try out the different restaurants. (Plus we have a 12 year old that insisted that we travel as much as possible in that golf cart!)

We enjoyed the three pools, which were usually empty, we swam with the stingrays and pelicans at the end of the pier. If you swim/kayak out past the boat lanes, you will get away from the seagrasses and see a lot more marine life - tons of fish, and lots of Rays.

We had a great week even though we were unable to dive the first couple of days due to a storm that had passed through the week prior... however, that gave us time to explore and we enjoyed the light winds.... it kept the mosquitos at bay, and there were alot of mosquitos!!

Room Tip: Request a waterfront, second/third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to go for our 34th anniversary. I picked Captain Morgan's on-line because it looked great and had a casino. We had never been to Belize and knew nothing about it. We were delighted when we got a room with kitchen and living room 4 steps from the beach! All we had to do was walk down the steps and there we were on the beach!We ended up buying a time-share on the last day, and are going back Memorial Day week.
We found the food at Captain Morgan's the best of anywhere we had eaten. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. They had 2 parties by the pool with a delicious buffet. The water in the pool was a little cold, since it was early March. We loved renting the golf cart and going to town. A great experience. Oh, yes , I did win some at the casino, but gambled it right back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room right on the beach,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.2 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
4.2 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
2.9 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#32 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Morgan's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Morgan's Retreat

Address: 3 1/2 Miles from San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#32 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Morgan's Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Morgan's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Morgan`s Retreat Hotel San Pedro
Captain Morgans Retreat San Pedro
Captain Morgans Retreat Hotel
Captain Morgan's Retreat Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Morgan's Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.