We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay, nothing to write home about. Clean comfortable place that people want to come back to again & again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Morgan's Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Captain Morgan's Retreat to your Saves list
Captain Morgan's Retreat
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 1/2 Miles from San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just okay, nothing to write home about. Clean comfortable place that people want to come back to again & again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice with daily maid service. We had a 2 bedroom. At check in we found no towels in the kitchen, no body soap in either of the bathrooms. l Walked down to the front office (no in house phone system) and asked about paper towel and soap, I was told "if you need something you can buy it at the store on property". Restaurant on property is okay, a bit over priced for the small portions. Very friendly Staff, Felix became our go to guy. He always had a smile and an answer for whatever we needed. Part of the resort is a timeshare, however we were never hassled nor did we see anyone being hassled about buying a timeshare. Not to say there wasn't any sales work going on, there was for invited guests and it was handled very professionally. In summary, it's an average place don't expect more, very very friendly and helpful Staff, clean rooms with well kept grounds, the restaurant is okay with room for improvement and yes the road to San Pedro is rough. Best kept secret, you can ride Captain Morgans boat between the resort and Wet Willy's dock for free, as long as you are on the boats regular schedule.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    111
    54
    33
    43
See reviews for
97
227
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Liked this place so much, we bought a timeshare! Not sure what happened to the people that rated the restaurant less than wonderful. I had a fabulous meal of blackened snapper and lobster (a special request that the chef honored) with coconut rice. Loved the place and can't wait to go back. The only down side is the road leading to the place after a rain if going by golf cart, but take the water taxi from San Pedro and it's great!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently travelled to Belize with 5 friends to celebrate my 30th birthday. We had the time of our lives! This review is for the 3 bedroom condo booked with condo owner Tim Vils. First I want to review Tim's service. He was extremely helpful during the planning process. He has a wealth of knowledge and was very accomodating with all of my requests. All questions and inquiries were answered promptly and thoroughly. Even during our stay, any issues we mentioned were handled promptly on Tim's end.
Second is a review for the condo...it's beautiful. The pictures are very accurate. The condo is very clean and spacious with beautiful views of the pool and beach (from the master suite) and views of the lagoon from the junior suite. The condo has great amenities and updated appliances. We found ourselves very comfortably navigating through the kitchen. The space is beautifully decorated with lots of gorgeous hardwood throughout. Even with construction going on nearby the condo was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Book with Tim, the 3 bedroom condo is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been here two times now. Both times were excellent. The accommodations are beautiful, clean and quite nice. I stayed with owners of a time share. It is not exactly my cup of tea, I prefer hostels sometimes just for the variety of guests.. This place is mostly older couples, some families as well. The restaurant prices are high, but the food is good. The staff is excellent, very helpful and speak English. The kayaks are free, as are the bicycles. They offer many good snorkeling and fishing trips albeit a little pricey, but the guides are very good and the reef is AWESOME!!
We go for the snorkeling and diving on the reef. Great place and I would recommend it to a friend, if they could afford it!!

Room Tip: This is dependent on if you are a time share owner or renting a room. THe single rooms are in thatch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have been coming to Captain Morgan's for 14 years now and it has become a second home for us. The staff is always helpful and friendly, You make friends easily and if you are a timeshare owner you look forward to seeing your old friends. Small compared to most timeshare places (which we like), laid back, casual, and away from town if that is what you are looking for. Grocery store on site if you run out of milk or rum! Bikes, kayaks, golf carts and all sorts of trips available. I have seen many weddings there as well......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent 7 days for the first time at Captain Morgans and found it be a excellent place to stay. I have travel to numerous countries and this is one of the best. You have to remember to you are not in Kansas anymore. The employee's are very friendly and they always helped out. The other nice thing is the owner is on property and deals with issues should they arise. The food is expensive but all resorts are. I would recommend this resort to everyone

Room Tip: any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a long overdue review of Capt Morgan's Retreat- where we stay every year for 2 weeks. If you're looking for a resort that is NOT a concrete monument to Cancun-style- This is it! Capt Morgan's Retreat has traditional, thatch-roofed casitas on the beach, plus luxurious Studio, 1-bedroom+ units that look the look with tropical facades, but have tile floors, ceramic sinks etc. You'd never know they're concrete as a sub-structure but again, they've built these to last.
Capt Morgan's has been in business for many (25+?) years and have built this resort thoughtfully and carefully over the years. I'll mention the staff first. Their staff is dedicated, and they surely treat them very well, because the same staff remains year after year. Even though I traveled here alone this time, I received the same wonderful consideration from all. Not that I expect special treatment- far from it. Let me clarify: being a "table for 1" is not always a good thing at some places. Not here! They're terrific- and the staff is enthusiastic to young, old and families alike.
They have a Belizean Culture Night on Tuesday with a massive buffet with all things Belizean. Well worth it, with music and also, local artists selling their art. This is a good time to mention that the owners have always supported the local artists by furnishing all of their units with Belizean art. Their beautiful units are practically art galleries to Belizean style. (Capt Morgan's also donates Generously to local needs- not something they talk about. I just know from reading the local papers etc.)
Ecologically, I love the way Capt Morgan's keeps planting more and more palm trees on their property. It's an oasis! Palm trees, after all, are what you expect to experience in a tropical retreat. They have placed hammocks, lounge chairs, sofas, and thatch-roofed units all over the property for your napping and reading pleasure. Their 3 swimming pools - 2 of which have swim-up bars- are never more than a few steps from where ever you've decided to hang out.
Their Buena Vista restaurant has something for everyone. I love the local lobster in season through Feb 14, the fry jacks in the morning with fresh fruit, and the Thursday night Mexican night's wide menu. Jumbo burritos which I can only eat half of.
The Activities Desk will fix you up with any kind of tour you're looking for- local or inland Belize. snorkeling, Mayan ruins, zip lining, cave tubing (Cave tubing! the Best Belizean activity!). Fishing trips to the reef or beyond, and of course, they'll cook up your catch.
Capt Morgan's has a Spa literally over the water open to the breezes off the reef and under the watchful eyes of the pelicans. Love it. If you're into Casinos, they have one on the premises.
The housekeepers can't be forgotten either. a wonderful group of hard-working, behind the scees professionals!
Finally, Capt Morgan's has a Convenience Store on premises and it IS convenient. This year they have a new buyer and I have seen the inventory and selection WAY better. Sure it's not going to be Wal-Mart prices. Get over it. You're on vacation. I'm just thankful that Capt Morgan's Retreat has anticipated every need I might have so that I can TRULY relax when I'm on vacation. Thank you!
PS My personal vacation motto: Stay Up Late and Get Up Early! I bicycle on the beach EVERY morning to watch the sunrise over the sea- a great way to start the day. When my i-phone trills my wake-up call, I can't wait to get up and out!
BTW, re: photos. You can see lots of photos at their website: www.belizevacation.com. I couldn't decide which ones to post- so many photo ops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Morgan's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Morgan's Retreat

Address: 3 1/2 Miles from San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#33 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Morgan's Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Morgan's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Morgan`s Retreat Hotel San Pedro
Captain Morgans Retreat San Pedro
Captain Morgans Retreat Hotel
Captain Morgan's Retreat Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Morgan's Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.