We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ceviche on the beachside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Chel Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Playa Chel Restaurant and Bar
Beach by Blue Tang Inn, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
226-3400
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ceviche on the beachside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

They have the best mexican style ceviche ive tasted. sitting on the beachside listening to the band play was a very great experience for the family. We really enjoyed the day and the owner was very friendly and informative.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant on the north end of San Pedro Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great location - right next to Wet Willy's Dock at the northern end of San Pedro Town. (just 2 doors down from the Blue Tang Inn) The palapa bar is cute and in good weather, you can sit outside to eat as well. The food is excellent and is moderately priced - approximately $10-15 per person (US dollars) but you can certainly spend more if you order some of the seafood specials. We enjoyed excellent service at this restaurant - a squall came up before our food arrived and the servers were quick about getting us moved inside. We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Good lunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

A bit out of the way, but this open-air palapa restaurant right on the beach offers some very good lunch options. Lots of American and Mexican specialties, as well as seafood. The filling portions offer good value. And you can't beat the fact that you're eating right there on the beach!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

VERY good food! Place is apparently new (new name/ownership) and they have really good food! Try the conch ceviche, and the flan is amazing! Give em a shot! Right on the beach near the pier to Wet Willies. You won't be disappointed!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I went to Playa Chel for dinner with my family. It was about 5 of us with 3 childern. Excellent ambience and nice locatioin, right at the beach side! The food was Excellent and we definately enjoyed our stay in Belize.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Chel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Chel Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.