We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local art you will find on the island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belizean Melody Art Gallery

Belizean Melody Art Gallery
Barrier Reef Drive | 1 1/2 blocks north of the clock on the left hand side, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 1111111, Belize
011-501-226-2787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 shopping in San Pedro
Type: Art Galleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Belizean Melody Art Gallery was founded in 2008 by Melody Sanchez Wolfe a native of Ambergris Caye. The gallery originally opened as a studio for Melody at Crazy Canuks. Other local artists started putting their art work in her studio so she made it a small gallery, times were hard and because of financial reasons the gallery closed for almost a year and Melody and some of the other artists continued painting while working other Jobs and would display their work at local hotels. Melody worked in real estate for a while and with the money from her first sale re-opened the gallery this time on middle street and determined to make it work. After a year on middle street the Gallery quickly outgrew the small space and in January 2012 Melody re-located to front street in a very special location since it use to be her great grandmothers house where she plans to keep the gallery for as long as possible. Inside the art gallery you will find unique items such as butterfly art, slate carvings, paintings, conch shell lamps, unique christmas ornaments, jewelry,local spices, natural facial products and other unique items. The gallery runs like a cooperative artists put their work on consignment. Melody's rule is everything must be made in Belize with that being said you will not find any cheap made in china souvenirs with Belize stamped on them and she will customize anything for you hats t-shirts, ornaments and of course paintings. Stop by and say hello different artists volunteer their time but most of the time you will find Melody and her family there greeting you with a big smile.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
“Best local art you will find on the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

When you walk thru san pedro you will notice quickly that all the street vendors selling 'local hand made' stuff, are all selling the exact same things. While some of it is in fact local, most is just crap jewelry from china. That is absolutely NOT the case with this gallery. Conveniently located on front street, this place has a little bit of everything. Tons of different styles of arts, crafts. Its easily my favorite place to shop on the island for gifts for back home. I have a giant painting the gallery owner Melody made herself; hangs high and proud in my condo. I really cant say enough good about this place. She is a VERY talented person and houses other very talented LOCAL artists.

This is a must stop in san pedro.

AC

ps. Try to ignore Jan B's ridiculous snobbish post, unbelievable. Go there yourself and you will understand why.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A lovely gallery with excellent local art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Visited a couple of times and bought a wonderful bright painting. The art is from talented local artists, different and reflective of carribean and local themes and well chosen. It is a cooperative of many local artists run by a very nice and knowledgable artist, Melody. Definitely worth stopping, enjoying and buying

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Unique Souvenirs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We visited San Pedro in Oct 2012 and found Melody's to have great Belizean souvenirs that you cannot find in any of the other stores. If you are looking for something unique to take home, I highly recommend that you stop by here :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our first visit to San Pedro was like many other trips to the Caribbean; lots of shops selling the same trinkets, likely made in China. We came across Melody's art gallery and immediately realized this is what we were looking for. The small store is filled with a wide variety of art from local artists (Melody's included). Melody happened to be there. She was incredibly nice and informative. We purchased a few locally made spices/marinades (no artificial preservatives!), an awesome piece made from butterfly wings gathered from a butterfly farm on the mainland, a print from a Melody original, and a hand painted seashell magnet (also made by Melody). We spent a decent amount of time talking with Melody. She really wants to get her Christmas ornaments moving, as she mentioned them to us a few times. Perhaps we will purchase one when we return to her shop later in the week (we've decided to purchase more art as gifts). She offered a final piece of advice before we left, visit Dis and That Burger, right around the corner from her shop. She said the food was very reasonably priced, and that they have the best rice and beans on the island. She was 100% correct. Thanks Melody, we'll see you again soon!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Genuine Belizean Artwork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Recently bought 2 pieces of art from Belizean Melody - a painting by Melody and a butterfly wing abstract from another artist. The store is a great collective of local artists that are not just prints of the same 5 paintings you see in all of the other galleries and gift shops. (The sunset, the boats docked, thatched huts, and Mayan women) The artwork in here was unique and were actual paintings, jewelry, and crafts.

Melody creates her art and works the shop simultaneously. We went into the shop twice - once at the beginning of our stay to check it out and once at the end to purchase the art we saw earlier in the week. Both times she was extremely friendly and could tell she was passionate about the art and the community of local artists. Not only does she work on her art and run the store, but she is integral in trying to bring together the Ambergris art community and bring their work to the world. She also works with children to get them involved in it.

The artwork on display was great and the icing on the cake was knowing that we were helping to support a fantastic business and artist dedicated to the community and local art scene.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belizean Melody Art Gallery also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Belizean Melody Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belizean Melody Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Belizean Melody Art Gallery to your Saves list