We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Average Joe's Bar

Average Joe's Bar
Blake Street Next to Gas Station, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 601-2969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

In my opinion, their tolerance for spice is higher than mine! Get the sweet and spicy BBQ. Coldest beer on the island (understand that "coldest" in San Pedro does not necessarily mean "cold".)

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    15
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do not like Americans.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stopped by for karaoke they were happy to take our dollars. When we requested and were given God bless America to sing, the owner cut the power and made it known she is an expat who doesnt like America, though she liked our money. The fact there was a strange liquid flowing on the bathroom floor didn't help. Many other places to go that treat you much nicer

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy G, Owner at Average Joe's Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
I'm sorry the impression was given that we do no welcome Americans, nothing could be further from the truth. The person running karaoke was asked to cut the song because of the complaints from the other patrons in the bar that the song was inappropriate. Our business caters to all, tourists and the local population and if something is occurring that is offensive to a group of people we will curb that particular activity. Maybe the Belize National Anthem would have been more appropriate, after all we are in Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cold Beer, Hot Wings!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

met here one night with a local. Beer was cold, wings were very good. Many different styles to choose from. They had Karaoke going the night I was there. It was 'interesting'. Although it seemed a little 'sketchy' as far as location and clientele. I would return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Wings at excellent prices but the service and atmosphere is cruddy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This place has the best wings on the island. Tons of sauces and rubs to choose from. However,we were very dissatisfied with the crummy service and atmosphere. Ok so its a bar and there are just plastic tables and chairs. Guess you should expect that. But the service! Our waiter didn't even want to show us a menu, he was annoyed that we weren't locals that just knew the menu. He didn't check on us even once. We would go back because their wings were so good. But they need to work on their service for sure

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hidden away on the south side of the island.
I really love their chicken wings, many sauces and dry seasonings to choose from.
Good value for money, specially during happy hour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Average Joe's Bar also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Average Joe's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Average Joe's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.