We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Joe's is NOT your average bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Average Joe's Bar

Average Joe's Bar
Blake Street Next to Gas Station, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 601-2969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
San Pedro, Belize
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average Joe's is NOT your average bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband & I are new residents of San Pedro Belize, and we go out with relative frequency. Most places we visit are exactly what you expect them to be, with few exceptions. A J's is definitely an exception. Run by a warm and friendly Canadian couple with a great sense of humor, A J's is the place to go if you're looking for what is EASILY and by far the best hotdog on the island. Mine had incredible homemade chili, and it was loaded. Come with a bib! Steve had their world famous wings and we found out why they're world famous. Lots of taste without drowning in sauce, and simultaneously crispy and tender...and yes, they have the wet wings, drowning in sauce variety too, if that's what you like...Their onion rings are made in a fresh, homemade beer batter-YUM! And their drinks: POTENT potables! Their rum punch really does pack a punch! And on top of all this: It's also a kid-friendly place where the whole family can enjoy a taste of home. Love it, love it, love it! We are their newest regulars!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    15
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“One of the friendliest spots on a friendly island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was one of our favorite places on our recent trip to San Pedro. They really do have the best wings on the island and some great hot dogs too.

Also, the owners Mike and Danyelle were both awesome and a lot of fun to talk to when we went to this awesome little bar.

Definitely a place we would go back to if we find ourselves in San Pedro again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The wings are the best, especially the dry rub Jamaican and the Joe's secret rub! The staff is very friendly. And it might be the only bar in town that has Belikin on tap, which taste great in a ice frosted glass :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Ditch Dogs Rock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband, son and I have been vacationing at San Pedro for several years and this place ROCKS! My 12-year-old son wanted to go everyday for the "ditch dogs" (hot dogs with macaroni & cheese on top)! The wings and rings are great but the cherry on top is Mike and Danielle! After just a week on the island, they felt like long-time friends! AJ's fits into the island living at San Pedro so well yet it is a taste of home! The cheese fries are great too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lk. Stevens, washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mike and Danielle Rock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The owners of AJ's are a wonderful Canadian couple named Mike and Danielle. They are the most likeable out going folks that you will love meeting. My husband and I were on vacation for 9 days and I am pretty sure that we only missed going to AJ's once while in San Pedro. They have the only frozen rum punch on the island that I could locate, and it was fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed their, hot dogs, a couple of different flavors of hot wings a also a couple of flavors of the chicken nuggets. We lucked out and were their back seat passengers on the poker run. What a blast we had and what a great way to visit some of the other bars on the south end of the island. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Average Joe's Bar also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Average Joe's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Average Joe's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.