We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most memorable things I've EVER done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary

ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary
No 5 Conch Shell Street | PO Box 183, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 00000, Belize
+501 621-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join ACES's Expert Croc Team on an evening, educational, crocodile eye-shine aboard the "Swamp Thing." Search for predatory crocodiles to capture, tag, & re-release to help ACES Biologists collect scientific data on Belize's wild & threatened American crocodiles. (ACES is permitted by the Belize Forest Department.) Your expedition takes you through mangrove islands & into the starlit night while searching for Isla Bonita's extraordinary, nocturnal wildlife and the infamous saltwater crocodiles in their natural habitat. Departing from "The Office Bar & Grill" at 6:30 pm, this extraordinary 2-3 hour expedition is only $50USD per person. All proceeds go to crocodile rescues, research, and education in Belize.
Ontario, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable things I've EVER done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow!
This was truly an experience that surpassed anything I thought it may be. Going into it, I thought we would maybe be taken out on a boat and shown some spots with a slight chance of seeing a Croc. Little did we know that we would get to experience both a crocodile release and a catch. Chris and Vince were top notch when it came to explaining the differences between a croc and an alligator, and also bringing awareness to the community. I recommend this trip to anyone that visits Belize. I got some cool video and pics of the entire crocodile adventure. I'll post them a bit later. On a scale of 1 to 10 I think my whole group of friends would agree we rate it a 20!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank Dave for the rave review!
Can't wait to so those pics and video! Please be sure to tag ACES/ American Crocodile Education Sanctuary on FB, if you have. Thanks for joining us and helping take a bite out of extinction!
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    15
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So fun and informative.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This tour was a great learning experience even for someone who thought he knew a fair bit about crocodiles. Chris and Sheri knew so much about the crocodiles and are so passionate about what they are doing to help conserve and protect this species. We caught a hatchling and a juvenile croc and got to tag them and learn so much about them. A very fun experience for the whole family to enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks Reid!
So glad you enjoy it! It was a slow night with the full moon and all. Come see us again sometime.
Cheers,
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This trip is a must do for anyone visiting San Pedro. The tour starts at the Reef Village (which is not actually on the beach but just north of the bridge on the west side; note you cannot keep walking on the beach once you reach the bridge). It is about a 25-30 minute walk from the center of San Pedro. After we got settled on the boat Vince and Chris gave us some educational background on the crocodile in Belize and the efforts of ACES to educate the public.

It was fascinating to watch Vince and Chris search for crocodiles as we drifted through the mangroves. We spent about half an hour with one very clever crocodile as both guides got in the water and tried to wrangle him, but every time they got close he would slink deeper into the mangroves. We did eventually find one towards the end of the tour. This was a younger one who had been microchipped and released the night before. Everyone in the group was able to hold him as we learned more about the biology of the crocodile. We then brought him to a safer part of the lagoon and Vince let us release him there. They had also brought three baby crocodiles born at Vince's house and we got to release them as well.

Even if we hadn't been able to locate any crocodiles the trip would still get 5 stars as just being out on the water and going through the mangroves at night is great. We had a clear sky and could see lots of stars in addition to the full moon.

The excursion finishes about three blocks north of the Phoenix Hotel, south of the bridge.

Definitely bring bug spray as the mosquitoes are quite prevalent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review jpkitner. A little secrete: if you cut through at Coco Loco's Beach Bar you can get back on the beach and walk all the way north. I'm so glad you all moved the little croc that was previously chipped. He was pretty close to where they clean fish for market and would probably grow up learning to feed indirectly from man. Let's hope he stays put.
Thank you for helping to take a bite out of extinction!
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our first excursion in San Pedro. No large crocs were tagged this particular night, but Vince did get in the water with a very large one in murky water that he thought best not to tackle. We had the opportunity to release 6 young crocs that had been hatched in Vince's back yard after being saved from raccoon ravaged nests. We also had the opportunity to release a young croc back into the wild that hadn't been thriving. This is also an experience in seeing how various populations of San Pedro live out amongst the mangroves. It's educational in many ways. Highly recommend especially for families.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your excursion! And thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Please feel free to email me any photos or video at acesnpo@hughes.net; and, I'll post them on our website. Sorry I didn't get a chance to meet you - maybe next time your in Belize,
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting and educational tour !!! A "MUST " visiting Ambergris Caye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were two families with children aged 7, 10, 11 and 4 years, looking for something different than the usual vacational distractions. So we heard about ACES and decided to take a tour with Vince and Chris.
We were REALLY lucky to find a huge American Crocodile (10 feet long), very close to San Pedro town...Chris did a very instructive explanation so that our children could understand everything and became even more motivated to learn about this endangered species.
We encourage everybody to take a tour with them in order to help saving this wonderful animal.
All the money you pay for the tour is used for this organisation, in order to relocate and conserve the crocs and do research about them.
Thank you so much!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrocsBelize, Owner at ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
You are most welcome Jordifont6! Sounds like a missed a great croc excursion! So glad that you all had a wonderful time. If you have any photos please feel free to email them to me at acesnpo@hughes.net, so that I cans see what I missed while in the states. I would love to share them on our website as well.
Thank you for the fab review!
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACES / American Crocodile Education Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.