We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Picasso

Casa Picasso
Stingray Street, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
501-226-4443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Tapas, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casa Picasso is back! Now in our second season, this award winning Ambergris Caye, tapas restaurant and martini lounge has recently reopened with a menu designed by 4 Star NY TImes Chef, Hasni Ghazali and Executive Chef, Benjamin Herriman. Featuring an eclectic tapas and full menu using local and organic ingredients, unique entrees and extensive vegetarian options. Well paired wine list and distinctive martinis in an artful setting make any occasion memorable. Tuesday - Saturday, 5:30 - 10:00 PM. Reservations: 226-4443 "Dine Artfully"
Phoenix
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd anniversary at Casa Picasso. When I made the reservation I asked them if they could provide a rose for the table as that has been my tradition loo these many years. I did so knowing that this was the tropics and not expecting them to comply. Amazingly there were two roses awaiting our arrival and they also gave us a couple if glasses if champagne. Oh, and the food was spectacular - lobster sliders, lobster Mac and cheese, and fish filet cooked in a banana leaf. Just outstanding. Oh, and they provided the taxi in both directions. A great celebration at a great restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    32
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

If you can find this place it's well worth the off road adventure!! Lobster canoli is to die for and everything else for that matter!! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best on the island. I would not miss this! It's off the beaten path and they will send a cab for you! Again, don't miss this!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mediocre meal, overpriced, but nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had been to Casa Picasso many times over the years prior to the new owners, Jackie and Adam reopening the restaurant. The menu is totally different, and we were very disappointed with it compared to before.... It was also a ghost town at 7:30 pm (never a good sign!), and we made a reservation online a week before going, but never got a reply or email confirmation... We definitely didn't need one, as we were one of 2 couples that entered the restaurant over the span of 2 hours....

We had an appetizer of mushrooms drizzled in chili oil and covered in goat cheese that was not very good.... and our meals were not much better (vegetable lasagna was boring and bland), so we skipped dessert.

The owners could not have been nicer - Adam even helped us with golf cart issues after dinner - and Jackie shared lots of stories with us about living on the island, but the food just wasn't worth the price we paid and there are far more scenic places to eat on the island, as Casa Picasso is on the lagoon side of the island, no where near the ocean. Save your money for a nice scenic meal at Rico's at Banyan Bay or the Palmilla at Victoria House!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquelinefldmn, Owner at Casa Picasso, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear chipsah0y, Thank you for your review. We appreciate both the good and the not so good reviews as we are constantly trying to meet the expectations of our diners. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We totally understand your thought process as I am sure that you were expecting a menu that hasn’t been in existence for over 5 years from your last visit to San Pedro based on our conversations. The previous owners offered a menu that highly emphasized an Italian style of preparation and I am sure that you were expecting the same menu or at least a similar menu. We felt very strongly that to make it our own, that we could not serve the same menu items and chose an eclectic menu style that featured local, organic and non-GMO foods with an emphasis on fusion dishes that relate to our clientele’s wants of both comfort and creative food preparations. And Yes, it was a very slow night for us at the “Casa”, but we had just come off of two sold out events the week prior and had been very busy the night before and the night after you dined. With over 90 restaurant choices on the island now and probably only 30 or so from tip to tip on the island back in 2007 to 2008, competition is stiff here and we can never expect that we will be the number one choice for all of those visiting San Pedro especially with so many options available now. Thursday is typically a slower night for us as it is the night of the famous chicken drop and many diners will be in town. As for your comments about your email reservations, we have scoured our emails and still cannot find yours. Our concern is that since you had an email relationship with the previous owner, that you may have used that email address to make your reservation. Our email address is info@casapicassobelize.com, reservations@casapicassobelize.com or at casapicassobelize@gmail.com or you can visit our web-site at casapicassobelize.com which also has our current menu and daily specials. Please let us know if you did use one of the above listed email addresses as we would like to investigate to make sure that we are not losing any other reservations as so far none have been reported to us by our patrons. Again, we thank you for your input and hope that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable. Adam and Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scotch, Cigars and Steaks....What's not to like??!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Myself and my friends had what has to be declared one of the best local crowd experiences we've ever had the privilege to attend! 50, 75 people, I have no idea, but the house was packed with the best group put in a restaurant that I've spent time with that's for sure. From the owners and their decor and hospitality, the chef Ben who presented a meal that would rival ANY 5 star restaurant, and the local business owners who extended their hands to us "token tourists", the time all together was absolutely perfect. If you are traveling to San Pedro please trust me, the food and ambiance of Casa Picasso is well worth making an effort to go and experience! I WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Picasso also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Casa Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Picasso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.