We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventures - snuba and Lamanai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Expeditions San Pedro - Day Tours

Discovery Expeditions San Pedro - Day Tours
Exotic Caye Beach Resort Pier, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
0115016712882
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discovery Expeditions San Pedro Tours, located on the island of Ambergris is the premier connection for great underwater adventures that an entire family can enjoy. Discovery Expeditions is the only authorized tour operator in Belize for Snuba® and Sea Trek®. Snorkeling tours, diving tours and day tours to mainland attractions are also offered. Discovery Expeditions San Pedro is located on the Exotic Beach Resort pier in San Pedro Town (0.8 miles South of the San Pedro Town Center).
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great adventures - snuba and Lamanai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I had two great adventures through Discovery -- thanks to Rico, who arranged our tours. First, we thoroughly enjoyed our snuba outing. Discovery is the only outfit on the island that offers snuba - a cross between scuba and snorkel. Definitely give snuba a shot if you don't want to spend the time and money to become scuba certified but want to have the underwater experience. We saw dozens of types of fish, several turtles, sting rays, nurse sharks, and beautiful coral. Our snuba guide, Conrad, was outstanding and very patient with me when I panicked for a few minutes while acclimating to the snuba breathing device. Much appreciated! We also really enjoyed our trip to Lamanai through Discovery. They organized our quick flight to the mainland and all other transportation. Our Lamanai guide, Vel, was a delight and was very informative about the Mayan culture. Discovery is conveniently located on a dock off the beach in the middle of town. Please visit them (or arrange your tours before your vacation) -- you'll be glad you did.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Springs, CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Snorkeling is good, Snuba is Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was my second time using Discovery Expeditions to go snuba diving because it was great the first time. On this tour to Hol Chan, Carlos did a great job pointing out marine life when we were in the water. We also went snorkeling at Shark Ray Alley and the nurse sharks there are amazing. You will see a lot of marine life so take your camera.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Snuba is very cool. I'm an ok swimmer underwater but not great on top at all.. So this activity was perfect for me. Don't hesitate if you're not a strong swimmer. Our guide was even accommodating & let me snuba w a life best on at first to get use to it. After 10 min... I was deep underwater enjoying it all! The company is great. We were picked up and dropped off right in front of our hotel. The tour with them also includes snorkeling at shark ray alley.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great trip !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took the trip to Lamanai with Discovery Expeditions. We flew to the mainland to meet our guide at which time we took an hour drive inland to the boat dock on New River. Then a 90 minute boat trip down river, stopping along the way to observe plant and animal life. Upon arrival to the park we began a very informative tour with our guide Vel . We learned very much regarding the Mayan culture. With only 8% of the site open at this time I am sure we will go back at some time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
161 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“SNUBA is a great step up from snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went for our first SNUBA trip with Juan. We love snorkeling, but are not divers. Juan was very helpful, informative and patient. He stayed with us the whole time and made sure we had a great experience.
We still love snorkeling, but SNUBA allows you to stay at the level where the marine life is without having to constantly surface for air. It was a fun, different way to see Hol Chan.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Expeditions San Pedro - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Expeditions San Pedro - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Expeditions San Pedro - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.