We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline's Cookin'

Caroline's Cookin'
Coconut Drive | Right Beside Airport Terminal, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 226-3188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 137 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Barbecue, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Caroline's Cookin' serves international fare all made from scratch. We are located on Coconut Drive right across the street from the San Pedro Airport next to the Sunbreeze Hotel. For breakfast our popular items are homemade pancakes and the island favorite huevos rancheros. For Lunch our popular items are fresh fish tacos which you could get mild, medium or spicy. Then for dinner our three favorite dishes are chicken, pork, fresh fish, shrimp, conch, and lobster served with your choice of curry, Jerk or Caribbean sauces with your choice of 2 out of our 9 delicious homemade side dishes. We look forward to having you come and visit! At Caroline's our customers are considered as family!
philly
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were at the San Pedro airport with a little time before our flight to Belize City and then home to the states. We had the idea to get some lunch to go, knowing there would be nothing available but airport food for the rest of the day. I saw Caroline's right across the street and remembered seeing some positive reviews so we popped in and ordered a fish wrap and a chicken wrap to go. It was Caroline herself who energetically put our order together and threw a few extras like sliced bananas in. The food was excellent, fresh and tasty. While waiting for our order to be prepared, I chatted with a couple who were ecstatic over the brunch they'd just finished eating.

This was our 9th annual Belize trip and our first visit to Caroline's. We stay on Ambergris Caye and although we frequently take the water taxi into San Pedro for meals, we're rarely near the airport. We'll certainly be returning to Caroline's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    85
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

First ignore the jerk below my review. I was there and saw what happened. He was an arrogant crook. He and his wife ran out and did not pay the tab and when Carolina ran after him he told her he was going to distroy her on tripadvisor. Great food good price. Don't miss seeing her while u r in Belize. She is ruff around the edges but loves to joke with people. I wanted to order a to go breakfast. Her response was. I don't do take out what do u think I am mcdonalds. She turned around and said ok for U I will do it and started laughing. Don't be taken back by her sense of humor. Great place. We have been 4 times this week for all meals.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and welcoming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Food was good pineaple juice was made from fresh fruits. We will definitely come back. Haters always gonna hate, I hope Sharks won't eat you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food & great hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Definitely a must-do ! Caroline is so nice, everything is fresh made (food and beverages) and delicious. You'll be very welcome here !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I'm surprised at the comment about having to pay for the toilet if you don't eat in an establishment. This is common practice is most places outside of North America! I've been to Caroline's numerous times, and each time the food is fantastic, and the service is awesome! Caroline is always friendly and full of stories! I guess if you give out positive energy, you will receive it back! Sorry this review was posted ... His comments are completely inappropriate, and seriously ... It's $2 Belize! The cost of running a business and paying rent in San Pedro is very high ... So $2 to use a bathroom if you are not eating there isn't much to ask!
Keep up the good work Caroline! Your reputation is well established, and well deserved!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Cookin' also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caroline's Cookin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline's Cookin', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.