We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soul food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline's Cookin'

Caroline's Cookin'
Coconut Drive | Right Beside Airport Terminal, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 226-3188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 121 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Barbecue, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Caroline's Cookin' serves international fare all made from scratch. We are located on Coconut Drive right across the street from the San Pedro Airport next to the Sunbreeze Hotel. For breakfast our popular items are homemade pancakes and the island favorite huevos rancheros. For Lunch our popular items are fresh fish tacos which you could get mild, medium or spicy. Then for dinner our three favorite dishes are chicken, pork, fresh fish, shrimp, conch, and lobster served with your choice of curry, Jerk or Caribbean sauces with your choice of 2 out of our 9 delicious homemade side dishes. We look forward to having you come and visit! At Caroline's our customers are considered as family!
Manitou Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Soul food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I first tried Caroline's cookin' about 5 years ago, at a bbq at Canuck's; then more bbq at the Road Kill. On a recent trip, last year, I enjoyed the greatest feast of the week, at her restaurant, while she sat at my table, made sure I had more food than I could handle, and inspired me with her thoughts about the meaninglessness of money. Caroline pours her soul into her cookin', as she does the rest of her life, and I always leave her meals with a stronger soul.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    85
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service and very good Belize-an home style cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The service is awesome. The food is very good and looks like something you would have prepared for a special dinner in a local home. No pretense just affordable quality food prepared in peaceful atmosphere. If not for the load mouth Republican next to us that assumed that all other successful white people would be anti-Obama it was a perfect meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good honest food hosted perfectly by Caroline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place with local feel, nice simple menu well cooked and tastes great. Caroline is a great host.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Any Warm Dive Site
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices, great owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ate at Caroline's twice during our stay; both times for lunch. Our dive shop, Scuba School Belize, recommended Caroline's as a place for great food and great prices. We have to say their recommendation was spot on.

Each time, the food was great, the place was spotless, the service was great and as a bonus we chatted with the ever energetic Caroline. She is passionate about her food's quality and her restaurant's service.

If you want an un-pretentious atmosphere with great food at a fair price, you need to try Caroline's Cookin'.

NWD

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food in San Pedro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've stayed four months in San Pedro during the last twelve months and Caroline's is always my favorite place to eat. The standard of all the food is excellent, but I never have to look at the menu, I always order the shrimp curry. It's awesome. Food is always perfect, Caroline takes as much care of her diners as if we were guests in her own home. No better place than Caroline's Cooking. Wish we had this restaurant in Winnipeg!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Cookin' also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caroline's Cookin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline's Cookin', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.