We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ay Caramba!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caramba! Restaurant

Caramba! Restaurant
20 Pescador drive | Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 1011, Belize
501-226-4321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Specialized on Mexican,Caribbean and local cuisine
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Ay Caramba!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just had lunch at this spot in San Pedro. Awesome bubbly service right from the door. Greeted with a smile and sat down curbside, or if you've been to San Pedro it's Roadside lol. Really good food, quick and friendly service. Good music to top it off. Man this was what I was looking for in San Pedro. Fried shrimp and fries conch was on point!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    178
    48
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A haven of affordable food and air conditioning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We traveled to San Pedro in late October. It was hot. Incredibly hot. Like I couldn't think straight kind of hot. So we came in for the air conditioning. But the food was yummy (great fajitas and burritos) and they made wonderful margaritas. We came back twice for lunch and it was spot on both times. Friendly staff, nice décor. It was a pleasant change from the omnipresent beach bar/restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We Were In San Pedro During The Off (Slow) Season But We Liked It During That Time Because It Is Not Crowded. Caramba Has Nice Décor And Is Air Conditioned (Not All Restaurants In San Pedro Are Air Conditioned!!!). My Garlic Buttered Snapper Was Excellent And So Were The Sides. My Wife Enjoyed Here Meal Also. Our Waiter Was Kind Of Grumpy But The Rest Of The Staff Were Very Friendly And Helpful. The Price Of Our Meals Were Reasonable. We Would Have Come Back To Caramba Again But We Had So Many Restaurants To Try Out In San Pedro.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second visit was a bummer !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Allot of restaurants were closed when we were there for low season so when we saw Caramba all lite up we were pleased. Our first visit was fine, nice waiter and the food was ok, we tried again a few days later, a holiday and more places closed. First off who likes a grumpy waiter ? We tried joking with him and no go. He didn't want to be there and he kept going out the front door and drinking something he had set there. All the other staff seemed very friendly and we could see them visiting with their customers. Then our food wasn't very good at all. Won't go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Group of 8 and everything we ordered was spot on. Drinks were made to perfection and the food was awesome.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba! Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caramba! Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caramba! Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.