We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place bad food!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caramba! Restaurant

Caramba! Restaurant
20 Pescador drive | Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 1011, Belize
501-226-4321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 121 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Specialized on Mexican,Caribbean and local cuisine
Miami, Florida
1 review
“nice place bad food!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If your looking for overpriced taste bad food this is the place you would want to check out first...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Manager at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello Henry S
It is such a pity that you did not have a pleasant dinning experience with us at Caramba. It is a very rare case for us to not please all of our customers equally. Probably we could not meet your expectations but we would like to apologize for this. Nevertheless, we would like to invite you back to our business and try out for once and this time trust me we won't let you down. As to the price we only charge a set price for all of our foods and as we believe is not costly because we also offer free WIFI air conditioning and also complimentary ceviche upon arrival in which not all restaurant can provide that to their costumers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    220
    56
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
“RESTAURANT FROM HELL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

DO NOT WATSE YOUR MONEY AT CARAMBA! I found a hair in my food, asked the waiter to take it back. Ordered a batch of shots, paid 60$ for a glass full of nastiness and got a fried fish that was so hard it probably was cooked by Jesus himself! The service was horrible and in the end I was still over charged And had to pay for the hairy chicken fingers! I ended up just walking out and leaving the food there. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. They are disgusting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localsfav, Manager at Caramba! Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Our Management and Staff of Caramba are not pleased on the fact that, what you had stated above is a basket full of mendacities in your review. Why is it so? To start of Ms. Miriamm141, our bartender offered you the Chocolate Cake Shot in which you were conscious on what all the shot had consisted of and the waiter asked you if you wanted to know the price and you responded to him “I don’t care about the price” you had refused to us to that you did not want to know about our price and that was something we cannot control. Furthermore, something like that would have cost you $90 in any local bar and since this type of shot is not our menu we charged you only $60 BZE for the batch. In addition, our bartender has years of experience in the bartending field and trust me he knows what he is doing. About the incident of the appetizer we had strongly investigated what was on the food since it caught the attention of our managers and what was on it was a thin fine piece of thread, that food was immediately removed from your bill. Why didn’t you notice it was removed from the bill? Because we cannot understand the fact that why are you saying that we still over charged and that you had to pay for the hairy chicken fingers! because Ma’m you did not even saw the bill.

Ms. Miriamm 141, everything started when the water came to your table to remove the shot glasses and that’s when you asked about the price of the shot. He had stated to you the price of the shot and that’s when an argument started between you and your partner. The gentleman that was sitting beside you was in displeasure because of your actions and had told you “why would you order something without knowing the price” You were very loud and you along with your other friends were the only ones in the restaurant and this is true because we were about to close. The argument continued with you and your partner and we noticed that you left your partner behind with no money and you also left the other couple along with your partner behind. After 10 minutes your partner left behind you. Before he left the waiter had asked him if he wanted us to pack the food for him and he accepted and the food was packed. That is when he took off with the food and only left $100BZE leaving the other couple with the bill and their food and not having enough funds to pay the bill when it came to their attention. Also, we had noticed that were making several calls and someone came with money and that’s how they managed to pay the bill. To be more specific, on the bill the appetizer was completely removed from the bill and for the whole bill we had given you guys a 12.5% discount. Also, the food that was taken by your partner it most have already been cold and hard by the time he had taken it with you. It was not given to you at your table like that.

So please Ms. Miriamm141, try to be more specific as to what really occurred that night while dinning with us. As many trip advisor readers may notice most of our negative reviews come from our Guatemalan neighbors and we still don’t try to be prejudice and not welcome them to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Food good, staff excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a nice meal, most all the food was good in Belize, so I suspect that good food is a given, however we had excellent service -- ask for Sponge Bob... he made custom drinks (see if he can remember how to make a "Lime Pearl") and was super friendly without us feeling that he was in it just for a tip (I love that). Great location, air conditioned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wil definitely go again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

All seating is inside, no views, aircon cold. Decor lovely. Staff v smart. Most important though- food was great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“So enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband, my daughter and her boyfriend as well as myself went to Caramba for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were so friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. We loved it so much that we went and had dinner there again the next evening. I had the coconut pie the first night for dessert and the key lime pie the next. Both were delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba! Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Caramba! Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caramba! Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.