We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dive shop in Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Scuba Center

Aqua Scuba Center
Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 226-4775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 75 Activities in San Pedro
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aqua Scuba Center is Belize's Ultimate Dive and Tour Center. 
Aqua Scuba is proud to boast the newest and biggest dive boats allowing us to
accommodate individuals and groups with comfort and safety. 
We are your one stop shop for all diving and leisure related activities. Aqua Scuba is affiliated with the Ambergris Caye’s top Resorts and we can assist with air and room reservations. Contact us today to plan your trip to paradise!
Oakland, California
1 review
“Best dive shop in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

In last eleven years I dove in many destinations around the World, San Pedro Belize is the place that I like to visit just for eight to twelve days at least once every year. Five years ago during my first trip to San Pedro I selected Agua Scuba Center as the people I will dive with and I never have a single reason to look at any other operation. The diving stuff and management at Aqua Scuba Center is professional and willing to help you with any problem you may have including dinner recommendations. Everyone is taking their job very seriously as one may expect form reputable diving operation, but at this same time all of the guests will have fun being entertain by the crew. Aqua Scuba provide everyone with rental equipment on as needed bases, the boats are relatively large and sized appropriately depending on the number of divers.
The Great Belizean Barrier Reef is just five short minutes away which is an additional big advantage of diving in San Pedro.

Andrej

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    38
    10
    17
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great days with Aqua Scuba Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great days in Belize with Aqua Scuba Center.

Reservation was fast and clear, and with many options and facilities (even the Hotel).

The divemasters are really good, they let you dive in your limits, and always safe. Nice dive boat, very spacious. And always in time!!!!! that's very important to. Thanks a lot to Doriana and Ernest (divemasters), and to Eduard (Desktop). Thanks a lot to Andre (reservation).

For sure I'll be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If I could give negative stars, this place would have 10! The owners are extremely rude to the customers, over charge, and make you pay only cash after advertising that credit cards are accepted. We signed up for the blue hole dives (day consists of 3 dives, picnic in Half Moon Caye, and Rum Punch), and told us that we were getting a "deal" by only having to pay 260 USD intsead of 300 USD. This also included the 40 USD park fee for the Half Moon Caye. On the way there, their run-down, unsanitary, boat, broke down, making us not able to go to the Caye for lunch and shortened the dives. Not only did we not get our park fee back, we found out that we were charged more than everyone else on the boat, and did not receive any sort of compensation for their mistakes. In short, it's better to not dive at all than to use this company. HORRIBLE, RUDE, FALSE ADVERTISING!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquascuba22, Manager at Aqua Scuba Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It is unfortunate what we are getting the blame for another dive company. When this guest came to book the blue hole trip with us our boat was already full for the following day. It was their last day so we booked them with another dive company. It was the other dive company's boat that broke down and not ours. These guest were never on our dive boat. That company did not want to give a refund and since the money was paid to them we cannot refund the money. Park fees are paid to the audubon society for visiting the blue hole. Not sure why someone would feel they deserve a refund for park fees after visiting the park. This was us doing a nice gesture by getting them on a blue hole trip since it was their last dive day, turning into a negative review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater San Diego Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for Scuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I completed our open water PADI certification with Aqua Scuba. When we came to Belize, we had already completed our classroom portion and confined water dives. Our instructor was ARGYLE JEX. He was a GREAT instructor.

This was our first time coming to Belize and our first time diving in the open water. We had a group of 8 people and we tried to work out our trips so as many people in our group can come even though we all wanted to do different things such as finishing PADI, certified divers, and snorkelers.

We managed to convince a few of our friends to go on a "resort dive" with us. Neither one of them had ever been diving, nor snorkeling before and they enjoyed it. One of the girls was a little uncomfortable, but ARGYLE was able to keep her calm and even held her hand throughout most of the dive.

He was professional, made it easy to learn and definitely made it an enjoyable experience.

Unfortunately, they weather wasn't the greatest, we went a couple days after a hurricane Ernesto and there were beautiful thunderstorms, but we were not ready to brave 5 ft waves to make it to the Blue Hole.

For the price, Aqua Scuba does not work through the tourist sites or resorts so they are considerably cheaper than paying the 'tourist' mark up fees.

I highly recommend them for scuba diving.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly and flexible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The biggest dive shop on the island is Amigos del Mar - that's where everyone tells you to go first - the manager there was so unfriendly, nearly rude, so didn't even consider diving with them. All he seemed to care about was money!
Came to Aqua Scuba where a nice lady explained both local dives and the Blue Hole trip. We could try out our rental gear and have a look at the boats. The boat to the blue hole has two toilets (no flush) and lots of space for everyone. Basic but good enough! There's maximum 7-8 divers per dive guide tho the blue hole is done with a big group and all dive guides because of the fast decent to 40 meters. Always a dive master with a dive computer so you are within the safety limits.
Cheaper than the other dive shops around and I think it's not worth spending the extra money to go with someone else - this is a perfectly good dive shop with staff always smiling !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Scuba Center also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Aqua Scuba Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Scuba Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.