We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Belize” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sueno del Mar
12 Miles North San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Maple Ridge, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas in Belize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our room at Sueno Del Mar was everything we could hope for and more. It was clean, spacious and well equipped. The pool was lovely, but the water quite chilly. We spend lots of time pool sided and were thankful that the resort was not busy because we were able to find lounge chairs. Although the hotel boasts many amenities, the supply of lounge chairs around the pool is minimal and there are no loungers on the beach. We were disappointed that the beach was not swimmable because it's very shallow and grassy. That said, it wasn't really a big deal, as we opted to enjoy the ocean via the kayaks and hobie cat which are available for guests to use free of charge.

The staff at Sueno Del Mar were really great and they made every effort to ensure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible.

The grounds are well manicured but one thing I found irritating was the smell of the insecticide that was sprayed on the paths almost every day, aside from that we found the facilities quite lovely.

We thought there was a grocery store on site, but there wasn't so we were glad that we shopped for groceries in San Pedro before we headed to the resort. I believe the kitchen will provide what you're looking for if they have it in stock otherwise someone can pick it up for you during the next trip to town. The front desk carries a number of toiletries and necessities.

Remember to bring bug spray and sunscreen :) The weather was perfect!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms, which you pay more for are nice because they face the ocean, but the room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned home after a week at Sueno del Mar. The location of the resort is superb. The rooms were perfect - clean and comfortable. Most importantly, every staff member we encountered during our stay was friendly and helpful.
On arrival at the resort we were greeted on the dock with a welcome drink. During our stay we swam, fished and snorkelled from the dock and took the hotel kayaks out to the reef. The staff were extremely attentive to our needs - providing bait for us to fish, ensuring we were comfortable with equipment etc. - nothing seemed too much trouble.
The resort offers a number of day and half-day trips. We took one to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley where we swam with turtles, rays and sharks. It was an amazing day.
Many reviewers have commented on the location and it is true that the resort is located a little distance from San Pedro (approximately 30 min by boat). However, transport into San Pedro was never a problem for us and we enjoyed being a distance away from the town. We took advantage of the scheduled boat services from the hotel, (as they meet arrivals and drop off departing guests), to get free rides into town.
Guests have also commented on the Wifi service and whilst it is a weak signal, we were easily able to connect from numerous areas of the resort including our room.
I would highly recommend Sueno del Mar - the location is amazing and the staff ensure that your stay is memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuenodelMar1, Guest Relations Manager at Sueno del Mar, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sueno Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Sueno Del Mar for your recent Belizean Experience Vacation, and for the opportunity given to Sueno Staff to be able to make your vacation exceptional.
As for the distance we are from Town, yes, we are located 12 miles North from San Pedro, far from the hustle and bustle of Town. However, we make all effort on our hands to keep our guests entertained with complementary activities and complementary use of water sports and other sports equipment.
Concerning the WiFi, this is only available at the Restaurant; reason being that due to the distance we are from Town, we are not reachable to the local internet providers, therefore we count with Satellite Internet only which sometimes weakens when there is a high bandwidth traffic, ending with a slow speed. However, we are working on this matter in order to provide a better service and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.
We strive to make our guests stay unforgettable by catering all of their every need. We are trilled to have had you at Sueno Del Mar as we look forward to welcome you again in paradise in the near future.

Kindest Regards,


Sueno Del Mar Resort
Ambergris Caye
Belize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My 15 year old daughter and I spent 2 days in Sueno Del Mar the week before Easter. We had an excellent time. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. We stopped in town at the grocery before our boat ride over. We rode bikes, bathed in the sun, were greeted by an iguana poolside, played water volleyball with the other guests and enjoyed the beauty of the resort and the beautiful view of the water. Noel was a wonderful activities director. He took us snorkeling and out sailing on the Hobie Cat. He was a nice young man and really made our stay the best! I highly recommend Sueno Del Mar. Wonderful staff, lots of activities and great memories.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Sueno del Mar is set on the beautiful Caribbean within site of the fabulous Belize barrier reef and just south of the Bacalo Chico Marine Reserve. Great snorkeling, fishing, and boating. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate, and the condos very nice and clean. The staff is the best, including Carlos, Jose I and Jose II, Harrison, and Mark the manager, among many others. The staff will show you how to snorkel, sail, fish, and hunt for conch and lobster. They will clean your catch and the restaurant staff will prepare it for you. The complex has 24 hour security and is very safe. There are numerous excursions that you can arrange directly at Sueno which can be led by the staff or others to take you inland to distant locations like Lamanai where you can see Mayan ruins. All of the many trips are worth it and highly recommended.

As indicated in other comments, Sueno is not close to the hub-bub of San Pedro. This has many advantages, but does make it more difficult to shop or eat at various different restaurants if that is your emphasis. Nature, the beauty of the Belize barrier reef, and great people are what Sueno is all about. And yes, there are bugs at various times. But all wild and undeveloped locations have some.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

First timers to Belize: THIS LOCATION IS WAY WAY FAR FROM CIVILIZATION!

Beautiful resort, with great staff. Food at restaurant is very good, which is important because not many options.

The good: Staff, room size, room amenities, cleanliness, resort grounds, free use of equipment for water activities, nice clean pool.

The bad: mosquitoes and sand fleas (flies?)! My legs are covered with welts from being bitten each night, even with OFF and baby oil (recommended mixture). Only way to get anywhere is by boat, and boat, in low season, doesn't even run every day. (I have suggested they coordinate with nearby Tranquility Bay to at least offer a morning and evening boat round trip to San Pedro. The folks I mentioned this to actually said it was a good idea and will take to management).

So although without the remoteness and feeling of being trapped, I would have given this resort a 5 STAR but going there single for a dive weekend, this was a big letdown as other than the wonderful couples I met at the resort and nearby Tranquility Bay, I was disappointed at how remote and isolated I felt during the visit.

Room Tip: Rooms are basically Luxury Condos. There are only 2 or 3 rooms that are actually Ocean Front. Mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

After reading the numerous good reviews about Sueno Del Mar, me and my boyfriend decided that this looked like the best place for us. Coming from California, it is a bit of a journey (three planes and a boat ride) but still, very well worth it.

We arrived at Sueno to be greeted with two welcome "Rum Punches". We were immediately put into the hands of Edwin (amazing guy!!) who took us on a tour of the property and showed us our room. Now let me just stop at the room. All i can saw is WOW! and AMAZING. Our room was more like a small apartment, decorated beautifully, perfect for the Caribbean environment. The pictures of the villas do not do justice to how great and accomodating the rooms are. Everything was spotlessly clean, and I would like to give great thanks to the cleaning crew, who came in each day and went above and beyond in keeping our villa spotless.

The highlight of our vacation was the activities. We are a young couple, and although we were not trying to go somewhere with a nightlife and partying, we were definitely trying to get in some tours for our trip. Unfortunately, the mild Hurricane Ernesto came, and prevented us from going out on any tours on the first two days of our trip. However, once it had cleared up, guest services did everything they could to get some trips organized. Let me tell you, if you go to Sueno, you MUST do the all day trip to Caye Caulker, Hol Chan, and Shark Ray Alley (I fell in love with Shark Ray alley!!!!) Thanks to Jose and Harrison we got to arrange these trips.

Now, my boyfriend is a big fisher. His main goal was to "catch the big one" on our trip. Although he did not catch the 100 pounder he thought he would, he did get to fish off the dock each day and night. I must mention Edwin once again. Edwin went out of his way to get bait, fishing poles, and the necessary gear to assist my boyfriend meet his fishing needs. We learned so much from him about the resort, the reef, and the types of fish. By saying he went above and beyond would be an understatement. He truly cares about the guest and their needs, and he did is utmost best for us by making us very comfortable.

Another thanks to both our bartenders for the fun conversations and THE BEST MICHELADAS!!! Thank you to Jose at the front desk, always with a smile on his face and willing to help at any time. Thanks to our chef, and the security guards too. I could not walk at night without someone from security lighting my way with a flashlight. I always felt safe.

All in all, Sueno was a great trip for us. The only thing I advise to you, is that it is a 30 minute boat ride from town. The boat goes to town a lot to pick up arrivals and for departures, but make sure to keep on top of asking. I would say that voicing any questions you have while at Sueno is the best option to keep you "in the know". If you are expecting a happening nightlife, this is not the place. Amazing to relax, and get away from the rest of the busy world. We hope to return one day soon, and hope that all the amazing staff are still there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 weeks at Sueno del Mar and loved every minute. Everything is breathtaking including the rooms, landscaping, and reef right of the dock! We loved the privacy and quietness of Sueno but also the abundance of activities they offered. When we weren't relaxing by the pool we were taking the kayaks out and snorkeling by the resort, learning how to use the Hobie Cat, or taking bike rides along the beach. The best part about these activities is that they are all free when you stay at Sueno!! We were also able to go on a tour to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Ally with other people from the resort instead of having to book through someone else.

If we ever needed anything or wanted to go into San Pedro for the day all we had to do was ask. From the time we arrived to the time we sadly said our goodbye, we were truly in paradise!!

We could not have been more pleased with the atmosphere, service, or standard that Sueno del Mar has set! We look forward to returning again and want to thank Jose, Carlos, and the rest of the staff for such an enjoyable experience!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sueno del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno del Mar

Address: 12 Miles North San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Isla Bonita, known as the Island of San Pedro Ambergris Caye! It is the largest island in the Beautiful Country of Belize and home of the largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere. Sueno del Mar opened its doors in 2005 and represents the best that San Pedro has to offer. Walter, our taxi driver will pick you up at the San Pedro Airport and take you to Fido’s dock (pronounced Fee-doe-z), a local’s favorite Bar and Grill and great place to prepare for your scenic Caribbean boat ride to your home in paradise. Our Concierge staff will greet you at the resort’s dock and walk you through the spacious complex to your villa. Groceries, soft drinks and alcohol can be pre-ordered and in your villa upon your arrival at - info at suenobelize dot com. Due to our proximity to the reef; snorkeling, fishing, kayaking and Hobie cat sailing are activities you can experience right out your front door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel San Pedro
Sueno Del Mar Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueno del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sueno del Mar to your Saves list