We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums to your Saves list
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Grand Condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is an excellent property with modern large condos, great ocean view and excellent shoreline and pool. The ocean is very impressive. This is a fairly new resort and they are in the process of building an onsite restaurant and spa (there were many very good restaurants close by however). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and made the stay a pleasure. If you go rent a golf cart for transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCaribeBelize, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi, Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed staying with us! Great tip! Golf carts are our main mode of transportation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    56
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
131
114
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The resort was beautiful and had a very desirable beach front unlike some other resorts close by. The pool is gorgeous, large and very well kept and offered spectacular views of the ocean. The condos are also very clean, modern, and I was most impressed with the comfort of the bed. The resort is very close to the center of the city which was very convenient for shopping and night life, about a 10 min golf cart ride. Negative comments; the resort room service was not available during advertised hours of operation, it seemed very random and the food was not that great either. No fitness center or spa on site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCaribeBelize, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank You for staying with us and thank you for your review. Unfortunately at this moment we do not have a spa or fitness center. However we do offer in condo spa services, I do hope you were able to take advantage of this service. We hope to see you soon and service you better! We apologize for any inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

its a beautiful property with terrific staff and great accomodations. the rooms were very nice and new, we loved how great the kitchen was as we love to cook and theres nothing like a late night round of grilled sandwiches! we had 40 ppl staying in ~12 different rooms varying in size, including the grand suite, and there were no complaints. the only thing i wouldve liked to see is an onsite gym, but in belize it doesnt seem to be a common thing to have at a hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCaribeBelize, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review! We loved having you all here!
No onsite gym, but we're glad you enjoyed all our other amenities.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went on a trip to Belize with my son's karate master and fellow students/families. The master and his wife had been here before and raved about the place in advance. I was almost worried it was going to be anti-climactic but that was definitely not the case.

This place was beautiful all the way around. Really modern kitchens with all appliances/amenities. Comfortable bed. Walk in closet. Modern, large bathroom with tub and separate shower. There was a safe. A dock for iPod. DVD player (we needed to request this).

The pool area was gorgeous

The housekeeping staff was amazing. I gave the biggest tip ever to the woman who took care of our room. On top of all of the amazing service, she did our laundry every day even though we never asked. That was definitelya new experience for me.

The restaurant, Cowboy Doug's, had delicious food and large portions and reasonable prices for an upscale resort. They would also make dishes that weren't on the menu as long as they had the ingredients.

Also, great snorkeling under the pier at the beach directly in front of the resort.

Beautiful location, and walking distance to several nearby excellent restaurants.

We will definitely come back. We loved this place.

Room Tip: I believe they all face west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCaribeBelize, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and amazing review! Its so great to hear from our guests and to hear that they enjoyed their stay. We face East to the beautiful Caribbean Sea and Barrier Reef :) ,and we think its time to come back to see it anew :) Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a beautiful place! My friend and her husband bought a condo here. She and I were there to finish decorating it for rental. Very close to the beach. We bought alcohol at the Belize city airport arrival duty free shop. Then got on a 14 passenger plane for 20 minutes to San Pedro. Hotel picked us up in a minivan. We rented a golf cart for the rest of the week. That is the main mode of transportation there. You can drink a beer while driving, but you drive the wrong way on a one-way street, its a hefty fine!! Charles from the Grand Caribe took us to a sandbar on the other side of the island by boat, found a ton of shells there. Booked a snorkel excursion from hotel lobby to Hol Chan reef preserve and then fed the nurse sharks at Shark Ray Alley. Catamaran was called Seaduced. Very nice crew. Had beer, chips and homemade salsa, rum punch, fresh fruit after snorkeling on the way to Caye Caulker. Saw a lot of beautiful fish plus two moray eels, an octopus, and a lot of sharks! Stayed on Caye Caulker for two hours. Very laid back island, no big hotels there. The condos at grand caribe are super nice. Looks like every unit has a view of the beach. They have their own pier. I did snorkel around the pier and saw a huge sting ray hanging out plus some small colorful fish. Could not snorkel past the end of pier due to high boat traffic though. Belizeans are a very friendly people and the food they cook is excellent! Looking forward to going back! FYI - during the daytime there is a $5 US fee to go over the bridge in golf cart - round trip. After 9:00 p.m., it's free, toll booth closes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Grand Caribe does it all! We stayed for a week in April 2013 and can honestly say that we've never stayed in a more friendly or a more accommodating resort. From the moment we made our reservations the staff was in contact with us offering to arrange our flight from the mainland, set up any tours we desired, golf cart rental , and grocery stocking. It was truly a wonderful vacation. The accommodations are beautiful! Very clean and maid service everyday, in addition they offer complimentary laundry service. The setting is spectacular, with pristine beaches and beautiful pools. There are also several delicious restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely return. The location is about 2 miles out of San Pedro which was perfect, we were able to drive the golf cart into town when we chose, but also have the peace and serenity of being out of the hustle and bustle of town.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chico 1 which is directly on the beach. It was beautiful! We could walk off our porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I visited in February 2012 for a week to do some diving and see someplace new. We quite enjoyed ourselves at this resort. Once we booked our rooms, they promptly scheduled our flights from the mainland to Ambergris Caye and getting to the resort was really quite easy. They had also arranged for a golf cart rental and our cart was waiting for us upon arrival.

The grounds and well kept, clean and quite charming. The grounds felt safe, even at night. Many of the condos have individual owners, so the decor seems to be variable, based upon the owners taste. Not quite our style, but our room was clean and well-appointed. The bathroom was spacious, the shower was separate from the tub, not at all claustrophobic and reasonably well-maintained. The pool area is centrally located and intimate, but not terribly crowded. This is a family-friendly resort - so beware the children - but the pool was by no means overrun with kids. It has a lovely swim up bar, a nice infinity edge over looking the office and attentive service. My only disappointment (and I'm sure this is not unique to this facility) was that swimming in the sea isn't really doable on the resort's stretch of beach. The sea along this stretch of coast is used as a motorboat waterway, so as soon as the water gets deep enough to be good for swimming, you need to watch out for traffic. Their stretch of beach was maintained daily and much cleaner than adjacent stretches if you walk along the shoreline.

All in all, we had a very pleasant visit and will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.