We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums to your Saves list
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Saint Thomas, Canada
1 review
“Grande Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Summary
We (a retired couple) had a great time staying in a one-bedroom at the Grande Caribe for nine days in early February 2013. The staff on the front desk were great. The concierge was very helpful in booking all of our excursions which were top-notch. The cleaning, grounds and security staff were all very friendly. Our room felt new and it was very clean. The views from our 3rd-floor balcony were spectacular. The Grande Caribe grounds were immaculate and the beach was kept clean by many staff raking it each day. We really like the location of Grande Caribe with a proviso (see below). We always felt very safe. In summary we would highly recommend Grande Caribe, we hope to be back there soon.

Some Details
Room. As far as we can tell, all of the rooms should have ocean-views. The Fan associated with the A/C was very loud when it came on and we were unable to run it on "low". This was not a huge problem as we ran the A/C in the day and simply turned it off at night. The all-concrete structure kept the room cool enough for us through the night.

Stairs. There are lots of them, especially for those staying on the upper floors. This was not a problem for us. The staff quickly took our luggage and our groceries up to our room for us. We took everything we needed to the beach and pool, so we really didn't make many up-and-down trips.

Location. We arrived just after a two-week rainy period in Ambergris Caye. We flew Tropic Air (good experience) into San Pedro. We booked a Golf Cart from Moncho's (we highly recommend) just outside the airport. We loaded our luggage and bought some groceries in town on the drive north to Grande Caribe. In crossing the bridge (the "cut") headed north the "road" consisted of huge potholes full of muddy water. By "huge" we mean some potholes were the size of the Golf Cart (all four wheels in very deep water). It was extremely difficult to make that now 2-mile drive north while balancing luggage and groceries on our lurching Golf Cart. We laugh about it now. With hindsight, on arrival, a Taxi would likely have been a better choice for us over the Golf Cart (but still an extremely rough ride). Note they did grade the "road" later in the week.

For the remainder of our time at Grande Caribe we found it easy to walk to nearby restaurants (at night take a flashlight!) and to ride our rented bicycles into town along the beach (in the daytime). We also took water taxis. So we think Grande Caribe's location is pretty good. We'll call the location "perfect" when the local government (or somebody) builds a real road. Just laying down some gravel would be huge improvement.

On-Site Food. We ate at the Pool Bar a few times and found it to be very good bar food.

Pools. All were very clean. The hot tubs were too hot for us.

Beach. Very clean. Good quality lounges and umbrellas. Swimming off the beach was a little difficult. The bottom is not soft sand, it's more course material with some shells which makes it hard on the feet without water shoes. Tall people can walk-out as far as the end of the dock. However at that point you are into some heavy boat traffic all day long, so not such a good idea. We made-up for this by renting a sea kayak from the friendly folks at White Sands (1/4 mile north on the beach). We paddled out to a mooring buoy at the reef and jumped-in for great swimming and OK snorkelling. We also took snorkelling excursions via the Concierge. Our experience with Li'l Alfonse at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley was superb.

Room Tip: We think all of the rooms would have an ocean view. The higher you go the better the view (but more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    65
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
141
122
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our group or four (a couple and two single ladies) stayed at the Grand Caribe for a week in late January to celebrate a birthday. We absolutely loved our accommodations and our time in Belize! We stayed in a two-bedroom condo with a spectacular view of the Caribbean (building A, third floor). The condo was stocked well beyond what we expected and worked very well for our group. We took full advantage of the patio and loved waking up early to enjoy a cup of coffee and breakfast while we watched the sunrise over the water. All in all the unit was five star!

The resort has great amenities, and by far the best beach/dock that we saw (and we saw pretty much ALL of them). The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Prior to our arrival we were in contact with the staff inquiring about flights from Belize City, booking tours/golf carts, and asking other general questions…they were always very prompt in getting back to us and assisting in any way they could. While at the resort everyone we came in contact with was amazing (front desk, cleaning, maintenance, night security…EVERYONE), and we really appreciated the daily laundry service.

The transportation to/from the airport was appreciated and very reliable. For us, the location was great as we loved walking along the beach path into town to get groceries, go for dinner, ect. We did experience four days of rain during our trip, but were able to book a golf cart right through the resort to help us get around.

The only thing we did not enjoy about our stay was the poolside bar. We found the quality of the food poor for the price that we were paying. We ate there our first night as we had been traveling for 16+ hours and were tired…we never went back which is a shame as we are sure that if the quality were better it would make for a great spot to mingle with other guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayflower, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Family of three stayed at Grand Caribe the 1st week in January 2013. Our condo unit was absolutely great - more than I expected in terms of size and overall accomodations. We had a very nice balcony directly overlooking the main pool areas and we had a very nice view of the Caribbean. Everything was very positive about the accomodations at the Resort. We especially liked the fact that resort staff did our laundry at no additional charge on any day that we left any clothing on the floor.

In hindsight, I would have definately reserved a golf cart well before arrival. Multi-day bookings get a daily rate that seems not so unreasonable. A single day golf cart easily runs $75+. This Resort is about as far north of San Pedro as you'd want to be and there are only a handful of restaurants within walking distance of the Resort. Most of the restaurants that are within walking distance are very pricey. The one day we did decide to rent a golf cart, there were non available and so we had to re-arrange our activity plans so that we could get the most use of the golf cart on the following day. Long story short - splurge a little and have a golf cart available every day!

Don't come to Ambergris Caye in hopes of beautiful sandy beaches. They don't seem to exist anywhere. Grand Caribe has about as good a beachfront as you will find anyplace on the Caye but their beachfront is very small and there really isn't much "sand" to speak of - not like you may have seen in Florida or other great beach destinations.

If I'm ever fortunate enough to get another trip to Belize, I will certainly stay at the Grand Caribe, with daily golf cart reservation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at this property over New Years with a girl friend of mine - never been to Belize and kind of picked this spot because it looked "nice" - even during "the busiest week of the year" there were always plenty of pool chairs, even in the late morning or early afternoon! Very clean units, thorough daily maid service, friendly staff, fast service at bar. GREAT food & very friendly staff at Cowboy Doug's bar at the resort! Only downside is that it's the only food/drink option on resort property and it's small with no late night hours as to not disturb guests in surrounding units. Quiet property overall - very family friendly. Not a "party spot" - which might be good or bad depending on what you are looking for. Was perfect for a week getaway for 2 thirty-something girls looking to lay by the pool or beach, read, eat good food and have some drinks!

Few minor downfalls that we easily overlooked - wifi didn't work inside unit (owner of unit is responsible for this service apparently, not resort), but resort wifi worked great around pool, common areas, on our balcony and some times in our room. If you are relying on in-unit wifi for work this might be a problem! Iphone Facetime worked great to call US using resort wifi - in areas mentioned above. Had ants in the kitchen but "went away" if we were careful about not leaving food on counters. Other than that can't really think of anything we didn't like!

Side note: Rent a golf cart at least for a few days to get around town! Rent bikes to travel the areas north of town near the resort (bring a headlamp if you plan to bike after dark - no lights along beach). Water taxi from the resort pier to downtown is fast and cheap ($5 each way) - great option if you don't plan to stay out downtown past 10:30.

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom which was very spacious - 6 people would have been comfortable with pull-out so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wapato
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in January 2013 and cant wait for next winter to come around here so we can have an excuse to go back. Lovely weather, great accomodationns, wonderful people, good food....what more could we ask? This was my first trip abroad so I hope they didn't ruin it for the rest of the world... lol.... our future travel destinations will have their work cut out to compare with Ambergris Caye. Needless to say, we can hardly wait to go back, and we will.
Greg & Ronda

Room Tip: All rooms face the pools and the sea with the Caribbean breezes in your face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Othello, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Add a few palm trees (and a better beach, more on that later) and this would have the look and feel of a top resort on Maui. The accommodations are the best I have ever experienced - essentially perfect. The swim up bar and grill was great and we ate (and drank) there often. Pool is large, well designed, and not crowded. Service at every level (front desk, concierge, housekeeping) was outstanding. Their concierge arranged all of our activities (prior to arriving I had given them a list of things we wanted to do) and everything was great. They only work with the top people. They have a large dock where you can just sit and watch the ocean and all of the boats zooming by. We zipped into town on the convenient (although pricey) golf carts whenever we deisred. I have two teenagers (15 and 13) and they had a blast the entire time.

I have just a few minor nits. 1) The two hot tubs are tiny and weren't very clean. 2) Through no fault of theirs, the beach is small and there is lots of debris due to everything (both man-made and natural) washing up on shore. While the maintenance staff does a good job of cleaning up, it's hard to keep up with. Having said all this, if lounging around on a large, white sand beach is your idea of a great vacation, you wouldn't be choosing Ambergris Caye in the first place. 3) The place could really use an onsite (preferably beach side) shop where guests could rent snorkel gear, etc. 4) A fitness center (overlooking the ocean) would be great and should not be too much to ask for a place of this caliber. There is some wasted space near the beach which would be perfect for this.

The big downside, of course, with a place like this is the price. You can certainly stay elsewhere on the island for a lot less, and probably still come home and say you had a great trip. But if money is no object, and Ambergris Caye is your destination of choice, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff was great . . . very kind and helpful. The grounds are beautiful with several different pools to choose from. Cowboy Ron's serves great food and drinks, poolside. We walked from Grande Caribe south to the bridge to San Pedro and north about 2 miles, and Grande Caribe has BY FAR the best beach along this stretch of the island. The beach is clean, neatly groomed every morning by the diligent staff, and the water is clear.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.