We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Vacation! Top Notch Service, Fabulous Resort! Look No Further....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums to your Saves list
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Vacation! Top Notch Service, Fabulous Resort! Look No Further....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Belize - 2 adults and 2 college-aged children. We researched many resorts on Ambergris Caye and were very happy with our selection - the resort is beautiful and spotless, and the condos are well-furnished with fabulous views. Every single team member there is friendly, helpful, and professional. The resort service is top-notch: they make traveling there super easy, setting up the flights from Belize City, taxi, golf cart rental, and tours (with as much or as little help as you request). The super team members answered many, many questions via email - very professional and responsive. Just made it so easy to plan and be comfortable things were taken care of. There were all ages staying at the resort....definitely something for everyone here!

Grand Caribe's location is ideal - just north of the bridge into San Pedro, so you can easily drive a golf cart or bike into town. I highly recommend renting a golf cart - it's great fun and the easiest way to get around town. We were a little concerned about driving in the crowd there, but all cars, bikes, pedestrians, and golf carts are courteous and respectful of each other - even in the crowded busy season! There are plenty of restaurants north of town, also, and the hotel restaurant is great - but I'd recommend experiencing the town of San Pedro while you are there. We were there Christmas week, and the lights all over town were beautiful!

We scheduled tours for snorkeling (Hol Chin/Shark Ray Alley), fishing, and mainland (Xunantunich and Cave Tubing). Grand Caribe arranged the snorkeling and fishing - and we were extremely satisfied. We scheduled our own tour to Xunantunich/Cave Tubing - through Belize JungleTrek. The sites were fantastic - we highly recommend them both - but we would not use this firm again; very disappointed in their service and attitude (I have provided a separate review on JungleTrek).

While on Ambergris Caye, we walked or drove by most of the resorts we had researched in planning our Belize adventure. Without a doubt, we made the right decision to stay at Grand Caribe and will definitely stay again when we return. The more I think about our great vacation, the more I realize it was in great part to the friendly and service-focused team at Grand Caribe resort. Hope you decide to stay there - you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    55
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
131
111
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I have had numerous trips to Ambergris Caye over the years and we both agree that Grand Caribe was the best place to stay. We just can't understand why it's not the #1 listed! (maybe because it's only 2 years old). The resort compares to a Marriott or Ritz Carlton.

1) It's the nicest resort on the island that is closest to San Pedro without being in the town.
San Pedro is similar to a small Mexican town. For a "vacation", it's not where we would to stay to "relax" (i.e. a lot of people, sand/dirt blowing, congestion with taxis/golf carts etc.) . We have found that staying on the north side of San Pedro is a more "relaxing" feel. The resort is also in the nicer area of the island where larger homes are built.
2) Location Location Location! Grand Caribe is usually the first drop off and last pick up for the boat taxi (very important if you take the boat taxi). After several stays on the island, we found that the boat taxi is the easiest form of transportation. If you stay further north at Las Terrazas, Coco Beach etc., you may have a dozen stops before actually getting to town. At Grand Caribe, the taxi has already made it's stops (unless they have someone to pick up at the Palapa Bar) so once you get on the boat taxi, it usually heads straight to town. From Grand Caribe, it only takes us 5 mins to get to town versus 30 minutes if we stayed at a resort further north. Also, Grand Caribe is usually the first drop off when you come back to the resort before taking others to their destinations.
3) Better road to Grand Caribe than further north. If you are staying at Grand Caribe, the road is much better getting to town if you rent a golf cart. We've been at Las Terrazas and Coco Beach where we literally couldn't get to town on a cart after it rained and got stuck in the mud.
4) Great food at the resort and around you. We didn't go to town much while we were there. There's really no need since Grand Caribe will stock your refrigerator with what you need. They also delivered a case of beer & diet coke for us. The pool bar has great food and a wide variety. We fished one day, and they cooked our fish--they blackened some, grilled some, and fried some. Charlotte (best cook on this earth!) also made fish tacos for us. You can eat at the dining tables next to the pool or they will deliver to your room. There's also about 8 restaurants within a quarter mile each way. Our favorite and one of the best on the island is Aji next door. Capricorn is also great (1/4-1/2 mile north) and Mambos will pick you up free at the dock for dinner (great experience!). Palapa Bar is a must to visit since it sits out on the water - somewhere you could spend the entire afternoon!
5) 5 Star Accomodations, beautifully kept grounds and friendly service. Whatever we needed, they were there to please.
We noticed that all of the rooms have an ocean view and the resort has the largest ocean front compared to the other nicer resorts. Other resorts have a narrow ocean front and most rooms do not have an ocean view. This was important to us when having coffee in the morning (or a beer in the evening) on the patio.

What we have learned on our trips to the island:
-take a flashlight with you and bug spray for at night
-bring a few snacks from home ("American food" is more expensive especially crackers)
-the island is full of wonderful people: always helpful, speak English and remember you the next time you see them. We have never had a negative experience while vacationing on the island.
-leave the "heels" at home and pack lightly (we take less every time we go; you really just need a few t-shirts, shorts and bathing suit)
-the resorts with "grass roofs" attract mosquitos. They look cute, but may be a bit uncomfortable if staying there.
-we prefer flying Tropic Air to the island over Mayan Air.
-try some of the "local" restaurants for lunch or dinner. Waraguma has the best lobster burrito (make sure you get with coconut sauce). There are some really good "cheaper" restaurants that have great Belizean food on middle street, back street and side streets.

If going to the island, you just need to remember not to be in a hurry. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and leave your watch at home!

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Grand Caribe have an ocean view so do not recommend paying more for the "oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went over Christmas and was quite impressed. The condo we stayed in was very lovely and had a gorgeous view of the water. The staff was also very friendly and always helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here if you go to ambergris caye!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent 11 great days at Grand Caribe with my husband, son and daughter. This was our first time to Belize and I am so happy I picked this resort. The staff was great from the moment we made the reservation. They arranged for air travel from Belize City to San Pedro. The employees at the airport in BZE and SPR gave us extra attention once they knew we were guests a Grand Caribe. The resort pays for the taxi ride to and from the airport which was a surprise. The entire staff was so friendly and welcoming.

The location was just north of San Pedro. You can get to and from San Pedro by either renting a golf cart or by water taxi. We rented a golf cart the second day we were there. The roads dirt and have a lot of pot holes. Golf carts aren’t cheap no matter where you rent them. Then there is a toll bridge ($5 US r/t) which adds to the cost. We decided to get a weekly water taxi pass. The taxi is every 2 hrs but it is workable. It would have been great if the resort had their own boat to take people to San Pedro. There were days the taxi going to town was full and we had to wait for them to send another smaller boat. We stayed here before the busy season so maybe the taxis run a different schedule during the busy time.

Be sure to utilize the concierge. They are wonderful. We wanted to visit a ruin, the zoo, and do the cave tubing. She was able to arrange all of it for one day through a tour group. The concierge can also recommend scuba and snorkel companies.

We stayed in a 2bd and it worked great for us. Each room has a large full bath. The beds in B1 were comfortable but the sofa and side chair in the living area were uncomfortable. I believe each unit is furnished by the owner not the resort. The daily maid service and laundry was great. It was so nice to leave your dirty laundry in the morning and have clean clothes in the afternoon.

Some earlier reviews recommend staying on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a view. We stayed on the first floor. It had a great view of the pool and common area and some of the ocean. Since we were out of the room most of the time, we did not think we were missing seeing the ocean. Plus, we were either walking along the beach or on a boat some part of the day so we always saw the ocean.

As others have mentioned the bar at the resort is a little more than some restaurants in town but it is convenient. The shrimp sandwich is wonderful. A new restaurant opened just south of the resort. You will drive by it on the way to the resort. It is called Pirate’s Treasure. It is a 30 min. walk along the beach and you cut across an empty lot to get to it. The prices were good and the food was even better. Must try the lion fish. Wonderful!!

More good choices for eating is Caliente – the best ceviche, huge lobster sandwich; Caramba – nachos, fish tacos; Waruguma – fish tacos, lobster fajitas; Lily’s Treasure Chest – across from the water taxi dock.

The beach at the resort was clean and well taken care of. There are lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach and by the pool. You probably wouldn’t swim here but all of the beaches along the east side of Ambergris Caye looked uninviting for swimming. We waded out to our shins and found many shells. You can also find conch shells with the conch still inside if you so desire.

Overall, a great experience. I would highly recommend Grand Caribe to everyone.

Room Tip: We brought some food items with us since we heard food was expensive. Brought tuna in the foil packa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 16 days over Christmas----the accommodations were outstanding---best in the Carribbean that we've ever experienced. They have a swim up pool bar which serves absolutely the best food we experienced while in Belize---we didn't need to go anywhere else. The grounds were really immaculate, and all of the staff could not have been friendlier. I highly recommend heading down the beach just a short walk to the Palapa Bar for an afternoon beer on the upper deck overlooking the reef----you forget where you are----very therapeutic. We had occasion to visit several other resorts while on the island---Grand Caribe is by far the best run of the resorts there in our opinion----We did not stay in an oceanfront condo---however it may as well have been as our unit had amazing views of the ocean---Great Vacation--unforgettable!!!

Room Tip: We did not stay in an oceanfront condo---however--it may as well have been as we had amazing views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

There was absolutely nothing we didn't like about Grand Caribe. Our condo was beautiful; just perfect for two, the pools were cool and inviting, the bar/food area at the pool was fun and delicious, the view was outstanding and the staff were beyond anything I have ever experienced. They spoke to us as though they already knew us and were more than willing to do anything to make our stay more enjoyable (which I don't know how they could have done that because we felt it was perfect)! I didn't rate the fitness center or spa because we didn't go there. We didn't even know they had a fitness center or spa :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flourtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You know how sometimes you go on vacation and as you are exploring you see other resorts and wonder what it would be like to stay there? In San Pedro, we never saw anything that appeared to top the Grand Caribe. We were there for my brother's wedding and stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. We were there with our 4 children (ages 6, 5, 2 and 5mo.). The staff was so friendly and kind, I cannot say enough about how energetic and kind they were to each of the children. They knew them all by name and called out to them everytime they saw them. It really was the very perfect place for a family to vacation.
The food is a little pricey, as it is everywhere on the island. But Tua more than made up for that at bar by his wonderful personality!
We booked one snorkle trip for the whole family and the concierge booked the perfect person to handle our "challanging" group.
We would go back in a heartbeat and the kids ask almost weekly when we can go back! Thank you Grand Caribe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.