We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums to your Saves list
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Liberty Township, Ohio
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

we vacationed here in the summer of 2012 and loved it! The resort is beautiful, the staff is so very friendly and helpful. The view from our room was AMAZING! We loved it so much we actually bought a condo in the resort!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    56
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
131
114
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

not much not to like about this place. great location, great service, beautiful decor and surroundings. the only possible negative is the distance from San Pedro, but getting to town is half the fun. we rented a golf cart from the front desk one night, got a cab another night, and took a water taxi on the third. All were great options, but I recommend the water taxi option.

Room Tip: a ground floor room doesn't get you access to the beach directly. you get a better view from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I went to Belize for our 20th anniversary and stayed in the jungle for half of it (check my other reviews - fabulous place!), and then decided to come to the beach for the second half. Our travel agent booked us into a place in the heart of San Pedro, and we were not impressed at all... and sad that our vacation was going to end on such a sour note (again, you can find this in my other reviews).

Our saving grace was when we rented a golf cart and explored the northern end of the island and found the Grand Caribe, quite by accident. We pulled up that morning around 9am, walked through the lobby, saw the indescribable view out the back, and by 10:30am, we had checked OUT of the other place and fully moved IN to the Grand Caribe!! And we only had 1 night left of our vacation!

The tedious move was WELL WORTH IT. This place is stunning. The condo they placed us in had a full-size, stocked kitchen, a gorgeous bedroom with a walk in closet, and a bathroom that was OUT OF THIS WORLD. The shower alone made the whole place worth it! And between the time we left at 9 and returned at 10:30, they had decorated the room for us with towel swans on the bed, a heart made from rose petals, a bathroom sink full of rose petals... it was lovely, and so much more in line with what we wanted for our special honeymoon. (okay, my husband could've done without the flowery swans, but guys, little extra touches like that make a difference to us ladies!)

Another perk that made the move a no-brainer was that they provided us with a personal housekeeper who did ALL of our laundry for us!! I'm talking our WHOLE WEEK's worth of laundry even though we were only there for that one last night! I went back home with a whole suitcase full of clean clothes. Ahhhhhhh....

Their salt-water pool is incredible - I think it's the biggest in Belize, if I'm not mistaken. The views of the ocean are gorgeous (I'm sure it helped that we had beautiful weather). The general atmosphere is quiet - which was more what we were looking for as opposed to the noisy crowds down in the heart of San Pedro where we were.

My ONLY complaint - and it's not even a fair complaint - is that the beach is only mediocre. This is true for most of the island, though... the buildings are built right up close to the water, so there's not much sand to begin with. And they are constantly fighting the seaweed that washes up onto the shore. Most of the reputable resorts (of which this is one) do a good job of scooping it all up each day. Big, boring job, but I'm glad they do it - what they have is beautiful... it's just not much. In a nutshell, if you want a gorgeous beach, go to Playa del Carmen. If you want a gorgeous room in a beautiful country with attentive service and a fantastic swimming pool, then you can't go wrong with the Grand Caribe.

I think we paid about $309 ($350 or so after taxes/fees) for a 1 bedroom suite. WORTH EVERY PENNY. I have photos (and if you'd like to see them you are free to send me a message), but if you are questioning the "reality" of their professional, stock photos - don't. This place is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented a condo (H2) resort off of VRBO website. It was amazing. The booking and transaction went very smoothly with the owner. We arrived and checked with with ease. The property was beautiful. The time frame we went there we little to no people there at any given time. It was absolutely refreshing. The pools were great and look towards the ocean. They have lounge chairs on the beach, several feet from the ocean. The staff here was very, very accomodating and helpful. We made friends with the friendly bar staff and excellent cook who made us feel like home. This was one of the best places to stay on the island, in my opinion. I even lost my camera on the main dirt road, during a vigorous golf cart ride, and a staff member walking down after her shift found it, and got it back to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucumcari, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived at San Pedro, Belize on the 29th of October. My kids and I had never been there before unlike my husband and his parents. So I was a little intimidiated to say no less. Our room was beautiful and spacious. Perfect for all six of us. We had a gorgeous view of the ocean from our room. The rooms where cleaned daily and very comfortable. Nevertheless, there was three pools and two hot tubs. A swim up bar, Cowboy Doug's Grill, that was unbelievable. Their food and service was AWESOME!! If you ever have the chance to go, stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent the second week of October at the Grand Caribe. 2 couples traveling together and we got a 2 bedroom ocean front room. The rooms were great and the kitchen was very nice and we used it multiple times to make breakfast or quick lunches. This helps so much with both time and money. The main TV had some issues getting the sound to work, but who's there to watch TV anyway. That is all managed by the owners so they weren't able to do much about it.
The staff was great in all respects. The second day we were there, the A/C broke to our unit. While the TV might not be needed, the A/C is needed. After trying to fix it a few times, they finally had us move rooms while a part for the A/C was flown to the island for the next day installation. They helped move all our kitchen food and other things to the new room. While we were used to "Belize Time" and figured it would be at least a couple of days to get fixed, we saw someone working on it early the next morning. By the afternoon, they were moving us back to our original room (which we liked better anyway) and offered to actually do the packing and moving of everything so we wouldn't miss one of our day trips. What great service from all involved.
The pool(s) are great and loved the swim up bar. The food was pretty good, but a little pricey, but Belize seems to have 2 types of food choices, a little overpriced or cheap. The service was great there also and they'll cook your food for you too. After fishing one day, we brought our catch to them and they cooked it up 3 different ways and it was soooo good.
It's only about a mile past the bridge from San Pedro, so it's a decent walk, but very doable if you want to. Otherwise the golf cart is the best option. The roads are bumpy past the bridge, but to me it's part of the charm and fun of the island. No complaints there.
The laundry service was perfect too. It allowed us to pack less and still have clean clothes every day.

Overall, I can't say enough about the service they provided at the resort. Everything from the A/C issue, adding a topper to one of the beds, opening the door every time at the front, arranging both pick-up and drop-off from San Pedro Airport, the housekeeping service, to the pool and groundskeepers made it a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friends and I did a "Girls' Week" at the Grand Caribe in Sept/Oct 2012. We LOVED it, and cannot say enough great things about this resort. We stayed in A3 which was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo on the ground floor. The WiFi was great and fast enough that my friend was able to watch the baseball playoffs on her iPad.

We were there during slow season which we really enjoyed since it was quiet and not overly crowded. Other reviews were fairly accurate about the quality of the beach outside the resort, but we knew about that going in, so it wasn't a big deal for us.

Every staff person we met was great and very informative. Leading up to trip, the staff very quickly responded to every question we had, and when we arrived everything was as they said it would be. The housekeepers who came in every day were so nice, and our condo was also super clean.

I would highly recommend this resort to everyone :) Hope we get to come back someday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.