We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay!!! Beautiful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums to your Saves list
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay!!! Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented a condo (H2) resort off of VRBO website. It was amazing. The booking and transaction went very smoothly with the owner. We arrived and checked with with ease. The property was beautiful. The time frame we went there we little to no people there at any given time. It was absolutely refreshing. The pools were great and look towards the ocean. They have lounge chairs on the beach, several feet from the ocean. The staff here was very, very accomodating and helpful. We made friends with the friendly bar staff and excellent cook who made us feel like home. This was one of the best places to stay on the island, in my opinion. I even lost my camera on the main dirt road, during a vigorous golf cart ride, and a staff member walking down after her shift found it, and got it back to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    77
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
186
144
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucumcari, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived at San Pedro, Belize on the 29th of October. My kids and I had never been there before unlike my husband and his parents. So I was a little intimidiated to say no less. Our room was beautiful and spacious. Perfect for all six of us. We had a gorgeous view of the ocean from our room. The rooms where cleaned daily and very comfortable. Nevertheless, there was three pools and two hot tubs. A swim up bar, Cowboy Doug's Grill, that was unbelievable. Their food and service was AWESOME!! If you ever have the chance to go, stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent the second week of October at the Grand Caribe. 2 couples traveling together and we got a 2 bedroom ocean front room. The rooms were great and the kitchen was very nice and we used it multiple times to make breakfast or quick lunches. This helps so much with both time and money. The main TV had some issues getting the sound to work, but who's there to watch TV anyway. That is all managed by the owners so they weren't able to do much about it.
The staff was great in all respects. The second day we were there, the A/C broke to our unit. While the TV might not be needed, the A/C is needed. After trying to fix it a few times, they finally had us move rooms while a part for the A/C was flown to the island for the next day installation. They helped move all our kitchen food and other things to the new room. While we were used to "Belize Time" and figured it would be at least a couple of days to get fixed, we saw someone working on it early the next morning. By the afternoon, they were moving us back to our original room (which we liked better anyway) and offered to actually do the packing and moving of everything so we wouldn't miss one of our day trips. What great service from all involved.
The pool(s) are great and loved the swim up bar. The food was pretty good, but a little pricey, but Belize seems to have 2 types of food choices, a little overpriced or cheap. The service was great there also and they'll cook your food for you too. After fishing one day, we brought our catch to them and they cooked it up 3 different ways and it was soooo good.
It's only about a mile past the bridge from San Pedro, so it's a decent walk, but very doable if you want to. Otherwise the golf cart is the best option. The roads are bumpy past the bridge, but to me it's part of the charm and fun of the island. No complaints there.
The laundry service was perfect too. It allowed us to pack less and still have clean clothes every day.

Overall, I can't say enough about the service they provided at the resort. Everything from the A/C issue, adding a topper to one of the beds, opening the door every time at the front, arranging both pick-up and drop-off from San Pedro Airport, the housekeeping service, to the pool and groundskeepers made it a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friends and I did a "Girls' Week" at the Grand Caribe in Sept/Oct 2012. We LOVED it, and cannot say enough great things about this resort. We stayed in A3 which was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo on the ground floor. The WiFi was great and fast enough that my friend was able to watch the baseball playoffs on her iPad.

We were there during slow season which we really enjoyed since it was quiet and not overly crowded. Other reviews were fairly accurate about the quality of the beach outside the resort, but we knew about that going in, so it wasn't a big deal for us.

Every staff person we met was great and very informative. Leading up to trip, the staff very quickly responded to every question we had, and when we arrived everything was as they said it would be. The housekeepers who came in every day were so nice, and our condo was also super clean.

I would highly recommend this resort to everyone :) Hope we get to come back someday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We loved our stay at the Grand Caribe. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were luxurious. We stayed in a two bedroom oceanfront room. It was nice to have a fully equipped kitchen so we could make breakfast every morning before we started our day. Only one bedroom and the living room had a view of the sea, that was a little disappointing but there is so much to do that we did not spend very much time in the room. One nice perk of staying at the Grand Caribe is that housekeeping will do your laundry each day if you leave it out for them.

The pool at the hotel is great and it even has a swim up bar. There is a little area off the dock to swim in the sea but as will most places on Ambergris Caye the sea swimming was not ideal. They did however have a nicely maintained beach area for laying out and wading for seashells. The poolside restaurant is overpriced but that is to be expected. The food is decent though. We had the nachos and they were good.

We visited the Grand Caribe in low season so it was pretty laid back, which is what we wanted. I imagine it would be pretty crowded in high season but still fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Belize 15 years ago, and just this year decided to go back with our children. What a GREAT decision! The Grand Caribe was everything we hoped for, and more! The condo was very spacious and gorgeously decorated! I did not think we would utilize the maid service doing our laundry, but I can't tell you what a blessing this turned out to be--we came home with suitcases full of clean clothes! The kitchen was fully stocked with every possible utensil and appliance you could need. The appliances were state of the art! Having a kitchen and dining room was such a treat compared to the usual resorts we stay at in Mexico. And the kids having their own room and tv and dvd player made for some very peaceful nights and we were able to sleep in every morning! Aaaah! Heaven! We fished with Captain Rudy (who lives at the Grand Caribe) for four of the seven days we were in Belize. He was a joy, as was his crew of Mike and Dingo--be sure to book a trip with them! You won't be disappointed! This property was truly perfect! My son fished off the dock every day and caught many fish, even a bonefish! You could snorkel right in front of the property and see an abundance of fish. But, this being said, if you go, you must take the snorkeling trip to Shark Ray Alley--WOW!!! We did this with Captain Rudy and his crew, too, and they were so attentive and absolutely wonderful with my children. Mike had raised one of the giant sea turtles from when it was a baby, and we saw that turtle out there. A true highlight of the trip! The staff at Grand Caribe was helpful in so many ways! They have books and dvd's you can check out for free in the concierge room, they booked a golf cart for our stay (I recommend having one--it makes getting around so easy), and were so so nice! The last day of our trip was when hurricane Ervesto came through, so we were "trapped" for an extra two days (which was WONDERFUL--we were not ready to leave), and the staff made sure we had water and constantly updated us on the weather. They even rescheduled our flights with Tropic Air and United Airlines. We will DEFINITELY be going back to Grand Caribe. It was an utterly perfect vacation, even with the hurricane!

Room Tip: we had a 2nd floor unit and loved the view of the beach and pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

OVERVIEW; My wife and I were meeting another couple at Grand Caribe as part of a Birthday celebration. We arrived a few days early and obviously during slow season for Amergris Caye/Belize. We did NOT know it was also Belizean Independence day! What a bonus! The resort itself was immaculate. The service from the time we stepped out of the taxi was impeccable. The staff during each encounter we had with them was knowledgeable and friendly and always had a smile. We never encountered any issues. EXCURSIONS; We used the resort to book a 'flats' fishing excursion as well as a Hol-Chan/Shark-Ray alley snorkeling adventure. Both of these excursions were on-time, guided by profesional/locals and most importantly, fun as well as educational. Our guide for fishing was Luis and for snorkeling was Alphonse. My wife was a first-timer for both..caught 10 nice bone-fish to my 4 and Luis worked with her on the fly-rod. We found out she's not a snorkeler, but Alphonse was extrememly patient and worked with her. We tipped them both..and actually met Luis and his family at the pool-bar the next evening and shared dinner/drinks with them. POOL AREA; Cowboy Doug's pool-bar on-site is great. Food is great.. drinks are great..and happy hour is two-fers on drinks. It is a bit pricy compared to some other places, but its also outstanding food, atmosphere and service. Chi and Dehli were great locals to be working here.. wealth of knowledge. The pool itself was amazing. None of the pools are more than 5 feet deep. There are 4 total and all perfect.. 2 hot-tubs as well. ROOM; We had a 3rd floor room in building A. Great, full kitchen, 1King room, a living room, patio w/furniture, beautiful bathroom with shower and spa/tub. Great view of the dock and gulf. Staff cleaned very well and did any laundry we left for them. LOCATION/SURROUNDING AREA; I ate breakfast at Ak'Bol which is a 5 minute walk toward San Pedro along the beach or road and we had dinner/drinks at Palapas.. 10 minute walk on the beach..read that review for those details. The beach isn't necessarily what you'd say is a swimming/snorkeling beach due to some of the sea-weed on the ocean floor, but there are areas around the resort dock where you can certainly do both..and plenty of fish to see. The path along the beach is a decent walking path, but it not lit at night, so do take a flashlight.. we didn't see any questionable people, etc during any of our stay, but used a flashlight to walk back from Palapa. The Grand Caribe also had 24 hour security personnel actively walking the grounds. I do recommend a golf-cart rental if your goal is to see San Pedro or make trips into town..if not, using the Water Taxi or Resort grocery delivery service is the way to go.. as going to/from town can be a pain or take time due to waiting for scheduled water taxi, but this was not at all a negative for us during our stay. Overall this was an amazing vacation at an amazing resort..in a simply amazing place. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Pick something either on level 2/3 of Bldg A or 1,2,3 in 'Chica'.. Chica 1 is where our fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
2.4 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#8 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
3.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
5.0 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums

Address: 2 mils north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique layout of this premier resort provides the entire 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos with an unobstructed panoramic view of the second largest Barrier Reef! The residences are beautifully appointed with spacious, fully equipped kitchens. The living rooms and bedrooms have flat screens and all accommodations also have ipod docking, DVD and internet service. Concierge can arrange local flights, golf cart rentals, all tours including snorkeling, diving, fishing, sailing, mainland excursions, private charters, private chefs and babysitting. Contact us for your next vacation, honeymoon or any special occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums Hotel San Pedro
Grand Caribe Belize Resort And Condominiums San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.